We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing rooms and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Ranked #9 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We were at the Lagunamar last November when the original building was undergoing significant renovations and the new building next door was a hard hat zone. I would rate the hotel 5 stars if there was no construction.

My wife and I are experienced travelers, with 7 trips to Mexico and more than 15 trips to the Caribbean. We had read many TripAdvisor reviews about the hotel before we went, and the one bedroom suite was even larger than we expected. The room was immaculate, and the large kitchen area was handy for making coffee, drinks, etc. The kitchen was fully equipped if you chose to make your own meals, but we preferred to check out the local dining options. Every room in this hotel has a magnificent ocean view. The pool is also large, with an infinity edge. There are two large hot tubs on either side of the pool, where people tended to congregate as the sun was setting. There were plenty of lounge chairs around the pool and beach, and it was easy to find either sun or shade as you preferred.

We found a number of very good places to eat within a short walk of the hotel, and the bus into town stopped directly in front. Our concierge was very helpful in suggesting local restaurants and giving us discount coupons. The only food we ordered from the hotel was guacamole and chips by the pool. The guacamole was so good my wife insisted on ordering this every day. I found the pool service to be prompt, except during happy hour when it could be very slow. Most of the drinks from the bar were way too sweet for our taste.

The Lagunamar is an excellent option for those who want to stay in the hotel zone and don't want an all-inclusive resort.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chrispysmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your recent stay and feedback. We are very glad to know we were able to make you and your familiy's vacation exceptional. Please come back soon to visit us and we will a pleasure to make your vacation another great memory to remember. Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,395)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,785 - 3,791 of 5,396 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2012

Normally we stay in Playa Mujeres area owned by the Excellence Group properties, but this year we opted for a change of scenery and chose this location.
The resort itself very modern, well laid out and had plenty of room for all guests. The pools very huge with plenty of beach chairs for all guests. The BBQ areas ( 4 ) were a big plus. Their Wi-Fi was by far I have experience in any resort I have visited throughout Cancun. Staff very friendly and accommodating regarding any requests we made. Plenty of parking. And lastly, we were allowed a late checkout due to our departure that evening with no problems what so ever. If considering to stay in the Hotel Zone again I would stay at this property and also would recommend to friends and family.

Room Tip: Buildings 8,9, and 10
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Worldwide6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.
On behalf of the entire staff, thank you for choosing Westin Lagunamar once again for visiting to Cancun.
We are really pleased to see that you had a great time with us and that you enjoyed our services and facilities; we can assure you, your comments will be shared with all the team.

Once again, we thank you for sharing your experience and we cannot wait to welcome you back very soon!!

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

I was expecting at least a "4-Star" hotel.Not happy with this hotel. It took our waiter 1hour to bring us drinks at the pool. We never ordered drinks again from pool.Housekeeping kept taking our dirty towels and robes and never replaced them. I had to ask for them to be replaced and then I had to keep asking for clean towels. Our bedding was taken from the pull out sofa and never replaced either. I had to keep asking for linens. The entire hotel only has two restaurants and one small sports bar (that opened our 2nd day there),So, if you are looking for a hotel that you do not have to leave the premises this is not it. We had to go out to the Isla for dinner. We did dine at the Oceano one night but too pricey. I had a massage at the beach cabins but it was so loud out in the pool area that I could not relax or enjoy it. I feel that we had to make the best of it while we were there but we will definitely not be staying here again nor would we recommend this hotel to our friends.
*Our stay was from July 5-13,2012.
***The Westin Laguna Mar would not post this review but I felt my experience needed to be told.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vic m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. The service you received is certainly not indicative of what we want to provide to each of our valuable guests. We would be delighted to welcome you back so you may experience our true and renewing Westin service. Please contact the Executive Office directly (lagunamaroceanresort@westin.com) for future reservation requests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We just came back from a week at this resort in a two bedroom villa on the 5th floor. We were expecting the funky blue, white and pink painted buildings that we had seen on their website. Fortunately, they were finishing up the last touch ups of a complete color change of the resort. It is now two tones of a sand color. Much nicer. The resort is very nice with courteous and professional staff. The room was large and had a great view of the pools and ocean. The weather was very hot and humid. It rained almost everyday for about 10 - 20 minutes in the afternoons. The food and drinks at the resort were just OK at best. My kids took advantage of the kids club to get out of the heat around noon to play foosball, airhockey, and ping pong in the a/c. I took advantage of the spa services. Gerardo was very professional and released the stress knots from my neck. The beach was amazing and safe if you listen to the many lifeguards. Baby turtles were taken from their nest in the sand and released to the ocean by the kids with help from Westin staff. We visited Chichen Itza, Ik Kil Cenote, Xel Ha, and Xplor. My kids are 9 and 11 and we could not decide which place we liked the best. Everything was amazing and different. We rented a car and drove instead of taking the tour buses. I had done my research here on Trip advisor. I had heard of the horror stories of the tour buses. We arrived at the attractions at least 2 hours before the buses / crowds. We arrived at Chichen Itza after a 2 hour drive around 9:30 am. We hired a very knowledgeable tour guide for $50 that escorted my family and I around. I thought it was a bit pricey at first, but realized it was worth it at the end. There might of been about 100 people at this huge site when we got there. The guide was able to show us the amazing acoustics and close ups of the artwork. As we were leaving, around 11:30 am, the many tour groups were arriving. I felt so bad for them because they were being herded around like cattle in the heat in an almost speed walk pace. Only the people in front could even hear what was going on or ask questions. When we left, it seemed like their was about 1000 people inside and about another 1000 stuck in a huge line waiting in the oppressive heat to get in. By noon we were swimming in the incredible Cenote Ik Kil. The area has many attractions to keep anyone busy. This was a great vacation in a safe family friendly resort area.

Room Tip: The higher the room the better the view.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lbwavejumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the positive review of our resort. We are very happy to know you
enjoyed your time at the Westin Lagunamar and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Cancun!
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We LOVED so many things about this Starwood property- the location is right across from the mall which had some unique restaurants and high end shops like Gucci and Prada. The bus also picks you up right outside the main gates, which is convenient, and will take you to anywhere you need to go for dinner or shopping. The Infinity pool is huge and wonderful- though is a little chilly in the morning as it is not heated. Highly recommend getting a massage at the cabana on the beach- for about $70 USD it was an incredibly relaxing hour. The food and drinks at the pool bar is average, and rather expensive, but got the job done. We actually preferred to use the sundries on the property and purchase our own cheese, crackers, beverages etc. My husband and I spent most of our afternoons on the beach or at the pool, and really only left in the evenings to dine out. Only complaint was that there was some construction while we were there, but its a necessary evil with all well kept properties- Thankfully, they isolated the areas and it didn't detract much from the overall esthetic. Our room was wonderful- a kitchenette and washer and dryer in the unit made it feel like we had the comforts of home, but with a view of the ocean and daily maid service. We would definitely return to the Westin Laguna Mar !

Room Tip: We are Starwood gold members, which they dont really recognize at this property as it is a resort, b...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Dear guest We would like to thank you for choosing Westin Lagunamar and for your very nice comments !! We are very glad to know you experienced a fantastic time with us. Please come back soon as we would love to host you again. Sincerely,The Westin Lagunamar Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We loved the resort!!! Being the 1st time in Cancun, the resort definitely contributed to make the experience for the whole family unforgettable. The pools were awesome and always clean. The service was amazing, from Omar at the front desk, Pedro at the Concierge, and all the restaurant and service staff.

This is definitely a location we would like to return to and, hopefully, for a longer period of time.

Room Tip: Higher floors give a better view of the beach/ocean.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jorge R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

ear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.
On behalf of the entire staff, thank you for choosing Westin Lagunamar once again for visiting to Cancun.
We are really pleased to see that you had a great time with us and that you enjoyed our services and facilities; we can assure you, your comments will be shared with all the team.

Once again, we thank you for sharing your experience and we cannot wait to welcome you back very soon!!

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

This resort was fantastic with a sunrise view on the beach! The concierge(s) were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The grounds were very well maintained, pools were great and the beaches were picturesque with mini tiki huts or beach umbrellas, all monitored by lifeguards. They fell short on the room service with some request we made (like coffee and towels) that went unanswered after multiple calls. The "Oceans restaurant" main dining was WAY overpriced. My family of four paid $135.00 U.S. (food only) U.S. for all you can eat quesadillas buffet? $12.00 per margarita. The poolside bar food was better and reasonably priced, go figure. There is a GREAT mall right across the street with fun restaurants and shopping.

Room Tip: eat at the poolside bar for lunch then dinner somewhere away from the resort
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Larry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. The service you received is certainly not indicative of what we want to provide to each of our valuable guests. We would be delighted to welcome you back so you may experience our true and renewing Westin service. Please contact the Executive Office directly (lagunamaroceanresort@westin.com) for future reservation requests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2.1 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
1.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
1.9 mi away
Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#14 of 176 in Cancun
4,001 reviews
0.2 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
1.3 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 176 in Cancun
5,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan Km 12.5 Lt 18 Zona Hotelera | Zona Hotelera, PO Box 834 Apdo., Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#12 Family Hotel in Cancun
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#22 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $172 - $477 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun 4*
Number of rooms: 592
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun is located directly on a white sandy beach. Our resort in Cancun, Mexico offers spacious one and two-bedroom villas that comfortably accommodate up to eight adults in as much as 1,140 square feet. Each villa features fully equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi, in a perfect setting in the Hotel Zone on Mexico's Costa del Sol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel Cancun
Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel
Cancun Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing