We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa to your Saves list
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 12.5 Blvd Kukulcan | Zona Hotelera, PO Box 834 Apdo., Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Summer Savings!
Ranked #12 of 180 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

From the moment you arrive you think you are in heaven, everything about this trip was amazing. The staff is attentive and great at answering your questions and making everything about your trip wonderful. The fun team leads great activities and René was great and always made us laugh. Edourdo the pool concierge was amazing always make sure we found a spot we like getting umbrellas set up etc. But by far the best experience was a massage with Joreim a must do for anyone. The pool service was great, food was good. Oceana restaurant had great service the only down thing was really bad service at the sports bar Dona. It took forever to get served and then they brought peoples meals out space 5-7 minutes apart which made it difficult.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweetlily1856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to know you had a great time at Westin Lagunamar. We hope this experience with us is just one of many you will have for many years to come. Thank you again and come back soon.

Warm Regards,
The Westin Lagunamar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,871
    1,044
    266
    109
    62
See reviews for
1,821
1,676
74
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,502)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Juarez
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I just loved the beach, the pool, the room, everything was perfect, I loved the way the rooms are distributed, two separate rooms for travelers with teenager...the kitchen is so pretty...you feel like you are at home, all the commodities you have at your home, you will have them here.

Room Tip: You can buy your groceries and cook in the room's kitchen or outside they have grills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bibi1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest , It makes us so happy to receive these kind of comments, thank you for choosing Westin Lagunamar as your Caribbean Getaway. We would love to host you again in a near future.

Warm Regards,

The Westin Lagunamar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We just returned from our third stay at the Lagunamar. I gave it 5 stars because it is an outstanding resort BUT there were two things that bothered me.

1. You've all heard it before - the internet is terrible and it was a real problem for us because our family at home was stuck in a blizzard and it was very difficult to assist them with inconsistent to impossible internet connectivity. We spoke to a consierge about this and they are working on it; the problem is with the internet company and they do realize what a big problem it is.

2. PLEASE stop hounding us about massages at the beach!!! One morning we were approached no less than 7 times by massage pushers who are paid by commission. Between them and the people hawking jewelry it really was annoying and difficult to have a conversation or read a book without interuption. I felt like hiding every time someone came into view. If I want a massage I will ask for one!

Aside from this, the resort is perfect for us. The concierges Lucio and Tony were great, the waiter on the beach Juan Jorges remembered our names from the year before! The steak tacos and hamburgers are outstanding, especially when eated on a stool in the pool. We did this everyday. The planned trips were well organized, as were the airport transportation reps. Our 2 bedroom lockoff was ready at 3 and there was NO WAIT at the check in. We are already planning our trip here for next year!

La Madonna and the Thai restaurant offer complimentary drinks if you book through Westin and both restaurants are romantic and the food is good. Baby Lobster (terrible name) has very good seafood at a bargain price. It is a little hidden away but we have been there a number of times over the last couple of years and are always happy with it.

Fish Fretanga, just a short walk away, is also good value for money and a real mexican environment next to the lagoon. Bring bug spray! There are no bugs on the ocean side of the hotel zone but near the lagoon there are mosquitos although it is nothing like being in New Hampshire!

ENJOY!!

Room Tip: There are no "bad" rooms but I like to be high up for a big view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gangofthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your valuable time to post this review! We pride ourselves on creating personable and memorable experience for our guests. We thank you for your loyalty....it means a lot to us and makes us strive even harder to achieve our goals as a company.
We await your next visit !!!

Warm Regards
The Westin Lagunamar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This resort is located on a beautiful beach and is right across the street from a large mall with many good eateries. The ocean is terrific and there are lifeguards working the beaches. We enjoyed the fish tacos at the beach restaurant. We ordered them most every day!

We had the most amazing massage in the beach cabana by Miguel and Joreim. Miguel has many years of practice and is quite strong. Joreim is a trained chiropractor and is very intuitive. We highly recommend both of them! You can book them both for a couples massage. The beach cabana at dusk was a wonderful experience. Both of them are personable and fun. Be sure to ask for a free foot or shoulder massage while you are laying on the beach.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest ,

We are delighted to have created memories for you here at our amazing resort. We look forward to creating more for you in the future. Thank you for you comments, we are very glad to know we were able to make your vacation exceptional.

Sincerely,

The Westin Lagunamar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We booked the Westin Lagunamar last minute as our flight got cancelled and decided to take a hotel closer to the airport as we were staying in Playa Del Carmen. We arrived at 1:30pm and although 4pm check in, they kindly gave us a room immediately. We booked the hotel with breakfast but you do not need this as you can go to a local supermarket and purchase food. The breakfast buffet is ok but be careful as the buffet costs extra to the american or continental breakfast which is included. The rooms are very spacious and have everything you need for a villa holiday. The pools are lovely and the water is warm. The views from the hotel room to the beach is amazing. Service in the pool restaurant was very slow, almost 1 hour wait for food although it wasnt really busy. If you go here be sure to check out the la Destilaria mexican restaurant down the road, it is amazing and the waiters are so friendly. The hotel location is ideal, near to the shopping malls and walking distance to retstaurants and lots of buses stopping right outside the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindajuanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our resort. It is very important to us that you take home memories that you will never forget. And is very important to us the feedback for improvement every day. We hope to see you again very soon to enjoy another Westin experience.

Warm Regards
The Westin Lagunamar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

if your a family with kids or want a laid back atmosphere then book your stay at the westin lagunmar..known for the heavenly beds and showers this westin will not let you down..with a location that allows you to get around cancun with ease..
the check in is not till 4pm..its there rule and dont be dissapointed if you arrive at noon...they will not make exception..even if the hotel is 20% full...this was my scenerio and we traveled with 6 month and 3 year old....and here are a few little tips that may help you..
*set up transportation with the hotel..its very easy to do and they give you step by step instructions once you arrive in cancun...but be sure to arrange your transportation back to the airport 24 hrs before you check out...i failed to do this and a taxi cost me about $28 more to take family back to airport...
*if you like to lounge by the pool everyday move around...each pools have different lunch menus..so try them both
*pack a soft cooler or just buy one at walmart for $7...take anything you want but glass to the pool in your cooler everyday...if not take advantage of the daily happy hours the hotel has to offer..3pm to 4pm at the pool and 6pm to 8pm at the sports bar...
*USE THE PUBLIC BUS SYSTEM..ITS 8 PESOS AND VERY EASY TO GET AROUND...take the bus to WALMART its 20 mins away for 8 pesos..load up on beer, liquor, and groceries..then take a cab back for $12..so buy all you want...
*PARENTS...pack the DVDs..there are two kid channels, but both are in spanish...but there are two dvd players in each room with flat screens...very easy to use..
*also pack laundry pods and less clothes..washer and dryer work great..
*hotel has a photo service on property..its free of charge for photo shoot but $10 per pic if you choose to purchase..no pressure..they did an amazing job...(cash only)
*if you want to souvenir shop..MARKET 28...we tried others, but MARKET 28...the best
*RELAX..when you ask for the bill in mexico..it may take up to 20 mins to get it..cant figure it out..dont get upset...i told you so..your on vacation...

Room Tip: Every room has a view of the pool or the ocean..the higher the floors the better the view...i asked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank dflores1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your great family Experience and for Choosing The Westin Lagunamar for your vacations, we hope to Welcome you again near future!
Warm Regards.

The Westin Lagunamar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We just returned from Westin lagunamar, we had originally planned for a one bedroom villa then because of 4 adults opted to add the studio. Because they were booked at different times not assured they would adjoin or even close. We asked for and were accommodated. Loved having both sides of lock off. Rooms are great, pool and beach clean and fun. The Oceanside massage was one of the highlights of the week.
The Internet was slow and unreliable, hope that improves. Biggest complaint was theme night Friday night, "pizza pasta".
It made all the other meals we had the rest of the week good or bad, seem fabulous. It actually made us decide to cook in (full kitche) more than we would have, which saved us money.
Most fun activity was Isle Mujeres, get over early so you can spend the whole day and loved EXPLOR, another full day but great fun and surprised at the incredible lunch and smoothies served. They told us great food but we were skeptical.









Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank billyshaw66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you fo your review, nothing makes us feel better than knowing our guests left the property feeling better than when thay arrived. Please come back to visit us soon here at your second home in the Mexican Caribbean.

Best Regards.

The Westin Lagunamar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2.1 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
1.7 mi away
JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Live Aqua Cancun All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
#3 of 180 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 stars 3,763 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 180 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 stars 5,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa

Property: The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
Address: Km 12.5 Blvd Kukulcan | Zona Hotelera, PO Box 834 Apdo., Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#12 Family Hotel in Cancun
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#23 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 592
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa is located on the white sandy beaches of Cancun, Mexico. Enjoy spacious one and two-bedroom villas that comfortably accommodates up to eight adults in as much as 1,140 square feet. Each villa features fully equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel Cancun
Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel
Cancun Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing