We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous View From Every Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Ranked #11 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We spent a week at this beautiful resort in Cancun. The facility is absolutely beautiful! Every room faces the Caribbean Sea and the view is breathtaking! The rooms are quite large, well-equipped and comfortable. The grounds are well maintained and in keeping with the Caribbean. There are several pools for swimming and lots of space for sitting by the pool and relaxing. The hotel staff is excellent and the Concierge staff is exceptional. Our Concierge, Delfina, was outstanding and provided us with great information on everything from a trip to Chichen Itza to local restaurants. The hotel furnishes transportation from the airport to the hotel and return for a reasonable fee. If I only had to rank the hotel, I would give it 5 stars! However, there were also several restaurants on the property, but they are not truly representative of the Starwood philosophy.

Our first night we opted to eat at Duna, a Sports Bar, thinking it would be fast as we were tired from travel, and we could catch a little of the March Madness Basketball games. We were wrong on all counts. It took sometime before our waiter acknowledged us once we were seated. My daughter and I ordered hamburgers, a drink and a bottle of water. My son-in-law ordered a pizza. After what seemed like an interminable wait, the drinks arrived, but no bottle of water. Once the food arrived it was quite mediocre. The hamburgers lacked flavor. The pizza was just average and the drinks were not what was expected, based on the contents. The bottle of water finally arrived after requesting it again.

The first morning we tried to go to breakfast at Oceano, but arriving right at 11:00 (when they close for breakfast), they would not let us in. So, we went to Viento, the poolside restaurant. This restaurant opens at 11:00, and we were the first ones there. The menu was limited and the service was terrible. It took 50 minutes from the time our order was taken until our food arrived. We didn’t order fancy: A hamburger, a quesadilla and a fruit salad with lime sherbert. Getting a bottle of water here was worse than at Duna.

We did return to Oceano for breakfast later in the week. The brunch was very good and had many options. There was fresh fruit, omelets, eggs fixed to your liking, lots of Mexican pastries, breakfast meat, fresh fruit juices, champagne, mimosas and bloody Mary’s, as well as desserts. We also had breakfast ordering from the menu one morning. The service in here was much better.

Rating the entire package, I would have to give this hotel 3 ½ stars because of the restaurants. I will definitely return, but will shy away from the restaurants here.

Room Tip: The hotel is fantastic, but the restaurants are not up to Westin standards! Find elsewhere to eat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanetWK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay, we certainly care about all our guests’ comments and feedback, it is important to us to improve and give our guest what deserve and what is a Westin Lagunamar Experience, relaxing and renewed.
warm regards from Cancun,
The Westin Lagunamar Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,602)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,857 - 2,863 of 5,602 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2014

Was in Mexico for 6 days at the WESTIN, all was great, our third time at this hotel in since 2011. We will be back one day again. I miss hearing the Mariachi's which played in the restaurant. Miss the sun, snow still here......

Room Tip: Choose a room with a big kitchen, the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your loyalty to our resort and for taking the time to post this comment. Will be a pleasure to host you for fourth time and give you another Lagunamar Experience.
Warm regards from sunny Cancun
The Westin Lagunamar Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

I wish there was a 1/2 star option. The Westin Lagunamar is a really nice resort. The pools are fantastic. The beach is pleasant. The hotel staff are extraordinary. If, as my wife stated, the resort had a decent restaurant and an on-site store that sold more than overpriced bottled water and souvenir trinkets, it would be awesome - and a "five star" review.

The location, just a little bit south of the "Las Vegas" area of Cancun is nice. The hotel is located across from an upscale shopping center that offers everything from Starbucks to Hagen Daz (great for the kids). The beach is really awesome. A wide expanse of beautifully manicured sane and a nice assortment of amenities.

The pool, well we have a 4-year old so we must have spent 10-hours each day in the pool. There are a couple of pools - one that is referred to as the "activities" pool, where the "action" takes place; and the other, more laid-back family pool. Needless-to-say, our time was spent at the family pool. It was really great. A totally kid-friendly (4-feet max) pool with a pseudo-beach and plenty of stairs for the little ones.

Perhaps what I appreciated most about the resort was the staff. They are the most accommodating and respectful staff I have ever seen at a Westin. The attention that each staff person takes to assure a guests stay is not only comfortable, but unforgettable, is astonishing. For that reason alone - we will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room in building 1, 9 or 14; but don't be surprised if the rooms are all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Guest,
It makes us so happy to receive these kind of comments, thank you so much for choosing Westin Lagunamar. We would love to host you again soon. We will recognize the staff and will share these comments with them. It´s a pleasure always to make our guest´s vacation an unforgettable experience.
Sincerely,
The Westin Lagunamar Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed here in November 2012 and I wrote a lengthy review then you might want to check out, this is just an update. Bottom line it is still a great location and very nice facility with great staff, but it is beginning to show some wear and tear, lots of little things were broken in the room like door stops and lamp shade finials. There was mold on the grout in the floor tiles and some small bugs I think were ants. Since they were minor issues I did not report to the management but housekeeping should have noticed it and fixed.
I got a great offer from Starwood by mail, $319 for four nights in a studio plus a $75 resort credit all without having to attend a timeshare presentation. Probably will not stay again unless I get another great deal, but we rarely stay at the same place twice. The first time we had a great room on a high floor with an awesome pool and ocean view, this time was peak season we were on the second floor and basically had a view of a rock lined roof full of cigar and cigarette butts and some palm trees, but for what I paid I could hardly expect a prime location.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kmartinncemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank yopur taking the time to write this comment. We appreciate all the suggestions and feedback. We hope to host you for a third time.
Warm regards form Cancun
The Westin Lagunamar Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed here in beginning of April.

We are a couple in our 40s, went with another couple, so this is based on our experience and not one with children.

This was our first time NOT at an AI, so I was apprehensive.

15min drive from cancun airport, nice drive.

Great hotel, clean, safe modern. No bugs!!

We were stayed with friends that are time share owners. So we were in a "lock out" room which consisted of, a queen bed which was lovely, couch, chairs, full bath with shower and jacuzzi tub, and a full kitchen!

The kitchen was awesome to have. Cancun Transfers took us shopping at Superama so we had groceries for breakfast and lunch and our beer, water and soda. This is a must at this hotel, you will go broke at any hotel buying drinks. We highly recommend Cancun Transfers.

We took a collaspable cooler with us and the staff and the bar would fill it with ice for us no problem.

Bed was awesome and stocked with a ton of pillows.

Shower has HOT water.

AC worked too well, LOL, I had to wear my robe, super cool in your room and you control it!

No bugs and sheets and linens were clean.

Infinity pool is awesome.

Beach was also super clean, clear waters and smooth sand with lifeguards on duty.

Beach has chairs with umbrellas and huts, the huts are limited but we never had a problem grabbing one. It seemed the pool was more popular at this hotel, but Im a beach person.

If you wanted a good chair at the pool be up by 730 to grab one.

We got towel cards upon arrival, but if you asked the guy nicely he gave you how ever many you wanted.

Happy Hour Power hour as we called it was from 3-4pm and it is buy one drink get another free.

the Chicken Nachos are amazing pool side.

The Monday Night Mexican Night Buffet. I would not do again,it was pricey and food was not worth it, it was the only restaurant we ate in there, we would go across the street to the MALL for our meals.

Try the Taco Grill, and La Pizzeria, they were awesome.

There is also, Mcdonalds, starbucks, Johnny Rockets, Chilis, Hagen Das Ice Cream, believe me there is something for you over there. But try the authentic restaurants!

Its completely safe across the street, super clean and security is there (with NO guns) and they are very nice.

Our room was 951 and it was super quiet, no problems, our view was amazing, awesome balcony area to sit on. No construction going on at all :)

This is a time share, but anyone can stay there :) I looked and it seemed that it would have been about $300 a dollars a night to stay.

Maid Service only comes on Tuesdays.

The gym is small but good for a cardio work out and some smaller weight machines.

There is a market, which has things like, milk, eggs, bread, cereal, water, pop, peanut butter, very nice feature to have :) Also beer and liquor to sell too. But pricey.

My one complaint is every day, several times a day, you are approached by the Spa staff trying to talk you into the Spa. It was annoying.

It seemed to have activites for the kids during the day, but we did not have children with us, so I cannot comment on that.

Staff was very attentive and kind and helpful.

I would stay here again and recommend it here.

Remember, take a cooler and go shopping. You will save hundreds.

Bathroom tip! There is a seperate toilet that has a sliding glass frosted window, its somewhat private, better than some hotels we have seen.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 951, it had an awesome view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nemmerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Guest,
We loved your nice and detailed review, thank you for taking the time to post it. That´s all our guests need to know to have a special stay with us and to enjoy the Westin Lagunamar Experience; it makes us happy serve and pamper our guests.
Saludos from paradise,
The Westin Lagunamar Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

It is the kind of place where you don't want to leave. Perfect accommodations, pleasant people. The right place on the hotel strip. Food was excellent. The downside is a lot of the large buses have to load up for trips down at the bottom of the driveway parking lot . A small price to pay for near perfection.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank weemack56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Guest,
We are very pleased to know you had a great time at Westin Lagunamar. Thank you for choosing our resort for your vacation, we hope to welcome you many more times in the future.
Warm regards from paradise,
The Westin Lagunamar Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

This was a great family resort. We just got back from our week stay and I would recommend it to anyone for the convenience of the place. Warning, if you are looking for the party atmosphere, you won't find it here. The pool bar stays open until 11pm, but I don't think they get any traffic after 10. Just a fun and relaxing place with places nearby if you need to go out.

We loved that there weren't loud annoying party crowds here. The pool was a wonderful temperature when we first got here. 3 days later it rained and brought the temp down, but it was still nice. Most restaurants had good food, but we were confused that Oceano did not specialize in seafood. Good food, but only two fish entrees on the menu.

The mall across the street is fun to walk around and has some good restaurants. I would recommend Thai Lounge, but make reservations for the over water tables. La Madonna was good also, and the Caesar salad made table side was excellent.

Everyone at the resort was helpful and courteous. Being spring break I thought it would be much more crowded, but it never seemed that way. We never waited for a table at a restaurant and never had to camp out for seats at the pool or beach.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank Leonmew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your Fantastic review, always make us glad to hear the feedback from you and to know that our efforts to serve and provide you with a refreshing stay, were worth it! We hope to welcome you back near future!
Saludos from sunny Cancun
The Westin Lagunamar Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.2 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
2.1 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
1.7 mi away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#14 of 177 in Cancun
4,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
#3 of 177 in Cancun
5,069 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan Km 12.5 Lt 18 Zona Hotelera | Zona Hotelera, PO Box 834 Apdo., Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cancun
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#11 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#22 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $271 - $552 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun 4*
Number of rooms: 592
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun is located directly on a white sandy beach. Our resort in Cancun, Mexico offers spacious one and two-bedroom villas that comfortably accommodate up to eight adults in as much as 1,140 square feet. Each villa features fully equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi, in a perfect setting in the Hotel Zone on Mexico's Costa del Sol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel Cancun
Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel
Cancun Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing