We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Condo on the Beach”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cancun
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Apartamentos Cancun Plaza
Ranked #100 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Condo on the Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

When we arrived in Cancun we did not have a hotel lined up because we wanted to survey the area first. Hotel Zone (where all of the resorts are) was filled with beautiful places to stay right on the beach. However, most of those places started at like $150. Perhaps this was because of spring break - i don't know. A local woman recommended Cancun Plaza ($100/night) to us and even escorted us there. When we arrived the apartment building was being renovated so there was scaffolding all around. Other than that everything else was beautiful. The Condo sits on the beach so you can literally walk from your room down onto the beach or you could just sit on the edge of the infinity pool and gaze at the ocean. We were shown two rooms. One at a high floor which had an Amazing view (balcony) but limited space and one on the ground level which had an amazing view, great ventilation and lots of space. We chose the first floor. This is NOT a hotel so there is no room service, however there is a great restaurant and a small store for your needs. They do have someone come in and clean the rooms for you daily. We only stayed here two days because we were booked at a resort down on the riviera but we did not want to leave when it was time to go. The next time we go back to Cancun we will definitely be at Cancun Plaza!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Br0wnb0mbshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    16
    8
    5
    5
See reviews for
25
14
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mentor
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2011

I've stayed on the Mayan Riviera 10 times and never booked in Cancun "proper" until my sister suggested we stay at Cancun Plaza. We were in room 2309 during August 2011, and it was clean and up-to-date. The views are outstanding and you won't get this close to the beach for this price -- anywhere! Being a smaller hotel, if you forget your sunglasses in your room, you won't have to hike a mile to go back and get them. Ditto for the beach and pool bar. Everything is extremely near-by.

Two stores are on property which allows you to buy a few groceries (at a decent price) or beer/soda/ice cream. The pool is shallow at one end and about 4 ft. in the other. My husband and I parked ourselves at the edge of the infinity pool and would watch the ocean (or people watch those on the beach) for hours. There was no loud music at the pool, and we enjoyed plenty of lounge chairs (newer) and palapas for shade. The beach is literally steps from the pool.

Yes, there are some units that are not as maintained as they should be, but I understand the new administration is on top of it to get them to clean up their acts, but most are very nice (like the one we stayed in). I would suggest booking your room through www.condo-surfers.com.

Cancun Plaza also has laundry facilities, a palapa bar serving drinks and sandwiches, cable tv, and internet.

Just outside the security gate house is the main street and the bus stop is a few steps down the road. For 8 pesos (about 80 cents) you can ride downtown and stop at a multitude of restaurants (Outback, Jimmy Buffet's Margaritaville, Bubba Gumps, Ruth's Chris, etc., etc.) There are plenty of others as well as shopping (both local crafts and high-class). We never felt unsafe -- EVER! -- even at 10:30 pm. For those wanting to do food shopping to stock their place, Carmen at Condo-Surfers can shop for you (for a small fee) or you can take the bus to Wal-Mart which has a huge selection of fresh foods. If you have too many groceries and don't want to take the bus back, take a taxi for $15 (negotiate the price before getting in).

We are going back in December and can't wait to enjoy two weeks by the Caribbean Sea!

Room Tip: This place is so inexpensive, go ahead and splurge for the highest priced room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mk25900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2010

We just came back from a wonderful vacation in Cancun. I found this condo thru VRBO 91581. We were both very pleasantly surprised. This was an excellent deal - I'd say even cheap. This condo is small, cozy, and very cute. Having the kitchenette with a full-size refrigerator was great. We actually never did any real cooking.......just eggs & toast, cereal, fruit, sandwiches, soda, water, beer, wine. Cancun has fabulous restaurants so we always went out for dinner. The beach and ocean at this part of Cancun was amazing. The pool was clean and lounge chairs were always available. The bed was comfy. On-site property manager was very helpful. Having our own in-room security safe was such a bonus. We dealt directly with the owners when booking via e-mail and telephone. We were looking for something inexpensive and that's what we got. A great deal. Yes, I would rent this condo again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank casseybo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2010

the hotel's saving grace are the staff...Ophelia and Julie I believe were the staff on when we arrived. We were impressed with the view, infinity pool and wonderful view of the beach (although we did not go onto the beach, I am pretty sure the undertow would be huge) so the pool would be the only swimming source)
the room was less than a 1 star if there is such a thing. Bathroom door did not even close never mind lock, patio doors lock was broken and therefore it was dicey to even leave the room.
When I pulled back the bedding to lie down I found what may or may not have been pubic hairs that certainly did not belong to us! I spent the night laying on my coat. We were just there for one night as it was close to the airport.
Please reconsider if you are booking a vacation here. Mexico is so amazing that it would be sad to fashion your opinion based on a holiday at this hotel. I don't know anything about the condos but I would sure check into the reviews before booking.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evstarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2009

i stay in cancun plaza for couple days.the apartments is very simple and is not very clean.
i paid 90 euro per night.its 10 minutes from the center with the bus.the owners tell me that in price include breakfast but this was not true.the first morning i get up to have it and i looking for the place that serve breakfast in the pool.i dont find it and the stuff couldn't help me.so the others morning i dont try to get up.generally cancun is too much touristic with all this buildings on beach which make the whole place ungly.
the only good that i founs in this hotel was the sea view of the balcony.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank on_offWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New City, NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2009

We arrived after booking condo 3212 through VRBO. The owners had written lots about how wonderful their condo was. When we arrived, the manager told us that the condo was under repair (AC problem) and that he was putting us in another unit. He took us to
a smaller condo that did not have some of the advertised features (especially the full-sized refrigerator.) When I pointed this out, he moved us to Condo #3505, which had the full sized refrigerator, but lacked a 2-burner stovetop, coffee maker, electric can-opener, and George Foreman grill, as well as the in-room safe which had all been advertised in Condo #3212.
We unpacked, went shopping to stock up the kitchen, and returned to find
that the AC was not leaking and was not working correctly in the Condo. We
called Chris and he moved us to Condo #3507 for the night, while we left all
of our things in #3505. The next morning we returned to #3505 for
breakfast. Chris told us that the AC repair would be made at about noon.
After breakfast, I went to wash our dishes, and water came pouring out of
the bottom of the sink and all over the floor. We now had towels on two
sides of the room. Chris brought us new towels to replace the wet ones.
The repair man finally arrived mid-afternoon and supposedly fixed the AC.
He said it never leaked while he was there. That night, every 45 minutes,
it would have water pouring out of it for 3-5 minutes, and then the leak
would stop. We were awakened every 45 minutes throughout the night. The
next morning, we called Chris, and the AC was finally repaired correctly.
During this time, I was in contact with the owners of #3212 telling them of
our problems. They were in Cancun on March 22, the day after we arrived,
and spent the ENTIRE WEEK in the condo we had originally rented. Yes, there
were repairs being done, but we should have been informed that this was
going to happen.
The owners say we didn't complain when we saw them at the pool. We said everything was ok. What good would it have done to complain? We had already paid them. They insist that they have paid the owner of the unit we stayed in, but I'm not really sure. There was no safe in the room. I carried our personal papers everywhere. They would have moved a safe into the room for us? Right.

Other than that, the condos lack a clean feeling. The faucets are rusted, the water pressure is low. Everything feels grimy. I complained about 3505 and the maid was brought in to clean. She scrubbed the silverware and under the sink, where there were water stains. She even cleaned the measuring cups that had mildew in them. It was much better after she cleaned, but still not the clean feeling you get in newer places.

They say they have internet WIFI at the pool area, but we, along with most other people went to the laundry room to get service.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VLSCI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
des moines, iowa
Level Contributor
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2009

We stayed at a private condo in February 2009 booked on VRBO. The unit itself was clean and adequate. The kitchen was dark. We had to use a flashlight we brought along to make dinner one evening. The water was lukewarm. We never used the cold faucet the shower. The condo building itself was horrible . Some of the doors on ground floor off the corridor to and from the pool were just horrible, filthy and broke down. Just like the ghetto. The entrance to the condo by the laundry and office was dirty. Lots of cigarette butts between the bricks on the sidewalks.
The pool was not heated, but fairly clean and nice. The pool area was not swept up very much and you would take 10 steps from the pools to your chair and your feet were dirty. Lots of nasty chair savers staying there as well. The pool snack bar was nice and food was ok.
The laundry only had 2/3 washers and dryers working.
We locked ourself out one Sunday afternoon and the guy in one of the offices would not let us use the phone or his laptop to find the phone number of our property managers. He suggested we bus to the plaza about 7 miles away to use the internet there. (In our swimsuits, buddy?)
There were always some scary Mexicans hanging around the entrance in their Suburban with dark tinted windows. No idea what they were doing there, but would sit in the car with the door open.
Security was good, I think. Busses were great to travel on. Always empty on the way to town (for awhile).
I would not return to this condo. It was bargain but spend a little more and stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rudysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.1 mi away
Oleo Cancun Playa
Oleo Cancun Playa
#101 of 182 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
6.2 mi away
Ocean Dream
Ocean Dream
#91 of 182 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Cancun Beach ApartHotel
#70 of 121 in Cancun
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bsea Cancun Plaza
Bsea Cancun Plaza
#34 of 121 in Cancun
3.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.4 mi away
Solymar Condos
Solymar Condos
#5 of 121 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.5 mi away
Club Regina Cancun
Club Regina Cancun
#90 of 182 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Cancun Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Cancun Plaza

Property: Apartamentos Cancun Plaza
Address: KM.20.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 290
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Hotel Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing