We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hostel Quetzal
Nearby Hotels
Paradisus Cancun(Cancun)
$332
$249
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$337
$330
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$817
$800
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun(Cancun)
$465
$356
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Blanc Spa Resort(Cancun)
$803
$676
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$269
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Moon Palace Cancun(Cancun)
$604
$429
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$384
$269
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$506
$427
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$508
$474
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (261)
Filter reviews
261 results
Traveler rating
107
79
37
15
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
107
79
37
15
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast and dinner includedhotel zoneair consingle roomother guestshot waterreception deskevery eveningtacosdormmexicoclubssupermarketusdalcoholblast
Filter
Updating list...
146 - 151 of 261 reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2011

The accommodation is generally good to very good, but generally it is expensive for what you receive. While we found the breakfast good, the dinners were cold and lacking.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carlos R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

We arrived at the hostel a day earlier that planned, cause of weather conditions and Julio, the host, offered us another room which was as good as the one planned for us. Colorful, clean, spacious, own bathroom. Looked very warm and sweet.
We preferred individual room, although people staying in shared room seemed to have a lot of fun. The place has some charisma that I haven't felt anywhere else before.
It's like being in a student's dormitory where you feel good among the people you don't even know. Everyone is somehow chilled and relaxed and eager to make new friends/ acquaintances.
Hosts were wonderful- very friendly, kind and welcoming. The breakfasts and dinners they cooked were more than delicious, traditional Mexican cuisine and tequila after dinner.
Long hours after dinner people were sitting in the yard and talking as they knew each other for ages.
This place is a real example of how a hostel should function.

Keep up the good work guys!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buketcicek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

This is the only hostel I stayed in in Cancun so I cannot compare but I was not really impressed compared to other hostels I've stayed in worldwide. It was in a seemingly safe neighborhood with other tourists around. Quiet park across the street. We stayed in the private room on the top floor and thankfully it had a fan. Never could get hot water in the shower. Front desk was nice but not overly friendly. Lots of young travelers. I imagine the place would be good for networking/ partying with other young people if that's what you're into. Slept through dinner. Breakfast was adequate with juice, eggs, fruit and toast. Nice rooftop with chairs. Bed was too short for comfortable sleep.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iloveperutoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Very friendly staffed hostel in the center of Cancun (that is, with distance to the hotelzone). We had a two person private room on the top floor. During our 2 night stay we felt safe, the room was clean, and the food was excellent considering it is included in the price. In detail:
Good:
- Food included and tasty (vegetarian choice available)
- You meet other travellers
- Staff is friendly
- Private room is large
Bad:
- Nothing considerably bad, but it felt rather expensive compared to our other stays
Nice to know:
- Cancun works for backpackers as a starting point because of the airport but there is nothing worth seeing here.
- Bed is too short for me (182 cm) though this is the same everywhere in Mexiko

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WearyGermanTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

the good
- nice owners that were accommodating when making breakfast and when i was ill.
- private room nicely decorated and with air con

the bad
- we arrived after a long distance flight and our room was not ready. The adult son of the owners was more interested in playing his xbox than getting us a glass of water or checking the status of our room.
- no en-suite bathroom, but a private bathroom on the otherside of the building
-uncomfortable mattress
- location is a slightly dodgy neighbourhood and about 9km from the beach.

Room Tip: stay in the private room, it has air con. it is so humid in cancun.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jasage87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews