We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel with good location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
Ranked #9 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Elmhurst, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel with good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Staff was courteous and friendly. Grounds had everything we could think of. Two huge pool areas, Workout room was fine if somewhat small for a resort of this size. So there was a bit of waiting to workout if you went at high times (8-10 a.m.)

Villas were really nice for a family as we went to Walmart and bought some fruit and other food to cook. All rooms overlook ocean so it didn't matter really where we were staying in the hotel. Overall I would recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are very pleased to know you had a great time at Westin Lagunamar. We hope this experience with us is just one of many you will have for many years to come.

Thank you again and come back soon!
Warm Regards from Cancún!
The Westin Lagunamar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,395
    1,147
    286
    114
    71
See reviews for
2,098
1,940
85
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,714)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

This trip was beyond excellent (Mar 3- 10). There is so much to say...

Location: right in the middle of hotel row so it's right across the street from an outdoor mall, which was convient. We walked to other restaurants on the strip at night without any reservation of safety.

Rooms: excellent for us, just a couple. We had a small kitchenette, washer/dryer, tub, standing shower, balcony, safe, flat screen TV, small bose radio and a sitting area all in the small room. It was more than I could have ever expected.

Service: Best part of the trip. EVERYONE there was smiling and always willing to help. Few great people to mention: Claudia Aborca at guest services, Mariana in the concierge area, Eduardo and Roberto in the pool concierge group, Rene/Hamlet/Carlos all part of the fun team and Ernesto with the wait staff pool side. You guys really made the experience all it could have been and more. I can't tell you how much I appreciate your friendliness and great attitudes every day.

Food: Didn't eat onsite much due to the kitchenette and the availability of restaurants near by. I highly recommend though, taking the taxi service they offer, which is fairly cheap, to either Superama or Walmart to get a few groceries for the week. They wait for you to shop 1 hr and take you back to the resort all for the flat fee. We did not know about this but will use it for sure next time. Near by restaurants we loved: Limoncello and Destileria.

Beach: Super clean and awesome. Sand is as white as it looks and water is true blue. Free umbrellas and chairs on the beach for anyone to use. Volleyball net right outside the pool area also (fun touch : ) )

Spa: Had a couples massage while we were there. It was excellent. The spa is under renovation but the staff did an excellent job giving us a comfortable and enjoyable experience.

I cannot tell you how awesome the experience was and having never traveled to the area, it was a bunch of reviews like this that helped us decide on this resort. I highly recommend it and I Hope you have a great time also.

Room Tip: There are only two types of rooms... we stayed in building 2 which seemed to be pretty quiet. 6th fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katlyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
We loved your review! And we loved your pictures as well! Thank you so much for sharing this with us and with the travelers around the world, nothing makes us happier than read this kind of comments and to know that our guests had the Westin Lagunamar experience they deserve.
We hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,
The Westin Lagunamar Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

The Good Stuff- Rooms and staff are very good! Has been very well maintained, very clean, spacious and comfortable rooms. Desk staff are very friendly and helpful. Lots of beautiful pools and a waterside, all overlooking a beautiful beach. Amazing locker/gym area with gorgeous sauna, cool KidsClub amenities (but extra fee for child care of course). We did not have any trouble with noise of carts, doors etc. that others have complained of. One caveat though-if you want to sit on your balcony and enjoy the ocean view etc. DO NOT get a room in the 1300 block. It is the only block where the balconies front over the massive AC vents for the Aqua Vive next door and they are very loud if you are outside (no problem inside your room). But they were good about helping us switch to a different room on request even though the resort was very full.

The not so good- resort restaurant food and service is so-so at best, not worth the rather high prices. Breakfast buffet is nice and you dont need to worry about slow service but pricey (300 pesos). Buy food for the kitchenette (in every room) or eat at nearby restaurants instead. The beach looks beautiful but the surf is very rough and there is a bit of a rip current so no good for kids and leisurely ocean paddling. It's a time share type resort so they do offer but don't force you to attend the sales pitch (90 minutes but they give you $100 resort voucher). We signed up because we were curious but bad thing was we showed up for our pre booked appointment and waited 15 minutes to be told they didn't have enough presenters and we had to rebook for later. Not so cool but at least they gave us another $50 credit for the hassle.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrJSMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your great family experience and choosing The Westin Lagunamar for your Vacation, we appreciate your comment about our restaurants and service, as is an opportunity to improve every day. Our passion is to give our guest a Westin refreshing stay.
We will be really happy to host you again near future!

Warm Regards from Cancun!
The Westin Lagunamar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Absolutely fabulous trip. My partner and I spent one night here before heading to Playa. Services was impeccable, the personal concierge is a perfect touch. Location is ideal, shopping location directly behind the hotel. The hotel structure is great, as most rooms face towards the ocean / pool. I can not recommend this place enough, it is a great price. I assure you won't be disappointed,

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MosWantsToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you fo your review, nothing makes us feel better than knowing our guests left the property feeling better than when they arrived. Please come back to visit us soon here at your second home in the Mexican Caribbean!!

Warm Regards,
The Westin Lagunamar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

The beach and pools are wonderful at the Westin Lagunamar. The rooms are average and poorly designed. The wind howls through the door... the air conditioners drip on the floor in the bedrooms and kitchen area. There is no closet space to place luggage so you have to keep it "out" all the time. The linens were scratchy. The pool towels (for which you had to have a towel card) varied from nice to tattered. The food at the restaurants is overpriced and average at best. The drinks are watered down. If you don't plan to leave the resort... bring plenty of pesos... you will need them!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wendymae1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We welcome and appreciate every piece of feedback we receive.Our rooms are tastefully designed in space and comfort to our valuable guests and their families have a pleasant stay. We reviewed carefully the room to check the details you mentioned. We hope you give us the opportunity to show you the true Westin Lagunamar Experience, for further assistance and reservations please contact us at email: lagunamaroceanresort@westin.com
Warm Regards from Cancun!
The Westin Lagunamar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We just got back from This hotel. It has really nice rooms and is well situated on the strip of Cancun. The pools are lovely and the weather was fantastic.
I have to tell you about the downfalls: 1) The service is SLOW!!!! Be prepared to wait a longtime for every meal and cheque. 2) The Fitness center although it has pretty good workout equipment is located in the basement of the hotel with no view. It is open 24 hours but no female would venture down there alone in the evening and after 8 as there is no staff on duty.
3) The front desk arbitrarily makes decisions about your bill. I disputed a charge and was told it was removed as they could not find the receipt to back it up. When I went to check out another manager of the front desk had decided to put it back on and failed to inform me. It was not a good way to leave! Just be careful when checking out that your bill is correct.
4)My room was never cleaned and by 4:30 pm everyday I had to call them to ask for cleaning.
5)SPG Late check out means nothing! They allowed me only an hour extra to 11:30 am.

We had a good time playing mini putt, vistitng the resident bunny and swimming in the great waves. Just be prepared for all the above before you arrive! Bring small denominations of US cash as they wont change it and only will give pesos.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overl\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and comments. The service you received is certainly not indicative of what we want to provide to each of our valuable guests. We appreciate if you can email us to follow up on the disputed charge and please accept our apology in behalf the entire staff of Westin Lagunamar, it is our mission to provide you the best relaxing experience.
Please contact us: lagunamaroceanresort@westin.com for further assistance.
Sincerely,
The Westin Lagunamar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We are a "sixty something" couple from North America who selected Westin Lagunamar for a relaxing "long weekend" in mid March 2013. This was our first trip to Cancun. The facility was very clean, well designed, and met my desire for a balcony, ocean facing room and overall romantic vibe. We were very pleased. Once we made our reservation, a concierge contacted us via email prior to the trip and made us feel very welcome. She also made arrangements for the airport shuttle upon our arrival and the price for a private van was competitive with what we would have paid simply making a reservation through the internet. The in room kitchenette was extremely well appointed. The in room washer dryer combo came with detergent. All we had to do was put on our beach wear and flip flops and have a great time....which we did. My wife gave me permission for us to come back real soon, which is probably the best seal of approval a place can get. The bubbler for the hot tub is self service, so make sure the lifeguard shows you how to turn it on, so when it is just the two of you down there after sunset you can keep it running. Sf Susu.

Room Tip: We asked for a room with early morning sun and that's what we got. The furniture on the balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SfSusu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to post this amazing review, we are very happy to read your comments The Westin Lagunamar staff is always ready and more than willing to make your stay a truly refreshing experience. Thank you for staying with us, we hope to welcome you near future.

Warm Regards from Cancun!

The Westin Lagunamar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2.1 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
1.7 mi away
JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 181 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort
0.2 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
#6 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa

Property: The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
Address: Km 12.5 Blvd Kukulcan | Zona Hotelera, PO Box 834 Apdo., Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#9 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#12 Family Hotel in Cancun
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#23 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 592
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa is located on the white sandy beaches of Cancun, Mexico. Enjoy spacious one and two-bedroom villas that comfortably accommodates up to eight adults in as much as 1,140 square feet. Each villa features fully equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel Cancun
Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel
Cancun Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing