We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“extremely disappointed”

Nichupte Destination Holistic Spa
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nichupte Destination Holistic Spa
Ranked #139 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
wakefield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“extremely disappointed”
Reviewed April 11, 2008

Idyllic setting but dreadfully run . No hot water for three days ,only two of the five restaurants open in the evening , bars regularly not staffed , had money stolen from safe in reception . One evening everything in the complex closed by 9.30 p.m.

  • Liked — The picturesque setting of the villas .
  • Disliked — Rude and uncooperative management
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank basilsulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
6
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2008

Having read previous reviews about The Elan, I was looking forward to my whole holiday on Cancun. Cancun as a place is everything you expect of it, however, the Elan is not.
During our stay we had 3 rooms, all smelt of sewage, the first room the toilet would not flush, the second room our neighbours, despite less than 20 people being in the hotel, were incredibly noisy, and with thin walls we could hear everything. Our third room still smelt and the balcony door would not lock, but we opted to stay as we were sick of moving.
On at least three separate occasions throughout the stay the resort had no hot water for hours on end, although a cold shower can sometimes be pleasant after a hot day in the Mexican sun.
The staff were very friendly throughout, but as the resort was very quiet, they were sometimes difficult to find, an all inclusive resort where you couldn't always get a drink by the pool as there were no staff around, and on at least three nights all bars were shut by ten o'clock on a night and you had to ask at reception to be allowed a drink, which could take 20 minutes to reach you.
The mini fridge in our room although part of the all inclusive package was only restocked twice during our stay, and only when we asked for this to be done.
The food on the whole was very good, but the resort and our travel agent reported a choice of seven restaurants. A maximum of two were open on any given day, with some days your 'choice' restricted to one restaurant.
The website stated the resort had entertainment, and on one night out of 13 it did.
The Elan was classified as 5 star but would be roughly a 3 star in my opinion. The staff on the whole were very friendly and helpful, with some exceptions, and I know other guests had serious problems with hotel staff.
At one point a senior staff member was overheard saying to another guest that the hotel was renovating and not really ready for guests! We were informed by another senior employee that we should contact our travel agents and ask for a reimbursement.
The resort is very quiet and if you are looking to escape the world in a 3 star environment with friendly staff and on the whole good food you will enjoy this place. However we were expecting so much more from a 5 star Cancun resort and were left disappointed.

  • Liked — friendliness of majority of staff
  • Disliked — lack of basic 'all-inclusive' features
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank swimwiththefishes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cancun hotels

Montreal
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2008

Just came back from Elan Resort & Spa in Cancun with a few friends and we had a terrific time. Arriving in Cancun's Hotel zone, we were somewhat weary of the crowd and noise, but Elan is something different: it is on its own private part of the Laguna, so it is isolated from the frenzy going in on elsewhere in Cancun.
The premises are simply fantastic, food was great, and service was very nice. We went there to relax and get a few days of sun and that's exactly what we got.
Be advised that Elan is not directly on the sea, but on the Laguna: this makes for a more peaceful experience, a private beach, and a possibility to go canoing or kayaking in the laguna. However, there are no waves, the beach is more limited and access to the sea is a little bit more complicated. (if you check Elan's location on a map, you'll see what I'm talking about).
On the down note, we had minor difficulties with room service: messages did not always go through and our room was not made on one of the days. We still however had a great time and found the staff friendly.
Simon

  • Liked — The premisses.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aeternalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoffman Estates, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed November 8, 2007

When we arrived we were given cold drinks and cold towels that felt great on a warm, summer day. Check in was quick and we were escorted to our room.

Your first glimpses are this beautiful Mexican colonial architecture village, with cobblestone streets, fountains, and bright beatiful flowers and landscaping.

Our room was spacious and the decor was lovely. Our meals at La Palapa and Mare Nostrum were excellent, and the service was outstanding. The staff at The Elan catered to our every need, by bringing us drinks by the pool, serving our meals, and looking after our luggage at arrival and departure. Dining in both restaurants was very nice. The massage was relaxing and the Mayan Sauna looked like an interesting experience for the Winter months.

Both beaches and pool areas were beautiful, and the location of this resort is excellent: about 4 miles from the Convention Center and 5 miles from downtown.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to someone who wants to have a relaxing vacation.

  • Liked — Atmosphere and attentiveness of staff
  • Disliked — Spa services are not centralized to one location
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank debztma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hkymom1216
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2007

We spent a few days at Elan to celebrate our 25th Anniversary. The resort is lovely. Very different from all the large cookie cutter hotels in Cancun. Elan is a breath of fresh air. You really get the flavor of Mexico. The grounds are beautiful. Attention to detail is important here. The rooms are well appointed, and the staff if very accommodating.

Elan has many options for dining, and the food is excellent. We felt as though we were dining at a fine gourmet restaurant every night. The Spa is lovely. My massage was wonderful. All of the classes at the spa were free, and the instructors were terrific.

Elan is close enough to all the shopping and nightlife. A five minute bus or taxi ride brings you right into all the action.

We would highly recommend The Elan Resort and Spa to anyone looking to enjoy the Mexican culture and relax in the lap of luxury.

  • Liked — small hotel feel
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank hkymom1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2007

I stayed for a week in August. Considering the main strip in Cancun is quite wild Elan offered a peaceful and relaxing experience away from the crowds but close enough to the strip should you want to experience it.
Arriving after a long flight and stop over we swept through big iron gates along an avenue of palm trees. The staff immediately took our bags to our room, we were swiftly bought a drink and cold towels while we checked in. It was a great start and everything else throughout our stay was of the same high standard.
Hurricane season was approaching so there were less guests than maybe they usually have however the layout of the hotel around courtyards meant that it felt quiet and private; I can't imagine it ever feeling crowded. There are plenty of sunbeds, choice of restaurants and a couple of swimming pools and the lagoon. Saw a couple of large stingrays in the lagoon as well as lots of bird and wild life.
We also had a massage in the new spa; didn't see the whole spa but the treatment room for my massage was suitably calming and all their products are local mayan inspired and smelled great.
Food was also excellent; a good choice of international and mexican inspired cooking.
All in all the service and treatment we received at Elan was fantastic. It offers tranquility and relaxation but if you really want the night life you can hit the strip in 5/10 minutes. Great combination.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2007

My husband and I just got back home from a relaxing stay at the Elan Resort and Spa. It is one of the most beautiful places I have ever stayed at! The flowers and attention to detail were amazing! Not all of the facilities were available yet, but I know they will be wonderful! Our meals were delicious! The weather was great! The staff were very attentive and friendly! The massage and facial were delightful! I can't wait to go back for our 30th anniversary next year!

  • Liked — cleanliness, attention to detail,the food!!!
  • Disliked — not everything was open yet,nothing to do after dinner.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank heidi's mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.0 mi away
Aquamarina Beach Hotel
Aquamarina Beach Hotel
#93 of 175 in Cancun
799 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sotavento Hotel & Yacht Club
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas
#100 of 175 in Cancun
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Calypso Hotel
Calypso Hotel
#143 of 175 in Cancun
173 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Dos Playas Beach House
0.0 mi away
La Villa du Golf a Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nichupte Destination Holistic Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nichupte Destination Holistic Spa

Property: Nichupte Destination Holistic Spa
Address: Blvd Kukulcan km 3.5 Esq Galeon, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Elan Resort & Spa)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Nichupte Destination Holistic Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Nichupte Destination Holistic Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing