We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome course!”

Riviera Cancun Golf Resort
Ranked #40 of 272 Outdoor Activities in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Pueblo West, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Awesome course!”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

This course lives up to its reputation. It is in immaculant condition, probabley the best I've ever played. Its like hitting off of carpet. This course is alot of fun to play. Very tight in places and forgiving in others. If you have a tendency to slice or hook your shots - bring mucho balls! Pretty pricey, but worth the money. The shuttle service has alot to be desired. We waited 15 to 20 minutes for pick -up service and waited about an hour for return service after our round. We stayed in the hotel zone (RIU Palace) area and a cab cost $40 for a one way ride to the course. So, considering that the shuttle service for free, it is a steal. The staff at this course is very friendly and accomodating. If you think $165 is alot for a round of golf in Cancun - you should at least play this one once, it's alot of fun!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    101
    17
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bonn, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Stunning views over the Ocean”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

If you like playing golf and you have the chance to do it in the Caribbean, then Riviera Cancun Golf is your place. Grass is extremely well maintained, course is outstanding, the staff is very pleasant, helpful, and fluent in english and the restaurant serves great menus to make your stay even better. I just loved this place!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank GiseGf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canon City CO
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Awesome Course!!!!!!”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

My brother in law and I played Riviera twice during the week of November 18th and I can honestly say it was one of the nicest courses that I have ever played. The fairways were like carpet and the greens were like no other. Yes, it is very tight and you need to be a straight hitter, but as far as being in great shape, you could not ask for anything better.

The staff was friendly, although they did not go out of their way to help you. They did make you feel welcome, although just not "over the top", which I would expect from a course like this.

The free transportation was the only drawback, as he arrived at our hotel nearly 20 minutes late and the quality of the van was very "second rate". On the second trip we just arranged for a taxi so we could travel on our schedule.

All in all, I would recommend this course to anyone who wants to play a spectacular course at a reasonable price. Bring lots of balls with you if you are not a straight hitter though, or you will be forced to pay high prices at the pro shop.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank ColoHiwayBuilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Golf Trip”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Having to pay for food and drinks at this course and not the others when it was to be part of a packagewas disappointing. the golf course and attendents where very polite.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank fordman48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trois-Rivieres, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent course but very bad management”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Layout, fairways and greens in perfect condition, the course is difficult and you need a lot of balls if you are not straight. Best greens compare to Moon Palace and Playacar. But I won't go back there in my life. We where about 20 people waiting for the shuttle which arrived 30 minutes late. At the course, there was only one man to manage the situation it was a free for all. Not anough carts for every one, the starter was tipped to let people started in front of us and he let 5 played in a group just in front of us. It took 5 and a half hours to play. By the way, if you need food on the course, don't forget your money and be prepared to wait 1 hr before you receive your other. Believe me, better go elsewhere, doesn't worth the price.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Larj02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riviera Cancun Golf Resort also viewed

 

Been to Riviera Cancun Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing