We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Ranked #9 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed December 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Westin Lagunamar for a 10-night honeymoon in June 2013. We loved it. The service is outstanding. Everyone is smiling, helpful, and courteous, and most everyone will go out of their way to help. The guys who run drinks/food back and forth to the beach are incredibly hard working, and their management runs a tight ship. We found the resort to be quite affordable relative to other properties in its class, too. If we returned to Cancun and had a similar budget, we would stay here again, without question. In many, many areas, it's hard to imagine what would be improved. In other words, it would feel like a risk to go somewhere else.

Some tips:

- Ask for a room with an unobstructed view. Our first room had a view obstructed by a palm tree. We relocated to a higher floor and had an amazing view of the beach.

- We weren't extremely impressed by the more expensive restaurant on the site. We found the food to be a bit bland, even on Mexican night -- but it may be because the restaurant is catering to the palates of its clientele. We ate most of our meals on the strip or -- more memorably -- in the town of Cancun. One nearby restaurant (La Destileria, which I'll review separately) is 5 minutes away and very good.

- Drinks are expensive down on the beach (American prices), and happy hour (2-for-1) comes early and goes by quickly. Not sure if you can bring your own, but I think we would try to do so next time to keep costs down.

- When we were there, WiFi was a disaster. We could NEVER properly connect. Not that we were spending time in the room browsing the internet -- we were just trying to use Skype to call home and what not. Impossible. My wife eventually found a precise spot in the lobby where it mostly worked. WiFi needs to be improved substantially to be credibly offered as a feature.

All in all, however, we loved the staff, the location, the amenities, and would not hesitate to return. An unforgettable honeymoon destination.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an unobstructed view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recommendations and for taking the time to post your detailed review, The Westin Lagunamar’s Experience goes beyond the simple needs of our valuable guests. We try with effort to help and provide everything to meet your expectations.We hope to welcome you again soon!
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,517)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,016 - 3,022 of 5,519 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2013

Spent Thanksgiving week at this resort and it was really wonderful! This was my first trip to Mexico, I've always been leary but finally gave into my husband as we booked a trip last minute and this resort happened to be available. I checked the reviews and pictures and gave my ok to book it. All I can say is we had a wonderful time, I was beyond happy with the resort and I would definitely go back again. We've been to many islands in the caribbean, Aruba being my favorite and I have to say this beach and the water was probably the best I've seen anywhere, we loved the waves! The staff was nothing but accommodating, professional, pleasant and happy to help. The Activities guys were alot of fun, my son loved playing pool basketball, beach soccer and volleyball every day, they knew his name and we had a great time at the pool with them daily. The only thing is I would of liked to hear more music at the infinity pool, it was a bit sporadic. The wait staff was great, the towel guys were great, everyone was smiling and very approachable. The Spa was fantastic, the complimentary massage by the pool turned into a 60 min massage for me and two 60 minute massages for my husband by the time we left. They were amazing, relaxing and I would definitely do it again. Thank you Gerrardo for working out the knot in my shoulder! We took cabs around to go to dinner and watch football, (can't miss football) and even the cab drivers were really nice. I would also like to see a few more English channels on the TV, watching football in spanish was quite entertaining but we'd prefer English. All in all this trip was much needed and it exceeded my expectations. The Resort is beautiful, the view from the infinity pool is just tremendous. Even though it was reportedly 95% full, it really didn't feel crowded at any point. We will definitely be returning to the Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort!!! Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank roestu29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are glad to know that we exceeded your expectations of a truly Westin Lagunamar . We are proud of our selves by reading this nice review and knowing that we exceeded your expectations of facilities and people, our associates are always happy to serve you and go beyond the limits to give you a renewing and refreshing stay. We hope to welcome you back very soon!
Merry Xmas and Happy 2014 for you too.
Warm regards,
The Westin Lagunamar Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Excellent facility, staff was great, spa was excellent. A great experience the whole time. The wait staff remembered our names from one day to the next, which made us feel very welcome and valued. They bent over backwards to make sure everything was just right.

Room Tip: Ocean view in building 1 is great. Overlook some old ruins in front of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MattAl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your Fantastic comment, always make us glad to hear the feedback from you and to know that our efforts to serve and provide you with a refreshing stay, were worth it! We hope to welcome you back really soon!
Happy Holidays,
The Westin Lagunamar Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This was my first visit and NOT my last. A wonderful room exactly as I requested for 7 days. Excellent service, a FANTASTIC spa day w/ massage (Carlos and Marcela). Our Concierge was always helpful. AND I was always upgraded as a SPG Resort owner... NICE

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank airctrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time and write this comment, also thank you for your loyalty to Starwood.
We hope to welcome you back again every year.
Saludos from paradise,
The Westin Lagunamar Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Lagunamar is for sure our home away from home; we purchased a time share a few years ago and just keep coming back for more each year. The resort is beautiful, so nicely laid out. The views of the infinity pool and beautiful aquamarine waters of the Gulf of Mexico are breathtaking. The rooms are clean, new, bright, spacious and very comfortable. The heavenly beds are just that, heavenly. What really makes our visit so wonderful each year is the welcoming staff. Every staff member, from the concierge, transportation, bell hop, wait staff, bartenders, pool concierge etc. are just so warm, kind, doting ---just wonderful. They remember us year after year and genuinely seem excited to welcome us back and look after us during our stay. It is as if they cannot do enough for us to meet our needs and be sure we are well looked after.

We also love the location of the resort ---a quick bus or cab ride to downtown or any of the finer restaurants. We especially like Freds, Puerto Madero and the Thai restaurant at La Isla Village mall across the street. The "tree beds" at the Thai restaurant make dining an experience like nothing you can get in the U.S.

Room Tip: Higher level rooms = fabulous views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your loyalty and for being part of our family. We love ypour comment and make us so happy to know that we are your home away from home.
See you realle soon to enjoy more moments and another Westin Lagunamar Experience
Saludos from paradise
The Westin Lagunamar Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This was our second stay at Lagunamar. We were there two years ago and enjoyed it so much we purchased a time share and returned this year (every other year TS)
Once again, the only negative was the weather. It rained quite a bit during our weeks stay, not Lagunamar's fault (-:
Our unit was very nice, we did have a problem with the front door and closet door but both were taken care of promptly after we called the maintenance dept.
The people at the Westin are exceptionally friendly, from the concierge to the service people in the restaurant.
The grounds are beautiful, all in all a very nice place to stay. We were really impressed that they now have an owner's lounge staffed by very friendly and knowledgeable people

Room Tip: we were in building 14 close to the spa and workout room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harvey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your nice review, we hope to welcome you for the third time so soon keep being part of your vacations for many years!
Thank you for your loyalty and see you soon.
Saludos from paradise,
The Westin Lagunamar Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

date of stay: early November 2013

We booked the hotel only an hour before we arrived to check in. We checked into a different resort in Riviera Maya and immediately checked out (different story and review elsewhere). We arrived at the Lagunamar early afternoon and our room was not ready yet. After a nice lunch we were able to check in.

We rented a one bedroom suite in building 9, located in between the two large ocean front pools. Beautiful room. Modern and clean. Full kitchen and separate living area. Bedroom was spacious and the bathroom was very large, double sinks, large two person whirlpool and separate walk in shower. All very nice and clean.

The main pool was very active with water aerobics and other activities throughout the day. Beach had a variety of areas to sit with sufficient palapas and umbrellas to keep out of the sun if desired. Surf was pretty rough for most of the week we were there as a front was passing through.

We spent most of our time at the south pool, which was very quiet. Both pools had swim up bars and attentive wait staff. Food was good, not great, but good. Plenty of chairs and no problems with crowds this time of year. This is the second time we visited Cancun in the fall (Nov.) and it is a great time to be there. Day and evening temperatures are very comfortable. Restaurants are not crowded.

On site dining options were above average but not great. The main restaurant had a great daily buffet and also could order from the menu. It is pricey though. All dinners were off property. With so many good restaurants in the hotel zone and Cancun and simple transportation (buses and cabs) it was easy to get around.

The only real disappointing element of the Lagunamar was the "sports bar". This tiny little bar on the south end of the property was loud, service was not great and the TVs were hard to see.

We were encouraged to meet with a representative about a welcome gift, where they essentially want to sell tours and get you to sign up for the time share presentation. We politely said no and other than one call to the room they left us alone. We actually on our own initiative chose to listen to the time share (it rained that day) and we were so impressed with the options that we ended up buying into the Starwood (Westin) time share program.

All in all we truly enjoyed our stay there and in fact are taking time out from the winter to visit with the whole family in January, 2014.

Room Tip: There are few true ocean front rooms, but nearly every room had a good ocean view. Bldg 9 is in a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C482831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Guest,
First of all, welcome to the family!!! It makes us so happy to know that you will visit us again soon! Thank you for taking the time to post this nice comments; we are delighted to read the experience you encountered was totally WESTIN LAGUNAMAR.
Come cback really soon with all the family and let us know before your arrival.
Saludos from paradise,
The Westin Lagunamar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2.1 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
1.7 mi away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#14 of 177 in Cancun
4,095 reviews
0.2 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
1.9 mi away
Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort
1.6 mi away
JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan Km 12.5 Lt 18 Zona Hotelera | Zona Hotelera, PO Box 834 Apdo., Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Cancun
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#22 Business Hotel in Cancun
#45 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#60 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#79 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $240 - $730 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun 4*
Number of rooms: 592
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun is located directly on a white sandy beach. Our resort in Cancun, Mexico offers spacious one and two-bedroom villas that comfortably accommodate up to eight adults in as much as 1,140 square feet. Each villa features fully equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi, in a perfect setting in the Hotel Zone on Mexico's Costa del Sol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel Cancun
Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel
Cancun Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing