We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property, beautiful location -- really enjoyed it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Ranked #9 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed from June 7-14 with our family of 5. The villas works well with our sons sleeping on the sofa bed and our 9 year old daughter sleeping on the chaise lounge. It would be kind of tight to get a rollaway bed in the room. We were in building 5 on the 5th floor. It's directly above the lobby and the Tierra Market. I was happy with the building because we had a nearly direct view of the pool and the ocean. It was also very convenient when we wanted to go out as we didn't have a long walk to the lobby. They originally wanted to put us on the 3rd floor, and I asked for a higher floor because I think the view would have been kind of obscured by the palm trees. The kitchen is very well stocked with nearly new cooking equipment, plates, cups, etc. The pool was wonderful with two different levels and a couple of whirlpools -- however, it was really too hot to use them. The staff was really attentive... I loved laying out by the pool and ordering food and drinks. These guys work hard! The pool concierge and the "fun team" were also great... making sure we had enough towels and organizing activities every hour (bags, beach soccer and volleyball, water aerobics, trivia games, etc.) The La Isla mall across the street was convenient for dining out, food and souvenirs. I'd say that the resort was showing a little wear (living room rug had some stains), but not enough to complain about. Plus, we were poolside most of the time any way and the pool is gorgeous! We did have one little glitch... the hotel ran a movie rental special in the market and it turned out that we didn't have a Blue Ray player in the room as I was led to believe by the clerk. After a couple of calls to the front desk and a couple visits from maintenance, they brought us a Blue Ray player so we could watch the movies we rented. I think that the language was a little bit of a barrier and I don't think the maintenance guy understood English very well. It got worked out in the end.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor to get an unobstructed view of the ocean. The lower levels (floor 2 and 3) mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for nice comments about our friendly staff at the pool and restaurants,we are happy to be recognized by you and read that you had a renewed experience at Westin Lagunamar.
Thank you for choosing our resort for your refreshing stay!
We hope to welcome you near future!
The Westin Lagunamar Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,522)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,275 - 3,281 of 5,522 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

We just returned from a week at the Lagunamar. Loved it! Stayed in a 2-bedroom in building 14. Great view of the "quiet" pool and beach. Room was clean, comfortable and well appointed. As a Westin owner and SPG member I am hooked on the heavenly beds. Air conditioner worked well and there were ceiling fans in every room. Once you stay in accommodations with a kitchen and living area you'll never want to go back to a regular hotel room. The staff was wonderful - special shout out to Delphina in concierge. The waitstaff, pool staff, spa staff... all great and super friendly. Only complaint was the wi-fi. Be prepared to have to go to the pool or biz center to get it.

We had an 8 year old with us and there were plenty of activities to keep her busy. Went to Tulum which was interesting but more crowded and commercialized than when we first went there 20 years ago. Went to Playa del Carmen for an afternoon. Very cute area with good restaurants and shopping. We also went to Xel-Ha which was our favorite day trip. Fun activities including snorkeling, river float trip and more. $75 paid for activities, all you can eat food (we ate both lunch and dinner - food was excellent for a buffet) and soft/alcoholic drinks.

Our favorite restaurant was Cenacolo Mare in Cancun - down from the hotel towards the airport. Probably the best homemade pasta we had ever eaten! Wonderful atmosphere, piano player and sunset views.

The hotel is in a good location. We rented a car and had no trouble getting around.
Thanks Westin Langunamar and Staff!

Room Tip: Building 14 was good! One of the newer buildings. Great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank COsporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your amazing review, we are always glad to welcome you and thank you for your loyalty, as an SPG member, you can encounter with the benefits of Starwood´s program and we can see that our efforts to serve you were worth it. THANK YOU!
Sincerely,
The Westin Lagunamar Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Well let me start my saying I have been to Cancun at least 13 different times. We own at the Royal Resorts, but I thought it might be nice to check out the Westin Lagunamar. Big mistake the only thing this resort has going for it is it's updated rooms and a nice location.. Pools were large, but on the cold side. The Ocean was warmer. Food and drinks were over priced. We are talking 14 dollars US for a mixed drink and a smoothie 8.00 dollars US happy hour is the best time to buy a drink by the pool,but you better do it quick as it only lasts for 1 hour, and service is so slow you will be lucky to get yourself that one drink unless you walk up to to bar and get it yourself. Location is great right across from the outdoor mall, however the local bus will only cost you about 80 cents, so you can travel very cheap where ever you are staying on the Cancun strip. We had ants in our room, they did come and spray for them, but left the spray all over the floors when they left. They Royal Resorts may not out shine the Westin's rooms, but they out shine everything else hands down! At the Royal Resorts happy hour is from 3pm -7pm everyday and includes free chips and fresh salsa and drinks are half price, but don't worry if you miss happy hour you will still pay much less then the Westin and get a drink twice the size, as you can have a "Vacation Size" drink which is double the size of the Westin's once size only drink. Check in at the Westin 4 pm, check out 10 am. Check in at the Royal Resorts 3 pm, but if your their early no problem they can almost always get you in.
Check out 11 am. All rooms at the Westin are supposed to be ocean view, however we had a very limted view because of the large palm tree blocking our view. Balcony's are small so we didn't spend much time out there. I guess when you think out it you really don't spend a lot of time in your rooms, as you are out enjoying the pools, the beach and all Cancun has to offer. So you have to ask yourself the rooms at the Westin may be top notch, but if you are not spending much time in there just how lavish do they need to be? I personally would rather have much better service and greater ammenties at a much lower price tag then what the Westin can offer. All our future family stays will remain at the Royal Resorts.

Room Tip: The higher the room the better the view. Limited views because of palm trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tammy1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you for sharing your comments with other travelers, at Westin Lagunamar is priority to provide you with the relaxing and renewed experience as always, our updated unique villas equipped perfectly and our spectacular infinity pools make our resort the greatest place in Cancun for families, advising to our guests, that if they come with a limit budget, you can always get at our Deli Market all the necessary to make your own drinks, taking to the beach and pool what you need to enjoy the way you feel comfortable. Our Staff will be always willing to go beyond the limits to provide you with a refreshing stay and help you during your stay.
We hope to welcome you near future!
Best Regards,
The Westin Lagunamar Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This is a great hotel with very friendly staff. We own a timeshare through another company and traded points through Interval. The 2-bedroom villa was more than adequate and the resort is clean and well-maintained. This is a great property for families with kids. There is plenty to do at the resort where you almost don't need to go off property. Just a few minor complaints- Don't plan on internet access here; the signal in the room is so faint you will surf at dail-up speed. They have a great business center if you can find an available computer (good luck with that one). All in all a great vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

We are happy to read your comments about our friendly staff and well maintained facilities, it is a pleasure to welcome you to our spectacular resort and please be welcomed soon to your home away from home in the Mexican Caribbean!
Warm Regards,
The Westin Lagunamar Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Great customer service, beautiful scenery, everything a vacation should be and more! You can't be disappointed unless you love complaining about little things. We went for the beach and weren't disappointed in the least!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsillmatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Guest,
We want to thank you for taking the time to post these nice comments, please come back soon to paradise and to our spectacular resort with beacutiful infinity pools, we are glad to know you enjoyed our facilites so much.
Sincelery,
The Westin Lagunamar Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

What a beautiful place to stay. Was very pleased with the Bellman Valentin. Was very friendly, courteous and helpful getting us where we needed to be and handling our luggage with care. I also agree that they need a bigger vehicle to transport patrons and that building 1 had beautiful views. Great week.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mimdeboer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post this review, we appreciate your mention as we recognize all our associates who provided a beyond service to our valuable guests. We look forward to welcoming you near future!
Sincerely, The Westin Lagunamar Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We just returned from a 4 night stay at this hotel. The hotel was clean, the workers beyond friendly and the view was amazing. Have to give a shout out to Tonia at the concierge desk - when the tour we wanted wasn't going due to the weather she was able to locate another tour for us to go on (this was a 2 day process). Everyone was super friendly at the resort. They have on site restaurants - we ate a Viento (which I would suggest) and Oceano (overpriced for just ok food). The beach was the best in the area and it is kept up by the Westin.

We did attend the timeshare spiel, but when we said no - that was it and we were done in a little over the time they said (about 110 minutes instead of 90).

I would return again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hokievet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your nice comments about our friendly staff and our good restaurants, Thank you for choosing our resort for your refreshing stay! We will share your comments with our associates and will recognize them as well.
We hope to welcome you near future!
Warm Regards from Cancún
The Westin Lagunamar Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2.1 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
1.7 mi away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#14 of 176 in Cancun
4,097 reviews
0.2 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
1.9 mi away
Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort
1.6 mi away
JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan Km 12.5 Lt 18 Zona Hotelera | Zona Hotelera, PO Box 834 Apdo., Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#9 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#10 Family Hotel in Cancun
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#22 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $249 - $732 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun 4*
Number of rooms: 592
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun is located directly on a white sandy beach. Our resort in Cancun, Mexico offers spacious one and two-bedroom villas that comfortably accommodate up to eight adults in as much as 1,140 square feet. Each villa features fully equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi, in a perfect setting in the Hotel Zone on Mexico's Costa del Sol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel Cancun
Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel
Cancun Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing