We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous family vacation spot!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
Ranked #9 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous family vacation spot!”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Just got back from our 2nd trip to Lagunamar Resort in Cancun and had a terrific time. The pool and beach are the perfect places to relax and cool off after being in the warm sun. The property is very well maintained and the service and staff were exceptional. The hotel is walking distance from many great restaurants and shopping. We love the variety of restaurants for dinner, but for lunch it was the macho nachos poolside with a couple of coronas. We are Westin owners (but not at Lagunamar) and had a great room on the seventh floor with a beautiful view of the pool and ocean. If view is important, make sure you set your alarm and book the first minute that you can to ensure a great view.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 357MikeK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your amazing feedback, nothing makes us feel better than reading comments from a satisfied guest. We appreciate that you took the time to write to us and tell us about your experience at Westin Lagunamar. We hop this visit is just one of many more to come in the future, we would love to be your new home away from home.

Warmest Regards,

The Westin Lagunamar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,575
    1,190
    298
    116
    75
See reviews for
2,223
2,023
86
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,776)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

In the past few years we have used friends' unused time-share allocations. After progressively experiencing rooms overlooking parking lots, third-class treatment, sales pressures, etcetera, we were fed up and vowed never to stay at a timeshare again. Accordingly, as SPG gold members, we planned what we thought was a stay at a reputable hotel to avoid all the time-share hassles and have an enjoyable holiday. To our horror, we found that the Westin Lagunamar is mostly a time-share property where "non-owners" experience the same second class standing as in any other time share in Mexico.

The room we were assigned overlooked the loading dock of the adjacent property and was about as far away from the main hotel area as one could get. When we complained, we were told no other rooms were available. After persisting with our complaints we were offered equally unacceptable rooms (ground floor with no view). Finally one employee confessed that the good rooms were reserved for "owners". To that point, we had no idea that this was mostly a time-share property, with unused capacity being sold off under the pretence of being a regular Westin. I will say that I have no issue with owners in a time share having better rooms. They paid the money so they do deserve good rooms. But what I have issue with is no where on the website does it indicate that regular guests should expect anything but regular Westin service. There is, in fine print, a disclaimer that SPG privileges are not necessarily applicable, but its not stated up front, and to those of us who are naive and believing in the good faith of Starwood, there was no indication that this disclaimer also meant to expect an inferior room.

In any case, despite a lot of concern and hopefully well-intentioned attempts to find us a better room (we kept asking daily for about 4 days till we finally gave up in frustration), nothing ever changed or happened. I'm sorry, but the advertising for Westin Lagunamar is misleading.

Having said this, there is no question that the staff at this property are exceptional - everyone was always very helpful and friendly. The facilties are spotless and well maintained, the beach is probably the best of all the hotel strip. The fitness facility is small but it seems a larger one is under construction. Never ate at any of the restaurants but food ordered on the beach was generally good.

This could have easily been a 5-star stay, but the time-share hassles really left us with a bitter taste. We understand the timeshares are about 80% sold, so in future there probably won't be the opportunity for people like us to be misled and disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Roger96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all , we would like to thank you for posting a review about your recent experience, and thank you for your loyalty to Starwood Hotels and Resorts, as SPG Gold members your comments are very important to us, we really appreciate your comments about our exceptional and friendly staff and our spotless facilities. We also want to apologize for the concerns you had during your stay; the room assigned to you and the unavailability of these days to give you a better room view. Please feel free to reach us at: lagunamaroceanresort@westin.com if you´d like to discuss your stay and give us the opportunity to welcome you back in the future so we can provide you with a stay and experience that exceed your expectations.
Sincerely,
The Westin Lagunamar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

If there is anything I could say about this resort, it's that the second visit may have topped the first which in itself was a fabulous trip. Getting away from the cold east coast is nice in January as that is the time we've gone the past two visits, and you have so many options to choose but it is tough to top this great spot in Cancun. The Westin brand just does such a great job of making you feel relaxed and maximize your vacation time. From the second you arrive at the resort, the entire staff is just so attentive, and engaged in making sure you enjoy yourself.

A few favorites of ours are the magnificent affinity pool, which when you enjoy yourself in the large pool (or swim up to the bar and order a drink), all you see is the Caribbean Sea. The breakfast they have in one of the restaurants (a bit expensive for the buffet, but it's well done and not some low budget gross buffet). Live music a few nights at the same restaurant. The beach that the resort sits on is not private, but it sure feels like it. Not once was it ever crowded, and each time we were there the hotel was close to capacity. They have private cabanas for free to guests, which is nice to get away from the pool which at times was sometimes a bit loud.

All in all, 5 out of 5 stars. A must visit. Location is great, can walk off the resort the mall across the street and have dozens of places to eat -- cheap and up to dressy. Will be back soon to escape New York City's cold winters.

Room Tip: You HAVE to be in the "old" side of the resort (which is still just a few years old). The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OliverNYC83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
We appreciate your feedback and thank you for your details regarding the amenities available at the Westin Lagunamar; the spectacular infinity pool and the nice cabañas at the beach. We do our best to provide you with a renewed and refreshing stay, and we love nothing more than to hear that you and your family took advantage of our facilities on-property. Thank you for providing such great details and we look forward to seeing you near future.

Warm Regards from Cancún!
The Westin Lagunamar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, VA
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We just returned from a vacation at Westin Laguamar resort and felt it did not live up to our other experiences at Westin resorts. The biggest difference is that this is a time share resort and the owners get preferential treatment. We are SPG Gold and are used to being treated very well when we stay at Starwood properties. However, that was not the case on this trip.

At check-in, we were told we had been upgraded from a studio to a one-bedroom (which was a nice plus) but the room had a poor view and overlooked the adjacent hotels and the parking lot below. When we asked to be relocated to a room with a better view, the front desk personnel were not at all accomodating. We were told that we would not be able to keep our upgrade to a one-bedroom if we wanted to be moved. When we asked to see the studio they would move us to, they told us this was not possible. In the end, we stayed in the one-bedroom in order to have more room even though the view was sub-par in our opinion.

Additionally, when we asked for a late check-out on the day of departure, we were only allowed an extra hour. Typically when we have requested late check-out at other Starwood properties, they have been much more flexible.

Finally, as many people have noted, the wifi in this hotel is horrible. We were not able to connect many times during our stay and when we did, the connection would often drop. In this day and age, strong, consistent wifi service is a must. This would seem to be an easy thing for management to correct and would eliminate the one consistent complaint that visitors mention.

Despite our problems with the mangement, we did have a great experience with the staff. The employees we interacted with in the restaurants, on the beach and at the concierge desk were are all very friendly and willing to go out of their way to help us. Our concierge, Sebastian, was wonderful. He offered many suggestions on where to go (and what to avoid) and helped steer us to some great restaurants and attractions.

The resort itself was very clean and spacious and the beach was very nice. This would be a great destination for families as the pools are big and there is plenty to do. The location is great, with the La Isla shopping mall just across the street and easy access to tourist destinations.

If you are an SPG member and are used to being "special" when you stay at Starwood properties, be aware that you may not experience that same level of service here. However, if you are looking for a nice, clean beach resort and accept that the owners get preferential service, then this might be a good destination for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a direct ocean view on the 4th floor or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RM656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review, we´ll recognize our staff mentioned and share your comments with them. We hope you can give us the opportunity to welcome you again so you can experience the enhancements and the real Westin experience you deserve. Please contact us directly: lagunamaroceanresort@westin.com for further attention.
Sincerely,
The Westin Lagunamar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenwick, ON. Canada
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our week long stay at the Westin Lagunamar. Our first impression with the resort was the service. It was definitely the highest level that we have experienced thus far in our travels.

There are two phases to the resort. I believe the first phase was built in and around 2008 and the second phase very recently, so it is a newer resort.

AIRPORT GROUND TRANSFER

A couple weeks prior to departure we e-mailed the resort to request airport transfer upon arrival and departure. We promptly heard from our personal concierge with confirmation and instructions. The cost was $35.00 USD per person (up to four) and $5.00 for each additional passenger. The cost cannot be charged to your room and is payable once you arrive at the resort. You can charge it to your credit card. The arrangements worked perfectly.

ROOMS

I believe all rooms have an ocean view with a balcony. The view is spectacular. We were very pleased with the accommodations. It is well designed and appointed. Our one bedroom unit had two large sliding panel doors which separated the bedroom from the seating area where the pull out couch was located for privacy. You could access the balcony from the bedroom, or separately from the lounge area. Robes are supplied.
The kitchen is great as is the bathroom and there was plenty of storage for your clothes, etcetera.
There is a washer/dryer in all units which is not standard in many resorts. It is a nice feature which allows for washing of your clothes the night before departure to save at least one task upon arriving home.

POOLS AND BEACH

The infinity pool pool was beautiful and and the beach is perfect. Wide, long and sparkling white sand. The water can be rough but that makes it fun and there are plenty of lifeguards working daily with the usual flag postings. There were plenty of palapas and chairs and umbrellas available. The towels were large enough to spread out over your entire lounge chair. Nice plus.

There is food and beverage service on the beach. We found the service was quicker just behind Viento.

AMENITIES

There were two tennis courts available and a gym. I believe the new spa was to open in the Spring of 2013.

The Tierra Market was open daily and you could purchase coffee, baked goods, food items and alcoholic beverages. There is also a little store at Las Isla Mall.

Wi-fi worked fine for us in our room and worked as well at the beach so you can stay in touch with family or work, if necessary.

There are lots of elevators available.

RESTAURANTS

We at breakfast at the Oceano once and had the buffet. It is pricey, so if you're not a big eater I would recommend ordering off the menu.
The food at the pool bar was very good.
They have theme nights during the week and we attended the Steak Night at Viento one evening and it was very good and there was entertainment which was lovely. The have nice fire pits and seating beside the restaurant tables where you can enjoy a nice glass of wine in the evening.

LAS ISLA MALL

The resort is located directly across from the Mall and there is Tourista Police for safe crossing as it is a busy road. There are many restaurants there for your enjoyment and very nice shops if you're into shopping.

If you are looking for a special evening out I would suggest La Madonna at the Mall. It is pricey but the food and the service are excellent. If you like to enjoy a Mexican or Irish coffee order it here and enjoy (you'll see what I mean). Cost was approx. $200.00.

We also ate at the Thai Lounge which was a little tricky to find. Just ask the information booth at the entrance to the Mall for assistance. The food there was very good and it is a nice atmosphere. Cost was approx. $120.00.

CONCIERGE AND TRIPS

The concierge at Lagunamar was excellent and was open at late at 10:00 p.m.. You do receive good discounts if you are prepared to do a sales presentation.
We did the Tulum / Xel-Ha excursion. I believe Tulum is the closest Mayan Ruin and our guide was very passionate and knowledgeable. As for Xel-Ha, if you have children travelling with you you would probably enjoy. It was very busy (even at the end of November). It was a one price pass which included all you can eat and drink.

Everyone at the resort spoke English and were very helpful in correcting my mispronunciation on my limited Spanish. I enjoyed that.

We didn't end up having time to take the bus into the Town of Cancun, but just another reason to go back.

Best reasons to go to Lagunamar: Service, beach and accommodations.

We would recommend this resort to anyone.
Enjoy !!

Room Tip: Your view from lower floors may be obscured by pine trees on the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank kozuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Guest ,
We are delighted to have created memories for you here at our amazing resort. We look forward to creating more for you in the future. Thank you for you comments, we are very glad to know we were able to make your vacation exceptional...

Sincerely,
The Westin Lagunamar Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christmas, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Nice pools and clean.Kids meal and drink deal for $15 a day has a catch adult must buy something each time kids get something.Mall across street expensive better prices at Flamingo Mall to the North.Take bus R2 to Walmart for 8 pesos and get food to prepare in room or cook on nice outside grill in common area near pool.Grill steaks is a nice plan for a night.Won't go wrong staying here overall.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your recommendations and for sharing this experience with us, nothing makes us feel better than knowing our guests left the property feeling better than when thay arrived. Please come back to visit us soon here at your second home in the Mexican Caribbean!

Warm Regards
The Westin Lagunamar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We just spent Spring Break at the Westin and loved it. We booked a little late so only had the studio for four people - two adults and two 18 year olds. It was cozy, but worked out ok. We were on the second floor and did have a palm tree obstructing our view somewhat. But it was still very nice to sit on the balcony and see the ocean past the trees and pools.

All the previous reviews were correct about the wifi. It's sketchy at best. We brought a MiFi hotspot and it helped considerably, but the signal still came in and out occasionally.

The pool chairs surrounding the infinity pool are typically all reserved by 7 am. If you want your pick of chairs you'll need to be up at 5:30 am. We got up to see the sunrise today and were amazed at how many people were up before 6 to get the chairs they wanted. The hotel policy of not reserving chairs isn't enforced so if this is important to you, set the alarm. The south pool doesn't fill up as quickly and it's also quieter and less windy. The ocean view from this pool is a little more obstructed by a metal fence but still nice. There were also plenty of chairs on the beach and we actually found this to be less windy than the pools because the wind doesn't swirl around the buildings.

The food was ok. We only ate at the Duna sports bar a couple of times, otherwise ate off the property. The happy hour drinks were fun. Not very strong which was good for the 18 year olds that are legal in Mexico. Regular priced food and drinks were a little expensive, but no more so that what we pay in Chicago.

The first day we arrived we took the taxi to Superama and got groceries. For $300 pesos the taxi driver will take you there and wait for an hour while you shop. This was more expensive than taking the bus, but much more convenient than lugging bags of groceries on the bus. There is also a Walmart, SAMs and Costco downtown - don't forget to pack our membership cards.

There is a mall across the street called La Isla. There are many restaurants and shops that you would find in the US, including Starbucks. With any of the American franchises don't expect the same menu as you would find in the States. It is usually a condensed menu.

The staff was fantastic and very helpful. We were assigned a personal concierge, but all of them were great. My favorite is Lucio. He helped us book tickets for Xel-Ha.

Rooms were clean as was everything on the property. Some other reviewers mentioned that service was slow and un-attentive. I think this is just a cultural difference because we experienced the same at all of the restaurants we went to. Maybe in the States we are just used to more immediacy and its more laid back in Cancun.

We had no health issues while visiting. We did drink bottled water, but brushed our teeth with the tap water and drank the frozen drinks made with ice. My husband did have a little trouble after eating ceviche and lettuce at the buffet in Xel-Ha, but I'm not surprised. I'm always a little weary of buffets.

Take the ferry boat to Isla Mujeres. Skip the 4 hours on the bus to Xel-Ha and just relax by the pool instead. Eat at La Distileria for some authentic Mexican. Try Señor Frogs for the fun not the food and know that it's not necessarily appropriate for younger kids.

Oh.....and bring a variety of ziplock bags with you. They come in handy for a million things and are easy to stick in the suitcase. Enjoy!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JASamp279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting such a nice review about our resort and experience. We are pleased to know that we exceeded your expectations and everything was relaxing and refreshing, The Westin Lagunamar and the entire staff will be delighted to welcome you back again near future so you can enjoy now of our Westin Heavenly Spa, opening this spring.
Warm Regards from sunny Cancun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2.1 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
1.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
1.6 mi away
JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#16 of 175 in Cancun
3,932 reviews
0.2 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
1.9 mi away
Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa

Property: The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
Address: Km 12.5 Blvd Kukulcan | Zona Hotelera, PO Box 834 Apdo., Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#12 Family Hotel in Cancun
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#23 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 592
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa is located on the white sandy beaches of Cancun, Mexico. Enjoy spacious one and two-bedroom villas that comfortably accommodates up to eight adults in as much as 1,140 square feet. Each villa features fully equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel Cancun
Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel
Cancun Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing