We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful & Convenient - Stay Here!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
Ranked #11 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful & Convenient - Stay Here!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2010

This resort has it all......a convenient location, spacious, modern rooms, and the most beautiful pool ever! We arrived at the hotel at 1:30 and check-in is not until 4, so they showed us where we could change and held our bags so we could eat and get out to the beach. We checked back at 2:30 and the room was ready! The staff was very friendly and welcoming.

We were on the 7th floor of building 4, so the view was spectacular. It's great because every room has an ocean view, but it's always nice to be up higher for the full breath-taking picture. We stayed in the studio which was more than enough room for the 2 of us. It could even work for a family because the couch pulls out into a bed. The rooms are modern, very clean, and have EVERYTHING you could need to cook a meal and do your laundry.

Our concierge Fatima was awesome. She called us down around 5:00 on our first evening to go over all of the local restaurants, attractions, and things to do while we were there. She was so enthusiastic, entertaining and helpful. We loved her! We had no intentions of buying a timeshare, but you get a $100 discount off of your final room bill OR an adventure or tour that you sign up for (plus a discount off of whatever tour you book) if you listen to a 90-minute presentation. So, we booked the appointment for that along with a trip to Selvatica (which I recommend checking that out on here also......it was the highlight of our trip). The timeshare presentation was very informative because we knew nothing about timeshares going in. It was actually hard to resist purchasing!

Oh the pool.....it was perfect. The aqua blue infinity pool blending perfectly with the ocean was mesmerizing. The beach is white sand with TONS of seashells! They had sand volleyball and soccer in the early evening. You could go para-sailing and rent waverunners. They also fed the lizards on the rocks in the morning for kids. There were games to play by the pool every afternoon. We won a large bottle of tequila playing the Movie Soundtrack Trivia game :)

We visited La Isla Mall directly across the street at least twice a day. There was a lot to do, such as an aquarium where you could swim with dolphins and a movie theater (weather didn't get bad enough for a movie visit!). We usually went to Starbucks for breakfast (there are 2 inside the mall). There are endless restaurants, including Mexican, Italian, Indian, Thai, and good old American (Hooters, Chili's, Johnny Rockets). Our favorite place (gosh I hope I get the name right) was La Pizzeria. It's right across from Taco Grill on the lagoon. They had the most flavorful mexican pizzas. Personally, none of the other restaurants were anything to write home about. A little further down from La Isla, across from Kukulcan Plaza are 2 more "local", small restaurants that were AWESOME - Santos Mariscos and Fish Fritanga. The owner of Fish Fritanga gave us a "Westin Lagunamar Special"......2 drinks and a huge platter of seafood, rice, beans, veggies, and guacamole for $44 USD! It was heavenly, and you sit right on the sand on the lagoon.

It was hard to find negatives, trust me, but here are a few. We had lunch and breakfast once each at the hotel and were not impressed with the food. Lacked flavor and my salmon Benedict came out cold (looked like it had been sitting for awhile before they brought it out). The breakfast buffet was $24, so a little too pricey for us for breakfast, but it looked delicious. Next, the hot tubs were luke warm. This made a big difference when a cold front came through and we were looking for somewhere to warm up. Finally, we wished that the hotel would plan more events in the evening for entertainment. Their outdoor area by the pool restaurant is perfect for bonfires (they have pits) and gatherings. We visited the concierge desk early-evening asking about their "Coco Bongo" all-inclusive night out, and they said they couldn't reach the desk they needed to book it. They told us to just meet in the lobby at 10 p.m. and we could go with. Well, 10:05 rolled around and nobody showed. Another concierge apologized and said that they had thought others signed up. So.....we decided not to go alone and had no plans. We wished the hotel had something planned on weekend evenings at least.

All in all, I would definitely recommend this resort and will visit again!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jongela1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, November 16, 2010
Thank you very much of a super fantastic review !!! We are so happy and pleased to know that you and your family had a great time at our property. Please come back soon to visit us it was a pleasure serving you.

The Westin Lagnamar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,448
    1,162
    294
    114
    72
See reviews for
2,144
1,962
85
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,738)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2010

Sitting by the pool, drinking Margaritas (I particularly liked the Orange) looking at the infinity pool and staring out at the Caribbean could not have been more hypnotic. Service and food at the pool was outstanding. The pool is only 4 ft deep which facilitates enjoyment for those who are swimmers and those not so proficient.
The restaurant on site has a wonderful buffet breakfast that did not tire after four days! The Mexican fiesta on Monday evening was enjoyable and relaxing; I felt bad for the sellers at the tables as there seemed to be few buyers.
My friend and I had a small unit in building 5 with a great view of the pool and sea. The laundry detergent in the room was a nice touch. The bathroom was spacious, the towels and robes soft and fluffy. For two women who had never traveled together the accommodations worked well for us.
Other than to eat out there was little need to leave the premises and who would want to during a short stay?
Staff everywhere are to be commended. I have traveled extensively and have found Turkey to be a country that could give lessons to others about customer service. The service at Westin Lagunamar lives up to the most demanding.
As a bonus, and a woman alone, at times, I found not only the staff pleasant and helpful but other guests were also open and friendly. Even the bartender at the bar made one feel at home and special.
I was impressed that the parasailing merchants were more than willing to let us to partake in the activity and pay later. Being launched from the boat and landing on the boat was nice with the additional thrill of riding a jet ski to and from the boat was exhilarating.
Arrangement for tours to various locations of interest were easily arranged through the staff and reasonable,
The full body massage I had was the best I have experienced anywhere in the world. I wanted to pack the masseuse into by suitcase to take home!!
Recommendations for restaurants off site were excellent. We enjoyed both and would gladly return.
My only regret? Not having a second massage and more importantly I did not purchase ownership.I can hardly wait to return.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, November 16, 2010
We really appreciate you have taken the time to write such a fantastic review from our property.
We hope you had the vacation of a life time with us and come back soon to visit ud here at the Mexican Caribbean.

Best Regards,

The Westin Lagunamar Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2010

We are the owners of a number of timeshare locations; a few with Marriott, one with Diamond (formerly Sunterra) and others. That said, we have extensively travelled throughout the Carribean, Mexico, Hawaii and even Bermuda. We have stayed at some very nice places and properties. Having just spent two weeks at the Westin I can say that we have stayed at places as nice but at no place nicer than Lagunamar Resort. It is well located with the very nice Isla Mall right across the street and the Kukulcan Mall just a short walking distance away. Both are upscale, "American" style malls with a wide variety of stores and lots of nice restaurants to choose from (fast food, ice cream, upscale but casual dining). Other nice restaurants like La Habischuela, La Distillaria and Lorenzillo's are also within short walking distance. There is a bus stop right outside the Lagunamar as well that provides transportation to all parts of town for 81/2 pesos (about $.75 US) each way. The buses run 24/7 and almost continuously. And the R-2 drops you off very close to the Super Walmart (just like home except for all the labels in spanish) where you will want to do your grocery shopping. (Hint - take an empty, rolling suitcase along to carry your supplies back). For the most part, the bus system is the best way and most fun to get around. Of course taxis are plentiful and always available though a bit, but not overly, more expensive. We would only recommend a car if you are intending to do lots of travelling to other locations. The Lagunamar Resort itself is very, very nice. The interior and pool areas are wonderful ...no spectacular ... and the sandy white beach and the gorgeous azure waters of the ocean are awe inspiring. All the staff are friendly, courteous and interested in taking care of whatever need you might have. There is an ATM and an adequately-stocked convenience store on site for necessities, fresh bread or just quick snacks. We ate mostly off site and in the room so can't say much about the food but it sure smelled good!

We can't say enough good things about the resort. For sure there are many nice places to stay in Cancun but why would we want to stay anywhere else. Hope to visit again one day soon.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DDFash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, November 8, 2010
Thank you so much for a great review. We are very pleased to know we are your favorite vacation ownership property !!! We are very happy to know you had a good time during your stay with us. For guests like you we work harder every day to get comments like this. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay even better please call us or send us an email and we will be more than happy to assist you

Best Regards

Westin Lagunamar Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2010

We were lucky enough to have a top floor room in building 5 and as we walked in the view was the precursor for a wonderful vacation. The rooms were very modern and well appointed. The pool is one of the best I have ever seen. The location right across from a beautiful shopping center was terrific for restaurants as well as some upscale shopping. You are also right at a bus stop that will take you virtually anywhere in Cancun for virtually nothing. The people at the Westin were as helpful and nice as they could possibly be.

We have traveled extensively and can honestly say this was one of the best vacations we have ever had.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suntraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, November 8, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post such a nice review for our hotel. At Westin we work very hard to make every guest's stay a memorable experience. Please come back soon to visit us and we will be more than glad to make your vacation another great memory to remember. Best Regards The Westin Lagunamar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln,NE
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2010

We just returned from a week at the Westin Lagunamar, we are owners, but it was our first time there. We loved it! We are a family of 6 and had the two bedroom lock off which was perfect! Plenty of space. Loved all of the storage, and the double laundry facilities in our room as well as one full kitchen and one smaller kitchen. The supplies like laundry detergent and dish soap were well stocked, better than other westin properties.

The property is beautiful! The pools are fantastic! Large and breathtaking with the infinity edge to the ocean. The slide was even fun for the adults and kids! The bar and food at the pool was great, we enjoyed the food and drinks. As an owner we got 20 percent off of our food and ended up having lunch here almost every day. The prices weren't too outrageous for the convenience. Every room has a great view of the ocean!

Our personal concierge Kimberly was very helpful and contacted us both before our stay and while there. She remembered what we had talked about and even had our hide away beds made up for the kids as we missed a flight and arrived very late at night! The staff at the bar and pool were awesome! Phillipe and juan jose really took great care of us all week and even called us by name after the first day! One of the massage therapists took the time to show my daughter how to play a string game that is by the pool, her form improved so much she played it all week!

The favorite activity was parasailing which all of the kids loved. We also went to the little island by ferry and took golf carts for the day which was fun, but it was so hot we all just wanted to get back to the pool at the westin! The kids loved feeding the iguanas with Jose on a few of the mornings outside the property.

One night we cooked in and had a leak in our sink, the repair man was there in literally 3 minutes, had it fixed in 5 minutes and a house keeper brought us clean towels to replace the ones I had used to soak up the water 2 minutes after that! You can't get better service than that!

We used cancun valet for our round trip transportation and they were great too! very prompt, nice, when our flight was canceled they just rescheduled for the next day. I also paid 35 dollars for an extra hour and we went to the grocery store on the way to the hotel. I would recommend them.

This is a great family place we will definitely go back!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maudie02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, November 8, 2010
Thank you so much for a great review. We are very pleased to know we are your favorite vacation ownership property !!! We are very happy to know you had a good time during your stay with us. For guests like you we work harder every day to get comments like this. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay even better please call us or send us an email and we will be more than happy to assist you. Best Regards

Westin Lagunamar Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
221 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2010

Ok, so the place is drop-dead gorgeous visually from the outside, but when you enter, the view of those amazing infinity-edge pools and the Caribbean are jaw-dropping. Not only is it beautiful on the eyes, it is soothing to the ears - those waves mean sleep is peaceful.
Service is beyond anything I've experienced - people genuinely care whether you're enjoying your stay. Service on the beach, by the pools, in the rooms, in the restaurants and bar are all topnotch. Cleanliness - the place just gleams!
Your villa - spacious, unbelievable views, great kitchen with huge fridge with icemaker (filtered water), well-stocked with essentials like toaster, blender, margarita glasses etc! Dining table for 6 in case you need to throw an impromptu dinner party, comfy queen pullout sofa. Washer dryer, dishwasher. Comfy chairs(4) and table on the balcony with killer views and sounds of the Caribbean......
Bathroom is enormous! - sumptuous (number, size and softness) towels and robes, separate restroom, separate huge shower, double sinks, giant jacuzzi tub. Lots of soaps, shampoos, bodywashes and conditioners. Nothing chintzy here!
Bedroom - the famous Heavenly bed, with numerous and comfy pillows
Storage is ample, with lighting in the closet, masses of shelves and drawers, and an electronic safe.
Location can't be beat - across from La Isla mall with it's great shops and restaurants, and a comfortable walk to many others, like Ruths Chris and Harrys.
If you're looking for beauty, location, quality and unmatched service, you need look no further. Turquoise heaven!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sjgiants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2010
What a lovley review we just received from you !!!!!!! Thank you very much for taking the time to compliment us in such a great way. We would love for you to come back and feel that Westin Lagunamar is your vacation home for a life time. Please contact us as soon as you have your new travel dates in mind and we will be more than happy to make the proper arrangements for you to have another wonderful experience one more time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2010

This was our 2nd time here, it was wonderful. The view from all of the rooms are of the ocean and the resort. The resort staff are friendly, very helpful. Claudia at the concierge desk, Hector at check in and all of the others that you will come in contact with are great.
The resort is clean, rooms are great, location is great. You can walk to many resturants and there are many that are great.
We recommend Cenacolas, Harry's, Lahabenchlia Sunset, Laguna Grill, Lorenzilla's to name a few.
Have a great time in Cancun, we do!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flipflopkaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, October 27, 2010
We would like to thank you for an amazing review !!!!! Thank you for choosing us for your vacation, we are thrilled to know our property fullfilled you expectations. MUCHAS GRACIAS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2.1 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
1.6 mi away
JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 181 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,645 reviews
0.2 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
#7 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa

Property: The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
Address: Km 12.5 Blvd Kukulcan | Zona Hotelera, PO Box 834 Apdo., Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#11 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#12 Family Hotel in Cancun
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#23 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 592
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa is located on the white sandy beaches of Cancun, Mexico. Enjoy spacious one and two-bedroom villas that comfortably accommodates up to eight adults in as much as 1,140 square feet. Each villa features fully equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel Cancun
Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel
Cancun Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing