We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, pool and beaches are fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
Ranked #11 of 180 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel, pool and beaches are fantastic!”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Loved the Westin Lagunamar. The pool area and beaches are beautiful and the best I have ever seen. There is enough space that you don't feel like you are battling for space with all the other tourists. Restaurants at the hotel were great quality and there are plenty of other restaurants close by in the shopping complex opposite the resort. The proximity of the shopping complex was handy also. We had a room a pool and ocean view and it was gorgeous. Can't rate this place enough, will defintely be coming back. Loved Cancun and loved the Westin Lagunamar!

Room Tip: Recommend paying the little extra for an ocean view room, it was spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Van102012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for your love!!!!! We are very grateful for such a wonderful review. Please come back soon tu visit us, we want to be your new home away from home in Cancun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,493
    1,169
    296
    114
    73
See reviews for
2,165
1,989
86
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,749)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed in a studio premium and this was our first use of our Starwood timeshare.

The resort is quite nice, the rooms extremely well appointed. Warm beige tile and counter tops against dark wood furnishings. The reception desk appeared woefully overstaffed as witnessed by repeated long wait times for all. They had 8 terminals and only 3 staff people despite it being a check-in/out day. The room was not ready until 4pm (which is the check-in time) and there was no room to move to another suite, so we waited in this sluggish moving line on three occasions to inquire, and it made our check-in experience (and hence my first experience at arriving at ownership property) initially discouraging.

The pools temperature is repeatedly referred to as cold, I found it suitable in January. The hot tubs were a bit tepid, however the sauna and steam room are set by the user, and were rarely used during our stay, so there are opportunities to be toasty. The bed in the room is Westin's wonderful bed, extremely comfortable for two. The studio has a whirlpool tub, that was great. The Air Conditioning worked wonderfully and separate shower stall supplied more than adequate H2O that was reasonably hot in fair time.

We had a car, did the Walmart trip (easy to find, more difficult to get home without a, um, 'detour'). We made breakfast in the room every day. We cooked steak and chicken on the gas grills on the property on two occasions, and there was no wait to use one of the six grills. We purchased the $15 Entertainment Cancun card online and it was delivered to the Westin. This card allows you to buy one meal and get one entree free. We used it at Hard Rock cafe, Planet Hollywood... You can find it through a google search if interested.

We ate at Italianiis in the Mall across the street. They had a promotion in which you received a salad (house or Ceasar), Choice of 5 pasta entrees, and and a fountain beverage for 99 pesos ($8), excluding tip. The pasta sauces were good the pasta slightly overcooked for my italian palate, nonetheless good and a great deal.

I think as a couple, it was an excellent place. You are in Cancun, which has some wonderful beaches, however you are surrounded by many Americans in a resort area that has limited 'Mexican' genuineness. Some may find this relaxing and appropriate, some may prefer the European and foreign bend of Playa del Carmen more enjoyable. As a fly and crash on the beach type of resort, it was marvelously outfitted and quite nice.

We did the owners update and were given a $100 resort credit. We used the resort concierge to book a day at the Garrafon ecopark and a Dolphin swim. After the $100 credit, we paid $160 for two people. This included the ferry to the island, Dolphin Swim (Royal Swim), and taxi transportation between Dolphin swim and Garrafon eco-park. Food and drinks were included for the day, so it was an enjoyable day and reasonable for two.

Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank levatino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear guest,
We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you encountered at our property. We are currently working on speeding up the check in process to give you a better service. If you would like to contact our management please send us an email at lagunamaroceanresort@westin.com where we will be glad to address any comments or concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullowhee
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Just returned from our 2nd visit to the Westin Lagunamar and had the same excellent experience that we did last year at this time. This is one of the prettiest beaches that we've seen--the water is so clear and blue with nice sized waves on some days (was very still on a few days this year, but last year had a day or two of strong undercurrent, so be respectful of the ocean--it changes alot this time of year!) Located right on the beach with easy access to the sand as well as showers and foot washes available on your way off the beach and back to the pool. Also located right across from the Mall, with plenty of fancy shopping opportunities as well as restaurants and a great view of the bay at sunset.
The staff is incredible...they make you feel that you are so appreciated and truly a guest! Excellent service from check-in to check-out. Alicia was our concierge and treated us well. She is well informed and helped us decide on the right trips for us during our stay. We did the double-decker tour bus excursion to Chichan Itze and really enjoyed it! The Island of Mujeres trip with a golf cart rental was an adventure, to say the least!...guess we'll work out those kinks next time we visit since we now know what we are doing! Beautiful coastline on the island, tasty fish tacos at the Punta Sur Restaurant overlooking the Maya ruins. Just be cautious with your money, and knowing some Spanish helps ALOT!
The Westin facility is clean and well maintained. The workers are always doing SOMEthing to update and clean the facility. The pools are great--one is the endless pool type with a fantastic view of the ocean! Not too crowded at this time of year (October), especially in the newer area, where there were less people and heavy music. You can swim up to the bar for drinks and food--Happy Hour 2-for-1 from 4-5pm was always enjoyable, too! Free massages at poolside--they hope you book a full body massage, but no pressure to do so. We actually did this year and Geraldo was fantastic! Very professional-a relaxing massage with access to the sauna and steam rooms, as well as lockers & showers!
We had a great 2 bedroom unit with all the amenities and stocked up on our own food, beer, and rum for the week. We could relax at the poolside with our own drinks and food. The breakfast (really a BRUNCH) at the Oceana, which is located next to the lobby, is INCREDIBLE! Everything you can think of with unlimited mimosa refills--omelet bar, hot mexican meats and dishes as well as the usual breakfast fair of pancakes, cereal, etc. There is also the high energy offerings of dates, dried fruits, granola, cheese, meats, fruit....too much to list here! And then there's a dessert bar too...excellent custard flan...yum!
All in all, a great vacation!

Room Tip: The newer area (1100-1400) has a quieter pool area close by, but the noise from the air conditioning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CullowheeNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest Thank you so much for all of that wonderful feedback. We listen to every piece of feedback our guests provide us. Our highest mission is to provide the exact service and facilities that our guests want, deserve, and expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The Westin Lagunamar is beautiful! The beach is great and the sea is really nice. Even though the hotel is large, the service is excellent and everything is available. There are lots of great restaurants -- onsite and nearby. Cancun is a great vacation spot and the Westin is highly recommended! The spa will be complete next year, but now they have huts on the beach. The massages are excellent.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for your comments!!!

We would like to inform you that we will share your comments with the team and followed up internally.We look forward to welcoming you back soon to the Westin Lagunamar in a near future.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Several weeks ago my husband and I went to Cancun and stayed at the Westin. We went with our nephew and his girlfriend. We contacted the Westin by phone prior to our stay to inquire about the resort and also arrange travel from the airport. I spoke with Luigi, who was so friendly and helpful. He said he would send me an email with the travel information and he would be our personal concierge when we arrive. I was very impressed! After we landed and went through the checkpoints, our van from One Travel Agency was waiting for us. When we arrived at the hotel, I was in awe of the spectacular view of the pool and beach. It was truly breathtaking! Upon our entrance the team called us by our family name! I was so impressed and their timing was perfect! Check-in was smooth and they were accommodating with our request. The pool is to die for! Probably the best feature of the hotel. They have another pool on the other side of the hotel which is quite. The service was great at the pool and restaurants. My nephew brought his ipad and said it was best used on the balcony. They also have a business center where you can use their pc’s. There is a fee for printing documents. They had a convenience store in the hotel for food, snacks, coffee, etc. You are directly across the street from a La Isla mall which has convenience stores also. If you plan on going to Costco or Wal-Mart and you are not renting a car, I would recommend you go straight to those stores right after the airport. They are far from the hotel and depending on what you might be purchasing it might not be worth the cost of a taxi. I felt this area to be more family orientated but then again it was late August. If you are looking for the night life scene I would go more north. Around 3am there was water dripping in the bathroom. I called the front desk and they showed up in two minutes! Too fast for me as I had to throw on a robe (which is provided by the hotel). It seems the people were partying too much and had forgotten they turned the water on in the bathtub. They men quickly addressed the problem so we can go back to sleep but we would need to change rooms in the morning. In the morning we decided the patch work they did was fine and asked them if we could stay in the room and for them to address the issue after our stay. They agreed but let us know they would accommodate us if we chose. The service was great, the rooms were great, and the weather was perfect! The mall being directly across the street was also a great convenience. Did I mention Starbucks was in the mall!! Also, any concerns about the safety in Mexico will go away. This is a tourist area…their bread and butter. The residents and shop workers were friendly and welcoming. I would choose the Westin Lagunamar again and I highly recommend this hotel. You will not want to go home!

Room Tip: If you stay close to the lobby your wifi will be stronger but you are further away from an ocean vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfanelli0208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest ,

It makes us so happy to receive these kind of comments, thank you for choosing Westin Lagunamar as your Caribbean Getaway. We would love to host you again in a near future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Totally unplanned... What a surprise!
We were in Tulum and had terrible experience with the bugs & stinky water. So he was very sweet to book us a nice suite for our last night in Mexico.
The room is great - hot tub, kitchen, washer & dryer and balcony with full ocean view! The resort is well maintained with great facilities - BBQ area where people cook, waterslide, beach facing pools, and really nice fire pits by the outdoor restaurant.
1 night was not enough... Definitely love to return in the future!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitty T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
DearGuest,

Thank you for your kind review of our resort. We greatly appreciate your comments. We hope you have found a new "home away from home" and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Visited Lagunamar for a week with 2 kids aged 8 and 12. Location is excellent with a great pool area, including swim up bar and waterslide. The infinity pool overlooks the amazing beach and the view is unbeatable. Resort was very quiet in mid October - easy to get poolside chairs. We had a very nice 2 bedroom villa with 2 whirpool tubs and nice beds. Mall across the street is very nice with several restaurants and a theater - lots of police at mall. Drinks are expensive ($10 each) but same as the rest of the area. Only reason we rated a 4 and not a 5 were that the internet (wi-fi and hardwired) were very unreliable, and in the early morning the showers were cold. Seemed to be fine later in the morning onward. Resort is a timeshare with housekeeping once a week. We were only asked once if we wanted to attend a timeshare pitch.

Room Tip: Our room was 6th floor facing the beach and the view was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdelePlus3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you very much for your honest feedback!we greatly appreciate your comments as it is very helpful in our efforts to continously strive for service excellence.. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Cancun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2.1 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
1.6 mi away
JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 180 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,703 reviews
0.2 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
#7 of 180 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa

Property: The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
Address: Km 12.5 Blvd Kukulcan | Zona Hotelera, PO Box 834 Apdo., Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#11 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#12 Family Hotel in Cancun
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#23 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 592
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa is located on the white sandy beaches of Cancun, Mexico. Enjoy spacious one and two-bedroom villas that comfortably accommodates up to eight adults in as much as 1,140 square feet. Each villa features fully equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Vacatia, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel Cancun
Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel
Cancun Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing