We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning property!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
Ranked #12 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning property!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

My husband and I made our third trip to the Lagunamar, we love it so much we stayed 2 weeks this time, July 6-20. The rooms are great, the view incredible. The service is 5-star all the way! We enjoyed the breakfast buffet every morning and had several dinners at the hotel restaurants. The service at the pool was outstanding and the Lagunamar employees used our names regularly. The infinity pool is just beautiful, loved the Tai Restaurant across the street too. I would like to make special mention of the following: Henry who was just an incredible person, so friendly and always had a smile. Benito was always running around to make sure he was doing all he could for us and other guests. Lomolie, Edwardo and Roberto are just fabulous with smiles and so helpful in all they could do for us. Ernesto was great to us too, always helping in all he could. Pedro, the restaurant manager was friendly and professional. Juan Jose was also hard at work to please. We had 2 Enriques...one was Enrique Zavala and I am sorry I don't remember the name of the 2nd Enrique. In general we had a great experience with all employees there, including Emma. The only tiny complaint is that they need more help in the little store, but the store does have a lot. There is a little library in the Kids Center, where you can take a book or two at no charge, I did return them before I left. Was a fabulous vacation!

Room Tip: We like building 5 best as it is an elevator ride up from check in and the store, etc The higher the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tngirl1132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Family,
I am so excited by reading your amazing feedback, we are always happy to help you and your family to have a Westin Lagunamar experience. Nothing is more important than knowing you left the property so happy. We know you will be back soon, please contact us if you need prior information or assistance.
Saludos from Sunny Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,188
    1,101
    280
    112
    69
See reviews for
1,985
1,835
82
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,620)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middlefield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

We stayed here during the week of 8-9-14 and found it to be terrific. Cannot ask for better service - everyone was polite, efficient, and incredibly customer focused. Our 9 year old found it easy to get around and loved the pool with the slide. The ocean front is spacious and there are very few trinket peddlers. The property is very well maintained - both the villa and the public areas were very clean. The Isla Mall across the street was great for dinners and had a nice variety - Thai, Indian, Mexican, Italian, etc. No reservations really needed if you eat before 7PM. For an activity, I suggest booking XPLOR through the hotel. They take care of everything, and I was very impressed by the balance of adventure and safety at XPLOR. This resort and Cancun will be added to our places to come back to.

Room Tip: Make sure you get an ocean view in Phase II
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samir650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, nothing makes us feel better than knowing our guests left the property feeling better than when they arrived. Thank you for being part of Westin Lagunamar and for your loyalty to us. We are glad and happy to make you feel like home.
We are looking forward to welcome you soon!
Sincerely,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

Stayed here for a week with family in a studio. Loved having the washer and dryer and mini kitchen. The room was spacious and clean. Extremely comfortable. The pools were amazing, warm and huge! The kids loved he slide and the beach. The kids club is fantastic. This hotel is directly across the street from a large mall which has a variety of restaurants to eat at. Transportation from this hotel is so easy, you can take a cab or the city bus. We did both and both options were fine! The service is fantastic at this hotel. The one thing we had trouble with was the lunch we ate at the restaurant by the pool. The service was slow (not our servers fault, he was very nice) and the food was awful. We ordered Mexican food and it was like Mexican food from a bad Mexican restaurant in the states, seriously. Nasty. Needless to say after that we did not try the other restaurants on site. There were so many better options for food at the mall and in the surrounding area that it really wasn't a problem. We I'll stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeatherP7211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
We would like to thank you for your comments and wonderful feedback. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and you liked our property so much. Thank you for your loyalty to Starwood Hotels and Resorts,
You will be very welcome next time if you decide to come to your second home at the Mexican Caribbean.
Be Well,
The Westin Lagunamar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

We had what they call a two bedroom layout which is a Villia and Studio with connecting doors. This was a lot of space for a family of four with a big dinning room table and full kitchen. The only negative there are not two bed rooms only queen bed and sofa bed which I did not get any complaints from my 18/20 year old children. We were on the 5th floor in the building that over looks the "smaller" pool (see photo). This location was very quite and not too far from the main lobby.

Check-in experience: smooth; they do have a lot of steps to follow so it takes a bit longer then a standard Westin

Condition of property: top notch; not a tile out of place or worn furnishing

Pool/ Beach: hard to beat. Biggest pool in Cancun (I am told) lots of areas to hangout in the water. The beach is spotless with nice waves and attentive lifeguards. There are lots of lounges and we never had trouble getting one (wait until after 10AM and the best stops will be taken)

WiFi: very good even around pool and edge of beach (not sure what others were complaining about)

Food: we really liked the pool side restaurant and ate there twice (great service). There are lots of great places across the street or short taxi/ bus ride away (bus ride costs about a $1). We did not have a dinner at property.

Service: We had not issues with service and used the concierge to set up a few excursions

OK it is a Time share property (SVO): that had no impact on our enjoyment. We actually did do the "tour" to save some money on an excursion and $100 credit. We were committed to 90min but they "released" us in 45min as we were very familiar with the value proposition and they could see we were not buying in

We will come back.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stetson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your reviewing our resort, we loved your comments and tips for the travelers. We also want to thank you for choosing Westin Lagunamar as your Caribbean gateway.
We look forward to welcome you in the near future!
Warm Regards from Cancún!
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

I was really nervous about this as we are booked as part of a timeshare experience (buy a 3 year experience to taste what it's like on the timeshare programme). Booking it was the most complex and stressful process full of restrictions despite what we were sold. However none of that is this resorts issue that's the interval international programme. So when we arrived at the security gate and the taxi driver had to give our name in I was so relived they were expecting us!
Entering the Westin reception is a lovely experience. It really is as beautiful as the pictures portray if not more so. The reception team and the baggage porters are so lovely and welcoming ( in fact everyone is, smiling all the time saying hello (Hola), all wanting to ensure you are enjoying your stay. We were advised on check in that whilst our room wasn't ready (check in at 4 we arrived at 2) we had a beautiful room. I hoped so as we had already dropped a specification level from our deal, we were entitled to a 1 bedroom apt but all that was available on the exchange was a studio, again nothing to do with the resort but the programme. When we entered our room they weren't wrong! We have had the most beautiful room, ocean view, stunning facilities, jacuzzi bath, excellent kitchen facilities and even a washing machine and dryer, all including washing up liquid, powder etc. We wanted for nothing.

We have had a week here and it really is superb. We have no complaints whatsoever. We are a couple and despite this being a family resort there is plenty of space for families and couples. The beach access is superb, there are plenty of beds despite what some reviews say. There are some people who do the usual sun bed bagging by getting out early towels out on beds then not turning up for 4-6 hours then when they do only turning up for an hour at most (extremely selfish people). But all you need to do is tell the concierge and they will remove the stuff after an hour.
We weren't affected by it at all as there were so many many beds around. The hotel is about 90% occupied yet in the second pool area it's so quiet.
The pool concierge staff are so helpful and on hand for anything you want. The on site supermarket is excellent and yes more expensive than your local supermarket at home but not bad prices at all and certainly comparable to the local supermarket and liqueur store overs the road.

That is a bank on site but it has a heavy charge about £5 per withdrawal but if you go over the road to the Nova Scotia bank it's about 50p.

The facilities over the road are excellent loads of restaurants nearby and shops galore. Don't expect prices to be low though, these are top brands at top prices or even cheap brands at top prices.

We have had a super time here the hotel is superb as are the staff.
No complaints form us and a very happy time had.

Room Tip: Block 900 ocean facing is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our resort. It is very important to us that you take home memories that you will never forget. And is very important to us your feedback for improvement every day. We hope to see you again next year to enjoy another Westin experience!!
Best regards,
The Westin Lagunamar management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

if you would take this hotel and put it not in front of this gorgeous caribbean sea, it would be a 2 star. but since its on the ocean you forget all other issues with the hotel. whenever i called down to the front desk with a request, either it never came or came a hour later. one night i came back to find that my room has not been cleaned. they charge for in room coffee.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank m0ishy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your review. We will share your feedback with the respective upper Managers so that they can ensure our associates are doing their best to provide our guests with a refreshing experience. Please contact us to: lagunamaroceanresort@westin.com for further assistance on this matter.
Sincerely,
The Westin Lagunamar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in 8/14. The hotel was gorgeous, but the Westin lacked tremendously in their signature service. Not once while at the pool did anyone come up to offer us poolside or beach service. I saw waiters passing, but did not reach out at all. We ate at two of the hotel restaurants, and service was below par. We continuously had to ask for service. We attempted to speak with the manager, but no one ever contacted us. We ate dinner at one of their "theme" nights, and for 420 pesos per person, I expected more. The food was great, but again service was terrible. We went directly to speak with someone, but no manager was available. We will stay again mainly due to the property beauty, and with hopes the service will improve.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SAMANTHA Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your review, we appreciate your feedback to improve every day and helps us to work even harder in those areas you mentioned. We also want to thank you for choosing Westin Lagunamar as your Caribbean gateway.
We look forward to welcome you near future and experience the enhancements
Warm Regards from Cancún!
The Westin Lagunamar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2.1 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
0.2 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
1.7 mi away
JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 181 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,331 reviews
1.7 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort
0.9 mi away
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa

Property: The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
Address: Km 12.5 Blvd Kukulcan | Zona Hotelera, PO Box 834 Apdo., Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#12 Family Hotel in Cancun
#12 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#23 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 592
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa is located on the white sandy beaches of Cancun, Mexico. Enjoy spacious one and two-bedroom villas that comfortably accommodates up to eight adults in as much as 1,140 square feet. Each villa features fully equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel Cancun
Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel
Cancun Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing