We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Location, Great Hotel for Kids, Good for Budget Travelers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Ranked #9 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 28, 2009

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. I chose it for its location, right across the street from a shopping plaza with numerous restaurants. However, the place was more beautiful than others had described. The pools were excellent. The rooms had kitchenettes, which made whipping up quick lunches a great plan for a budget vacation. There was also a washer and dryer in the room. That was a great bonus!

I enjoyed the breakfast buffet and when you consider that the kids' ate free, the price (about $20/pp) wasn't really too bad. I did not have dinner at the resort, but did eat lunch by the pool quite a bit. I have no complaints there. There were grills that guests could use and we took advantage of that one night by grilling shrimp, sausages and quesadillas with ingredients we picked up at WalMart, a simple bus trip away.

The Westin Kids club is a nice amenity. If your kids are 4 years old and above, the club watches your kids for a fee, but all kids can use the facilities with a parent. There are some hosted activities near the pool, like cupcake decorating. My kids had fun with that. There was a minimal $5 charge for that. There is a playground, but I never saw it used. The kids seemed to like the pool the best. The beach area was nice at the Westin -- which is not so for some of the other resorts, who may have very little sand area.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rosssalyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,523)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,802 - 4,808 of 5,523 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2009

We just returned from the Westin Lagunamar and had a great vacation. The location is superb, right in the middle of Cancun. The suite was huge, we had a two bedroom that we shared as a family of four with two teenage boys.
We really enjoyed our stay in Cancun. The location provides many options for dinner and activities. We participated in some of the activities organized by the hotel and found the activities staff fun and helpful. The concierge services were also particularly helpful. The pool is huge and the infinity edge feels like it flows into the ocean. Lovely beach, but not great for ocean swimming. The pool area can feel a bit crowded at times.
I think Westin still has some work to do regarding the level of service at the resort. Also did not like the practice that they allow where guests go down to the pool/beach very early in the morning, place a towel on a group of chairs then believe that they own those chairs for the day. We regularly saw prime groups of lounge chairs that lay empty from the early morning until late in the afternoon, save for a towel draped over the chair. Many guests seemed to reserve chairs in multiple locations. Although we are early risers, we refused to participate in this practice. I hope that the Westin gets control of this practice.
We enjoyed our stay and would recommend the resort in a reserved manner. Think the management still has some work to do.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank VancouverFamilyof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2009

Let me just start with saying I researched for about six months before choosing the Westin Lagunamar. Most reviews were very positive and the pics I found were beautiful. I don't know if we came at a bad time, but this hotel is no 5 star. The service was beyond terrible from the moment we arrived. I have been to many resorts in Mexico and they seem to know customer service- NOT at the Westin. The front desk was rude and lied to us repeatedly. We were put into a room that we had to use the service elevator to get to, which was filthy! The lights were burnt out in the hallway so we had to feel our way back to the elevator to request a new room. There are no signs directing you anywhere in the hotel; if you ask an employee where something is they just point. We finally were put in a new room, it was in one of the newer buildings. The area in front of the elevators was littered with trash and leaves. Also the shower had soap scum on the glass door. We had to call to request our room to be cleaned. The room was otherwise nice, with a comfortable bed and well equiped.
The restaurants were average, good drinks by the pool and the business center was helpful. It seems like all this hotel has to offer is an amazing pool, the service is simply non-existant here. I am not one to comlain or even write a review, but this place has it all wrong. We ended up leaving here and going to Cabo, because of Hurrican Ida. What a great decision, it was like a breath of fresh air getting to the hotel in Cabo.
The Lagunamar is in a great location, but there are many noce hotels in Canun that would probably offer better service and hospitality to their guests.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marielynn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2009

My sister and I are Starwood Vacation owners on Maui and Kauai and decided to try the new resort in Cancun for a few days. While nothing compares with Maui, we very much enjoyed our stay at the Westin Lagunamar, despite having been there during Hurricane Ida. The setting is beautiful, the pool and beach are all that you could ask for, the units and the public building areas are all very open and airy and kept immaculately clean. The staff is very helpful and gracious. We were in the newest building (one) right on the ocean and the view was spectacular, especially during the worst of the hurricane when we were forced to remain inside; the only problem we encountered during the heaviest rain was that the unit was not "leakproof". The only other problem was that the plumbing "kinks" were not completely worked out but, again, the staff was very helpful and whenever we had to call maintenance, they came very quickly.

After reading a number of recommendations in other reviews, we took the bus to Walmart for our groceries ($1.50 pesos for two people) and a taxi for the return trip ($11) and were hugely disappointed. The shopping was not at all what we are used to and we found it to be expensive even by Hawaii standards and, most importantly, there was very little to buy that was appealing, especially produce. On our next visit, after speaking with the concierge, we plan to visit an actual grocery store and hope to have better luck.

All in all, it was a very enjoyable few days and we did have some sun. Since it's a 3-hour plane trip, as compared to 14 hours to Maui, we'll probably visit the resort again.

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank marcia39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2009

Location, Location, Location! The Westin Lagunamar was central to everything Cancun has to offer... from an endless infinity pool to the Mayan pyrimids! The service at the Lagunamar was fantastic... whether it be pool side, house cleaning, or trip planning! We were fortunate to occupy a complete villa for 2 weeks! The rooms were fantastic as they reminded us of Ko Olina Beach in Oahu, HI! From the furniture to the applicances, everything was crisp and new! This was definitely home away from home for us all, including enough room for additional family visitors! The location was central to the shopping mall, great food, WalMart, the Mayan ruins, and ferries to the islands just off the mainland. The best thing about the Westin Lagunamar Resort was definitely the Location, combined with the very roomy pool, onsite BBQ's, Great Staff and rooms! We will definitely look up The Westin Lagunamar Resort on our next trip to Cancun Mexico!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thedelays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2009

Excellent hotel. We were two couples in our 30s and were very impressed. We had a 2 bedroom lockoff and had more than enough room for the 4 of us. We stayed in building 7 and the views from the 2 balconies were amazing.
Lunches at the pool restaurant were great and the service employees were very good. We especially enjoyed the quesadillas and the beef flank tacos. The pool was at a perfect temperature but the ocean was even warmer.
The Isla shopping mall is just in front of the hotel and we went there to eat at the Thai Lounge and La Madonna. My wife and I enjoyed gourmet dining and were not disappointed. Cancun has a lot more to offer than we thought. There are even 3 Five Diamonds Award restaurants in the city for fine dining amateurs.
We will certainly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Redempteur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2009

We spend 8 days at the Westin Lagunamar and absolutely loved everything about it even the very bad weather. The service staff could not do enough to make us feel at home and helped us to totally relax. The rooms are fantastic with all the luxuries and the pools, restaurants, bars, oceanfront and the entire staff made us feel like kings!
We had one day of sunny weather and we spent that day on a tour of mysterious Chichin Itza and finished the day with a swim in the sunken hole. Located directly across from La Isle, a great shopping plaza with fabulous shops, great restaurants: Thai and Infanta
and the best gelato at Itallianno's. Went to the Meridian's Spa del Mar and felt very rushed and in the way of the staff there....Lagunamar recommended this their sister spa as the best spa in Cancun but we were disappointed. Ended the day with a Pedicure at Arenas and Spa, on the way back to the resort and had the best treatment ever!
Can't wait to go back to the Westin Lagunamar in Cancun!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank presso57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2.1 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
1.7 mi away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#14 of 176 in Cancun
4,099 reviews
0.2 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
1.9 mi away
Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort
1.6 mi away
JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan Km 12.5 Lt 18 Zona Hotelera | Zona Hotelera, PO Box 834 Apdo., Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#9 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#10 Family Hotel in Cancun
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#22 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $249 - $719 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun 4*
Number of rooms: 592
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun is located directly on a white sandy beach. Our resort in Cancun, Mexico offers spacious one and two-bedroom villas that comfortably accommodate up to eight adults in as much as 1,140 square feet. Each villa features fully equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi, in a perfect setting in the Hotel Zone on Mexico's Costa del Sol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel Cancun
Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel
Cancun Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing