We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time in Cancun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
Ranked #10 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
GreenLeadersGold level
Rochester, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First Time in Cancun”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Cons: Took forever for the bellboys to bring luggage to our room. Wouldn't accept cash anywhere at the resort had to pay by CC...frustrating! People run down to the pool chairs to throw their towels on the chairs to claim them by 9am and then dont show up to use the chair until noon. BBQ Grills were nice to use but no BBQ utensils in rooms. Lots of noise in hallways at night, every night, at times seemed like they were right in the room with us. Hot tubs were luke warm...very disappointed! Trash can liners were too small for the containers. Breakfast buffet was not worth the money, food was cold! The massage people constantly bugging you for a free teaser massage sample, maybe bring a sign that say "NO Massage NEEDED HERE!!

Pros: Resort was very clean. Concierge was very helpful and took the time to answer all our questions. Rooms were very nice and spacious. The view is awesome, there cant be a room with a bad view. WIFI was good for us because I brought my own travel router, had 4 bars all week.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review and your feedback, definately there were things that didnt met your expectations but we work every day harder to improve and take comments and feedbacks to make thing better.

Please we would like to welcome you soon and show you a reniewing and relaxing Westin Lagunamar Experience.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,627
    1,202
    301
    117
    77
See reviews for
2,272
2,036
87
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,790)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Everything went well at the resort, except when it came to the in-room wifi. We had wonderful service, including maintenance and repairs, check-in, and check-out. The resort had a shuttle to and from the airport. The drivers were friendly and helpful and we made good time both ways. The concierge answered any questions we had about activities in Cancun and helped us book reservations for whatever we needed, including an all-expense day trip to Chichen Itza and restaurant accommodations. As stated before, the wifi was the only trouble we had. We rarely were able to get on the internet in our room, but were able to use the business center to take care of our needs. It actually helped us refrain from being so attached to technology during our honeymoon!! We would recommend this resort to anyone looking to travel to Cancun. We loved our stay and will go back if we get the chance.

Room Tip: Seems like every room has a great view of the Caribbean Sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Guests,

It makes us so happy to receive these kind of comments, thank you so much for choosing Westin for your vacation and honeymoon. We would love to host you again soon.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

I will say the Westin Lagunamar is an excellent property !! Extremely friendly staff, incredible layout with perfect
pools, grounds etc. The beach is amazing with soft white coral sand. They offer everything you could imagine with basically no fees for extras. Rooms are clean with full small kitchenette. Standard amenities in the rooms, you would not really need much more.

We traveled with two small children (6 months and 3 yrs) and the resort is built and enjoyable for families. We spent our days by the luxurious main pools chatting with other families, sipping on tropical beverages and basking in the sun, all while watching our kids with smiles from ear to ear. The bar/restaurant at the pools (Veneto) is great. The staff is extremely friendly and accommodating. The swim up bar is a bit cold, as are most of the pools.

Having the La Isla mall directly across the street is a HUGE bonus !! Restaurants, shopping, etc is at your fingertips. A little further down the the street is a phenomenal restaurant called El Fish Fritanga. This place is amazing. Eat dinner with your toes in the sand, great drinks, atmosphere and the food is top notch !! HIGHLY recommended. You must try the tuna salad half avocados.

Well with all that said and being here for three days now the Westin Lagunamar gets a big thumbs up from my family. It's a high quality resort in the heart of the Cancun Hotel Zone that won't disappoint.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank TropicsTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest ,

We are delighted to have created memories for you here at our amazing resort. We look forward to creating more for you in the future. Thank you for you comments, we are very glad to know we were able to make your vacation exceptional...

Sincerely,

The Westin Lagunamar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We only stayed one night, as we had another hotel booked in Playa del Carmen, but our stay was fantastic - we wished we stayed here longer rather than the hotel in PDC. The personal concierge went out of his way to assist and was extremely helpful. The view from our room was great as was the food and drinks in the bar.

The location is right in the middle of Cancun and there is lots of shops on one side. On the other side in an amazing beach. Our room came with everything we could ask for, stove, washing machine, dryer, etc.

The only downside was that check-in took a while. However, we were 2 hours early and were given our room as soon as we checked-in. We would definately recommend ths hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
"Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Westin Lagunamar!! We are very glad to read that our facilities and services exceeded your expectations. Thank you for sharing your experience and we really look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Sincerely,"
Westin Lagunmar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendallville, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

My only issue with this resort, was check-in time. We arrived at 3pm, one hour before check-in, the room was not ready, which could be understood. 4pm our room was still not ready, by 5:30pm we were finally able to get into our room. No compensation was offered, that was very disappointing. It appeared to be a pattern every afternoon couples walking around for a couple of hours with their suitcases waiting for their rooms, this is unacceptable, first impressions make all the difference in the world.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karla c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review about our resort, it help us to make the Check in Experience a better one. Please feel free to contact us to: lagunamaroceanresort@westin.com for further attention.

Warm Regards

Westin Lagunamar Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This was our first trip to Cancun. We had an amazing trip. We had a small hiccup when checking in, we arrived early around 11am and was given a pager to let us know when our room was ready, so we had lunch at the outdoor cafe and used the beach bathrooms to get changed and do some swimming. Hours later around 5pm we still havent been paged. Our daughter 2yr old daughter was getting extremely tired and cranky (we had been up travelling since 4am). So we went to check on the status of our room only to be told that it had been ready hours earlier, Giving us a pager was completely pointless.
The room was absolutely beautiful and it had amazing views of the ocean everywhere. The beds are Heavenly beds which are always super comfortable. We had a 2bedroom lock-off so the place was very spacious. One half of the lockoff had a full size kitchen, dining area and lounge. Seperate master bedroom and a huge bathroom and dressing area. The other half of the lockoff had a kitchenette (mini stove/microwave/coffee maker/mini fridge), two queen beds and a large bathroom with Jacuzzi tub and separate walking shower. I was quite surprised that the bathrooms didnt have bathroom fans, not a good thing is anyone in your family is having a bout of Montezumas revenge. The water in the hotel is filtered, so you can consume it at your own risk but the hotel does sell water very cheaply as well. The kitchen is fully stocked with what you would need to cook, we have absolutely no complaints about our room. Wifi is available everywhere in the hotel but good luck being able to access it from your room, the best spot for us was the hotel pool area.
The hotel has many pools and hot tubs scattered around, it also has a waterslide, it was nice to be able to slide down with my son (which they dont seem to allow anywhere in the U.S) there is also a small round childrens pool. I was disappointed that the main pools were not zero entry and they dont provide life jackets for small children (you have to buy them from the store).
The beach was great, it november the waters a little choppy so we couldnt go in with the little ones, but it was quiet and comfortable, we had no problem getting chairs, and we could still order food and drinks down there.
All in all the vacation was fantastic, we look forward to going back in a couple of years, i expect as the children get a little older they'll love it even more.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea views, the higher the floor the better, for better Wifi connection ask to be clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for posting your detailed review, we read every piece of your comments and we welcome the comments that can make us improve our service.

We cannot wait for your next visit!

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

It is a very nice hotel, great for children. They have a beautiful pool and GREAT beach. The sand and the colors of the sea are not easy to beat.
The rooms have kitchenets, washer and drier and are very nicely decorated
They have free WiFi, but it does not work properly.
I found difficult to believe that if you ask for a bottle of water by the pool, it is imported. Ben harder to believe is that you cannot get fresh orange juice in any of the restaurants

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank reneemarbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2.1 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
1.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
1.9 mi away
Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#15 of 175 in Cancun
3,968 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun
0.2 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa

Property: The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
Address: Km 12.5 Blvd Kukulcan | Zona Hotelera, PO Box 834 Apdo., Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#10 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#12 Family Hotel in Cancun
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#22 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 592
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa is located on the white sandy beaches of Cancun, Mexico. Enjoy spacious one and two-bedroom villas that comfortably accommodates up to eight adults in as much as 1,140 square feet. Each villa features fully equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel Cancun
Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel
Cancun Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing