We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Westin Lagunamar Cancun - FIRST CLASS”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Ranked #11 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I am a SVO and stayed at this property for a week 10/14-10/21. This location was 5 star all the way. Each and every staff member was extremely professional, courtesy, greeting me my by name. Prompt service. Clean rooms. Clean resort. The bed was so comfortable. The beach is the whitest sand and the ocean one of the bluest I have seen. Crystal clean waters. The food at the restaurants was delicious. The lunches at the pool bar were so good with delicious wraps and sandwiches. The buffet breakfast was also so good with the best omlettes.
The location of the Westin is PRIME. Directly across the street you can walk to the most wonderful outdoor mall. The shops and restaurants in this mall are terrific. There are also many other good restaurants within walking distance. We felt totally safe at all times walking around. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoseIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Guest ,

We are delighted to have created memories for you here at our amazing resort. We look forward to creating more for you in the future. Thank you for you comments, we are very glad to know we were able to make your vacation exceptional...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,602)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,832 - 3,838 of 5,602 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

Excellent facility, location, dining, service, decor, maintenance. I will definitely be back. Beautiful infinity pools, We didn't have to swim in the ocean anymore. Staff are very service oriented. I highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: higher floor beachfront, just exquisite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doctipen17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Guest ,

It makes us so happy to receive these kind of comments, thank you for choosing Westin Lagunamar as your Caribbean Getaway. We would love to host you again in a near future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband and I visited the Westin Lagunamar the end of September. We are SVO owners and it was the first time we had been to the property. It was such an amazing place. The staff went over and above what we usually experience. My husband needed something from a pharmacy and the consierge told us he would go to pick it up himself if it could not be delivered. He arranged for it to be delivered right to the resort. We never waited for anything including check-in, checkout, money exchanging, at the restaurants. We felt the prices in the restaurants were fair as were those in the little store. Had a massage on the beach that was fantasic (ask for Gerado). The view from our room (all the rooms really) was spectacular. My husband used the fitness center and thought it was great. The resort is really well set out, just a quick walk to everything on property. Great shopping area directly across the street. The only downfall was that I got sick (not Montezuma's revenge) and had to return home earlier than planned. We will definitely return there to finish up our wonderful vacation.

Room Tip: We stayed in Building 5. Close to everything but especially the pool and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pechgram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review of our resort. We greatly appreciate your comments about our Team and will be sure to recognize them. We hope you have found a new "home away from home" and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This was my second time at the Lagunamar and it is just one of the best places I have seen in Cancun, and non-inclusive. The pool, work out center, business center and grocery were very good. The big pool was the best pool and the beach is very wide and very white, no rocks in the surf.

Room Tip: A studio is plenty big for 2 and has a full kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RickyD33647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

We appreciate your loyalty, thank very much for visiting us a second time! If you need help on your next travel arrangements to come to Westin Lagunamar please write to wlrgm@starwoodvo.com and we will be more than happy to personally assist you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Loved the Westin Lagunamar. The pool area and beaches are beautiful and the best I have ever seen. There is enough space that you don't feel like you are battling for space with all the other tourists. Restaurants at the hotel were great quality and there are plenty of other restaurants close by in the shopping complex opposite the resort. The proximity of the shopping complex was handy also. We had a room a pool and ocean view and it was gorgeous. Can't rate this place enough, will defintely be coming back. Loved Cancun and loved the Westin Lagunamar!

Room Tip: Recommend paying the little extra for an ocean view room, it was spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Van102012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Thank you for your love!!!!! We are very grateful for such a wonderful review. Please come back soon tu visit us, we want to be your new home away from home in Cancun.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed in a studio premium and this was our first use of our Starwood timeshare.

The resort is quite nice, the rooms extremely well appointed. Warm beige tile and counter tops against dark wood furnishings. The reception desk appeared woefully overstaffed as witnessed by repeated long wait times for all. They had 8 terminals and only 3 staff people despite it being a check-in/out day. The room was not ready until 4pm (which is the check-in time) and there was no room to move to another suite, so we waited in this sluggish moving line on three occasions to inquire, and it made our check-in experience (and hence my first experience at arriving at ownership property) initially discouraging.

The pools temperature is repeatedly referred to as cold, I found it suitable in January. The hot tubs were a bit tepid, however the sauna and steam room are set by the user, and were rarely used during our stay, so there are opportunities to be toasty. The bed in the room is Westin's wonderful bed, extremely comfortable for two. The studio has a whirlpool tub, that was great. The Air Conditioning worked wonderfully and separate shower stall supplied more than adequate H2O that was reasonably hot in fair time.

We had a car, did the Walmart trip (easy to find, more difficult to get home without a, um, 'detour'). We made breakfast in the room every day. We cooked steak and chicken on the gas grills on the property on two occasions, and there was no wait to use one of the six grills. We purchased the $15 Entertainment Cancun card online and it was delivered to the Westin. This card allows you to buy one meal and get one entree free. We used it at Hard Rock cafe, Planet Hollywood... You can find it through a google search if interested.

We ate at Italianiis in the Mall across the street. They had a promotion in which you received a salad (house or Ceasar), Choice of 5 pasta entrees, and and a fountain beverage for 99 pesos ($8), excluding tip. The pasta sauces were good the pasta slightly overcooked for my italian palate, nonetheless good and a great deal.

I think as a couple, it was an excellent place. You are in Cancun, which has some wonderful beaches, however you are surrounded by many Americans in a resort area that has limited 'Mexican' genuineness. Some may find this relaxing and appropriate, some may prefer the European and foreign bend of Playa del Carmen more enjoyable. As a fly and crash on the beach type of resort, it was marvelously outfitted and quite nice.

We did the owners update and were given a $100 resort credit. We used the resort concierge to book a day at the Garrafon ecopark and a Dolphin swim. After the $100 credit, we paid $160 for two people. This included the ferry to the island, Dolphin Swim (Royal Swim), and taxi transportation between Dolphin swim and Garrafon eco-park. Food and drinks were included for the day, so it was an enjoyable day and reasonable for two.

Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
3  Thank levatino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear guest,
We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you encountered at our property. We are currently working on speeding up the check in process to give you a better service. If you would like to contact our management please send us an email at lagunamaroceanresort@westin.com where we will be glad to address any comments or concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Just returned from our 2nd visit to the Westin Lagunamar and had the same excellent experience that we did last year at this time. This is one of the prettiest beaches that we've seen--the water is so clear and blue with nice sized waves on some days (was very still on a few days this year, but last year had a day or two of strong undercurrent, so be respectful of the ocean--it changes alot this time of year!) Located right on the beach with easy access to the sand as well as showers and foot washes available on your way off the beach and back to the pool. Also located right across from the Mall, with plenty of fancy shopping opportunities as well as restaurants and a great view of the bay at sunset.
The staff is incredible...they make you feel that you are so appreciated and truly a guest! Excellent service from check-in to check-out. Alicia was our concierge and treated us well. She is well informed and helped us decide on the right trips for us during our stay. We did the double-decker tour bus excursion to Chichan Itze and really enjoyed it! The Island of Mujeres trip with a golf cart rental was an adventure, to say the least!...guess we'll work out those kinks next time we visit since we now know what we are doing! Beautiful coastline on the island, tasty fish tacos at the Punta Sur Restaurant overlooking the Maya ruins. Just be cautious with your money, and knowing some Spanish helps ALOT!
The Westin facility is clean and well maintained. The workers are always doing SOMEthing to update and clean the facility. The pools are great--one is the endless pool type with a fantastic view of the ocean! Not too crowded at this time of year (October), especially in the newer area, where there were less people and heavy music. You can swim up to the bar for drinks and food--Happy Hour 2-for-1 from 4-5pm was always enjoyable, too! Free massages at poolside--they hope you book a full body massage, but no pressure to do so. We actually did this year and Geraldo was fantastic! Very professional-a relaxing massage with access to the sauna and steam rooms, as well as lockers & showers!
We had a great 2 bedroom unit with all the amenities and stocked up on our own food, beer, and rum for the week. We could relax at the poolside with our own drinks and food. The breakfast (really a BRUNCH) at the Oceana, which is located next to the lobby, is INCREDIBLE! Everything you can think of with unlimited mimosa refills--omelet bar, hot mexican meats and dishes as well as the usual breakfast fair of pancakes, cereal, etc. There is also the high energy offerings of dates, dried fruits, granola, cheese, meats, fruit....too much to list here! And then there's a dessert bar too...excellent custard flan...yum!
All in all, a great vacation!

Room Tip: The newer area (1100-1400) has a quieter pool area close by, but the noise from the air conditioning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CullowheeNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Guest Thank you so much for all of that wonderful feedback. We listen to every piece of feedback our guests provide us. Our highest mission is to provide the exact service and facilities that our guests want, deserve, and expect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.2 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
2.1 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
1.7 mi away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#14 of 177 in Cancun
4,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
#3 of 177 in Cancun
5,069 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan Km 12.5 Lt 18 Zona Hotelera | Zona Hotelera, PO Box 834 Apdo., Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cancun
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#11 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#22 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $271 - $552 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun 4*
Number of rooms: 592
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun is located directly on a white sandy beach. Our resort in Cancun, Mexico offers spacious one and two-bedroom villas that comfortably accommodate up to eight adults in as much as 1,140 square feet. Each villa features fully equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi, in a perfect setting in the Hotel Zone on Mexico's Costa del Sol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel Cancun
Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel
Cancun Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing