We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Resort!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
Ranked #9 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Redondo Beach, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Resort!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

The Westin Lagunamar is fantastic! I just returned from a wonderful vacation in Cancun with my husband and 7 1/2 year old son. We are owners at the Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort and had not been since the resort first opened in 2009. The resort was better than I remember, and the service was fabulous. We were kindly greeted at check-in, and were very pleased with our ocean front 1 bedroom villa. The room was beautiful, tastefully decorated, and very spacious.

We spent most of our time at the pool, which is a gorgeous infinity pool with a swim-up bar. By the end of our first day at the pool, the swim up bartenders knew us by name! Hello to Felipe and Jorge...thanks for the first class service! The beach in front of the hotel was 3X's, or so, bigger than when we last stayed at the resort in '09.

We did one excursion to Xplor....I HIGHLY recommend this to anyone who is looking for a fun Zipline excursion!! Thanks to Tony, the Elite concierge, for helping us with with booking our excursion, answering all questions, and booking dinner reservations. Tony rocks!!! She is super enthusiastic, extremely knowledgable, and quite personable....probably the best concierge I have ever experienced!

Overall, we love the Westin Lagunamar in Cancun. I can honestly say that I enjoyed floated around the pool on my inner tube, cocktail in hand, talking to people while enjoying the fresh summer breeze, with the insane view of the ocean. Five Stars all the way!

Room Tip: All rooms have views of the ocean. Ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sheri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
We appreciate nice comments like yours, thank you for taking the time to post this. At Westin Lagunamar is priority to meet our guest’s expectations and to give you the best Westin Experience.
We look forward to welcome you near future,

The Westin Lagunamar Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,395
    1,147
    286
    114
    71
See reviews for
2,098
1,940
85
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,714)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed here for a week and had a really nice time. We weren't happy about the beach not being as close as we thought it would be on the resort not being as 'colorful' as it was in the brochures. Other than those two things, the rooms were nice and we really enjoyed the fire pit and grills on the property. We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunbaby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your amazing stay at The Westin Lagunamar, we are proud of our selves by reading this nice review and we hope to welcome you back very soon!
Warm Regards,
The Westin Lagunamar Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Forge, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

The resort is excellently situated in the middle of the zona hotelera in Cancun, across from the largest mall on the strip (good for buying snacks and drinks for the room to avoid the usual markup from a resort). All of the rooms/studios have ocean views and small balconies which are excellent for enjoying a cocktail at the end of the day. The property is well maintained and the large pools are great for kids we had four of them with us). The property has a nice miniature golf course and a very good gym. The concierge was very helpful in setting up a private driver and van to explore the ruins in Tulum and Coba. Overall a great experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room in building 10-12 - it is near the quieter pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are glad to know that we exceeded your expectations of a truly Westin Lagunamar Experience, we hope to welcome you near future, thank you for sharing your tips and suggestions with other travelers. It will be a pleasure to welcome you soon.
Warm Regards from Cancun,
The Westin Lagunamar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

The Westin Lagunamar was remarkable! We only got to stay one night because the hotel we were in did not have our additional night....anyway, we are so happy we stayed here! The rooms are fabulous, the pools are nice, the kids pool area and slide was perfect, and the beach access was great! We enjoyed our short stay and wished we could've stayed longer!!! Excellent service and staff!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelers2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review, we really hope you can come back to stay longer, we are glad to know that in one day we met your expectations and you enjoyed the facilities and the excellent staff,
We look forward to welcoming you near future!
Sincerely,
The Westin Lagunamar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

My initial impression of this place is that it's very nice, bright and large. We arrived on June 20th and checked out on June 27th. We reserved three standard studio rooms through Travelocity and arrived at the hotel around 7 p.m. We were able to check in right away and everything was fine with that. My only issue is that I asked the clerk who checked us in if we could have rooms that were close to each other. The reason I asked for this was because there were a total of 10 people in our group and I wanted all of us to atleast be in the same building for more convenience but they ended up putting us in three different buildings which was a pain. When we asked if we could be moved closer together they said they wouldn't be able to until Monday because the hotel was very full but by that point we would have been 4 nights into our 7 night vacation so we were like why bother (I guess that's what they were hoping for).

My main concern was that the rooms be clean and they were. Although there is always room for improvement, for example they didn't vaccum the area rug in our room all week. I kept seeing the same ball of fuzz in the same spot everyday. One of the drawers in the bathroom had sand in it, never got cleaned out while we were there but these are just minor nit picky things. They did come to our room to make the bed and replace the towels everyday regardless of how late we left the room. The small kitchenette was fine for coffee and snacks. Were not the type to cook while on vacation so we didn't take full advantage of the kitchen. F.Y.I., when we asked that they send us refills of the coffee packs, they said the first one was complimentary but that there was a fee for every additional one. We did use the washer and dryer so we were able to clean our swim suites, they do provide a complimentary bottle of laundry detergent which was nice.

My only other complaint about this hotel is that they close the pool bars at 6 p.m. and close the actual pools at 8 p.m. I think that is too early for either. One night we went into the pool around 10 p.m. because we had been out on an excursion all day and just wanted to relax in the pool. Security came by told us very nicely that the pools was closed but that we could use the jacuzzi.

My complaints aren't really a big deal, I really did like the hotel and I would stay here again if the price was right but we are the type to want to try new hotels everytime we revisit a place. Last time we visited Cancun in '2009, we stayed at what was then called the Gran Melia Cancun now called Paradisus. The rooms at the Westin LagunaMar are much nicer and more updated than the rooms at Gran Melia.

The Isla Mall across the street is nice, we had dinner there 3 different nights. There is a little convenience store and McDonalds, Starbucks, Chili's, are there as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Easy_Goin_Vacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review, nothing makes us feel better than knowing our guests left the property feeling better than when they arrived. Thank you for being part of Westin Lagunamar with your feedback we can improve every day. We are glad and happy that you will be back near future!

Sincerely,
The Westin Lagunamar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

My husband and I did a 5 day get away and stayed in a studio. Very nice room and accomodations. Could not quite figure out the housekeeping schedule though. They knocked on the 2nd or 3rd day but we were still in room. On 4th day we tod them not necessary since we were leaving next day. Not a problem though since we had a washer and dryer and they provided laundry soap. I just threw in a load of towels one day.
Wish the pool was open later. Would have been nice to cool off in pool or relax in jacuzzi later than 8pm.
Used the bus up and down the hotel zone a lot. Trip to Walmart was interesting.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kevandalicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are very pleased to know you had a great time at Westin Lagunamar. Thank you for choosing our resort for your vacation and thank you for your nice comments and feedback, we hope to welcome you many more times in the future!
Warm Regards,
The Westin Lagunamar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

My wife and I brought our granddaughter and were also joined by our daughter and her boyfriend. The room was on the top floor with a stunning view of the pools and the ocean. The room was ready on time, clean, and very comfortable. The staff could not have been more friendly or accomodating. Special praise goes to our personal concierge Claudia, who made all our dinner reservations and day activities. Her recommendations were perfect, and she truly seemed to care that we had the best experience possible. We.d also like to thank our pool attendant, Roberto. The hotel was very clean and comfortable, and our only complaint was the poor internet connection, which we had read about in other reviews. Overall we were very satisfied and plan to return in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mauricedullea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your amazing review about your recent stay at The Westin Lagunamar, we are proud of our selves by reading this nice review and knowing that we exceeded your expectations about facilities and staff , our associates are always happy to serve you and go beyond the limits to give you a renewing and refreshing stay.
We hope to welcome you back very soon!
Sincerely,
The Westin Lagunamar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2.1 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
1.7 mi away
JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 181 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort
0.2 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
#6 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa

Property: The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
Address: Km 12.5 Blvd Kukulcan | Zona Hotelera, PO Box 834 Apdo., Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#9 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#12 Family Hotel in Cancun
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#23 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 592
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa is located on the white sandy beaches of Cancun, Mexico. Enjoy spacious one and two-bedroom villas that comfortably accommodates up to eight adults in as much as 1,140 square feet. Each villa features fully equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel Cancun
Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel
Cancun Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing