We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxation with some fun thrown in!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
Ranked #9 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Mooresville, Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Relaxation with some fun thrown in!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We have stayed at many timeshare resorts but this felt more like a hotel than a timeshare. At no time did we feel pressured to listen to the presentation. Definetly stop by the concierge & get your discount card for the restaurants. We usually skip this step because we don't want to be pressured into the presentation but they didn't do that at all. The staff was very friendly everywhere we went. Robert at Viento was friendly & offered us suggesions of what to drink. Rebeca at Duna Sports Bar was always cheerful & friendly. The staff at the breakfast buffet remembered our names on day 2. The pools were very clean but unfortunately one o the infinity pools didn't work all week, they were working on it every night though. The putt-putt course was fun & free for owners/exchange. The location was great with the mall across the street with a variety of restaurants there. We took the bus to Bubba Gump one evening but walked back after we realized how close it actually was. The restaurants at the resort were good, however food & drinks were overpriced. The best value was at Duna. We took advantage of the "2 for 1" happy hours at both Viento & Duna. The beach was beautiful & we walked quite a ways in both directions. We felt safe at all times at the resort, on the beach & our trips to the mall. Robert at Viento was very friendly and offered us suggestions on drinks. Rebeca at Duna was cheerful & treated us great. The breakfast buffet staff rememberd our names on day 2. All of the staff were phenomenal and pleasant, smiling & speaking to us everywhere we went. Even the construction workers would smile & say hola. We requested a room up high and we were on the 6th floor (our of 7). We were in one of the connectors between 2 buildings and had a beautiful view of the lagoon & the beach & ocean. The rooms are clean and spacious. We had a studio & I enjoyed the fridge, stove & washer & dryer (didn't bring home any dirty clothes). The "Heavenly Bed" isn't as comfortable as we're used to & we only had a queen. All in all, we had a great week & would go back again next week if we could!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anggar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear guest We would like to thank you for choosing Westin Lagunamar and for your very nice comments !! We are very glad to know you experienced a fantastic time with us. Please come back soon as we would love to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,395
    1,147
    286
    114
    71
See reviews for
2,098
1,940
85
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,714)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed for two nights, at first I thought the room was ugly but maybe I was affected by the fact that I came from the Fairmont in Mayakoba which is a completely different range of hotel. The room is ample, all have a small balcony looking at the ocean (it doesn't get better than Cancun's colors) a kitchenette and washing and drying machines. The bathroom has all amenities. Sheets and towels are clean but I think they could have done a more thorough job cleaning the kitchen and the furniture.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexaNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear guest We would like to thank you for choosing Westin Lagunamar and for your very nice comments !! We are very glad to know you experienced a fantastic time with us. Please come back soon as we would love to host you again. Sincerely,The Westin Lagunamar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweetwater, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

it was great stay staff was very good,pool was great , and location was excellent ,bus stop is just outside of resort and u can get bus ride anywhere in just (8:50 pesos) and specially we had a 18 moth baby with us so it was very clean and nice room. and ocean view room was great....i just love it ...............

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Avnikshatriya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our resort. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We enjoy creating life-long memories for our guests, and we hope to welcome you back very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Arrived earlier than 4:00pm check in time. Staff was able to find a room and allowed us to check in early. Room was large, comfortable and spotless. This is a ownership resort and it is understood the cleaning staff will clean your room once during your stay unless you request otherwise. The pools were spectacular. The restaurants were great. The entire staff were overly courteous and friendly. The location was perfect. I love this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cpd146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the positive review of our resort. We are very happy to know you
enjoyed your time at the Westin Lagunamar and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Cancun!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
177 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

A beautiful place and clean, close to shopping centers(La Isla & Kukulkan Blvd)), only a bus ride(8.50 pesos) to Cancun downtown for great prices groceries, close to after dark nightlife activities, safe, and excellent rooms ocean view all around...If there is a weakness point about this place, it will easily be overcome by the courteous and friendly staff in serving you...

Room Tip: Any center rooms on the top floors overlooking both swimmimg pools are excellent ocean view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anaklakay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest ,
It makes us so happy to receive these kind of comments , thank you for choosing Westin Lagunamar as your Caribbean Getaway. We would love to host you again in a near future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTHRIDGE, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

First we got there and our room wasn't ready. Check in is at 3pm we arrived at 3:45pm. They said it would only be 20 minutes, it ended up being an hour. They only come and clean your room once in a whole week you stay there. When they go in to clean they do a very poor job. There was still sand on the floors, they don't change your sheets or towels. If you order room service you have to call them twice to come pick it up. The staff does not acknowledges you. The place it self is nice and clean. They need to work on their service. They do have great and friendly concierge. That lady who helped us was Alicia. She's friendly and took very good care of us. If and when I return to Cancun will definitely not be staying here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ELY F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you very much for your honest feedback!we greatly appreciate your comments as it is very helpful in our efforts to continously strive for service excellence. We would welcome the opportunity to show very soon all the new enhancements of the property. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Cancun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deer Park, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

As Starwood owners (Harborside at Atlantis), we felt a keener sense of "ownership" at Lagunamar. We were made to feel "special" from the moment we walked into the lobby. We have been to many "timeshare" resorts, but this was to date the best experience we have had. The staff was attentive, responsive, and downright pleasant! The property is beautiful, spotlessly clean, and offers captivating views of the turquoise waters. The location is excellent, with easy access to an abundance of shopping and dining venues. Forget the taxis and take the bus wherever you want to go. They are safe, frequent, and cheap (less than $3.00 roundtrip for two)! Viva Lagunamar!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdjbdeerpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Westin Lagunamar!! We are very glad to read that our facilities and services exceeded your expectations. Thank you for sharing your experience and we really look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2.1 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
1.7 mi away
JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 181 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort
0.2 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
#6 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa

Property: The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
Address: Km 12.5 Blvd Kukulcan | Zona Hotelera, PO Box 834 Apdo., Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#9 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#12 Family Hotel in Cancun
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#23 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 592
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa is located on the white sandy beaches of Cancun, Mexico. Enjoy spacious one and two-bedroom villas that comfortably accommodates up to eight adults in as much as 1,140 square feet. Each villa features fully equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Vacatia, Agoda, Jetsetter and Reservation Counter so you can book your The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel Cancun
Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel
Cancun Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing