We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Ranked #9 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We just finished a 7 day trip to Cancun and can say the Westin Lagunamar is an outstanding resort.

We stayed in studio which had everything we wanted...queen size bed, balcony with ocean view, washer and dryer, kitchen with dishes & pots and pans.

The main pool is the best we've ever seen! You can swim up to the infinity edge and just enjoy the view of the beach.

Wi-Fi was horrible and could not log on using our ipad. Fortunately for us, we brought our laptop and the wired internet access was great and had no problems. BTW, wired internet access is free.

Plaza Ia Isla mall is right across the street and a public bus stop is located right out front.

Some trip advise:

Use the public bus system. It's cheap, constantly runs 24/7, and it's safe.

Make a trip to Walmart to buy supplies.

Bring enough money with you to keep from using the ATM's. The resort ATM cost us $16.00 U.S. to withdraw $100.00 U.S. The resort will exchange up to $200.00 U.S. daily with no fees.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rich594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

Dear Guest,

We really appreciate you have taken the time to write such a fantastic review from our property.
There is nothing that makes us happier than a guest that leaves feeling glad and renewed. Please come back soon to visit us here at your second home in Mexico.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,877 - 3,883 of 5,410 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed in building 4 which was close to the main entrance and just above the parking lot. We had a two bedroom, so that family could join. The staff, amenities and rooms were great. The Internet connection which I needed for my working vacation was free (actually it cost 1 cent to connect for the week) there was both wired and wireless available in the rooms. The wireless worked well also on the beach where a lot of time was spent under the palapa ( these are provided free on a first come first serve basis). The water was blue and mildly warm but the surf could beat you up so I enjoyed watching others fight it. The restaurants provide a variety of fare and each had special nights through the week. It is right across the street from a huge mall if you need to venture out and a mega liquor store is within walking distance.

As a sidebar we usually would go to Hawaii but from now on it is Cancun as the flight is about half of the length. Another point for us was that we went off season, after spring break and before the summer, there weather is the same but no crowds which would not be fun there. Be also prepared for heat and humidity. Credit cards work almost everywhere as well as cash both USD and pesos

They also carry the major television network shows and the news comes from Miami

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean views, but the higher the room above the 2nd floor lets you see past the palm t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Psmurf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Thank you for relaxing and enjoying life with us! We are very glad to recieve your comments.
Thank you for chosing Westin Lagunamar as your second home in Mexico.

Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

There is nothing worse than hotel envy which is why I trawled trip advisor for months before booking this hotel. On google maps everything looks so close but the hotel Zone is absolutely massive so when picking your hotel do not disregard location.

Loved:
Feeling safe
One of the most amazing beaches I've ever seen - powdery white sand and water that you can't stop looking at.
Para sailing and jet skiing from the beach in front of the hotel.
La Isla Mall is directly across the road - a good mix of retail and department store outlets.
Patrolled beach
Mayan ruins directly next to the hotel on the beach
Amazing pool with waterside
Straw thatched beach umbrellas with bar service
Washer Dryer - full apartment facilities
Westin Heavenly beds
Not in the party area so could relax a little but still get to there if needed (the northern point of cancun hotel zone)
Escorted trips to a different nightclub for $50 (vip entry drinks and transport)
Super cheap coronas!
Great buffet breakfast
Stuffed Jalapeño's at the pool restaurant

Didn't like:
Timeshare push, only happened once.
Builders working at La Isla at 3am!!
Having to quietly get suitcases across pebblecrete surfaces at 5am

Other:
I highly suggest you take your own sunscreen and a lot of it, its so overpriced you'll cringe having to hand over your money for something a quarter of the price back home.

Room Tip: All rooms have great views the first 2 floors may have obstructed water views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SydneyShane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Thank you for your great review! We appreciate you taking the time to post this on our TripAdvisor page. We would love to have you back in our propert soon.

Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

My fiance and I stayed at the Westin Lagunamar for 12 days. It was the best vacation we have had so far in Cancun. The fact that our studio was so close to the beach was even better. The view from our third floor room was also outstanding. The kitchen and washer were by far the best things that came in handy on our trip. I cooked almost every morning which allowed us to have breakfast on our balcony with the view of the beutiful beach grounds. I agree with the reviews that the internet is not great, but I guess if you are really there to enjoy the nature of Cancun and what it really has to offer you don't really need the internet. The Jaguzzi is open 24/7 and is great to go in at night and look up at the stars or take a nice walk on the beach. We didn't get a chance to do everything they have available but you should definitely ask for their weekly schedule of activities because it looks like they have a lot of activities for kids and families. I thought this place was a bit over rated before i stayed here, but it is definitely a contender for our honeymoon in the near future. Another plus, is that they are located accross from La Isla Mall if you want to shop at these expensive stores, or you can take a bus to downtown and try and go shopping there. And if you are looking for reasonably priced Mexan food, you can take a bus toward the Flamingo Plaza and visit Tacun Restaurant and try some great authentic mexican food. (It is right across the street from the OXXO convenience store)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cw011604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Dear Guest ,
It makes us so happy to receive these kind of comments, thank you for choosing Westin Lagunamar as your Caribbean Getaway. We would love to host you again in a near future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

The room itself was great, but the Internet access was simply horrible. Please, please improve the internet speed and we will return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AKA_lana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Dear Guest,

We are currently working on updating our internet conection.This HSIA is currently being planned and installed on our property. We apologize for any inconvenience this might have caused you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We just got home from a week at The Westin Lagunamar resort - May 26-June 2nd 2012.
This was our 3rd year spending our vacation here. We are a Elite owner, we were very disappointed having to wait 2 1/2 hrs past the 4:00PM check in time to get our rooms.
My sister-in law and her boyfriend (also owners) stayed with us, their 1st trip to Cancun.
The wireless internet was spotty and did not work all the time inside our rooms.

The rooms were very nice, the outside grounds,pool and beach area were groomed very nice
and spotless.

Our concierge Lucio Aleman told us about $30.00 Superama/Taxi trip for our groceries-
The taxi driver drops you off and waits one hour for you to do your shopping.
Lucio also made our nightly dinner reservations for us and provided us with a card for
a free drink or snack from the restaurants.
Lucio was very helpful to all our needs.
We spent the days at the pool and beach, there were volley balls games everyday
as well as other activities.
On our last day we won a bottle of Tequila as part of the Blue Team in the name the tv show game.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James5757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review of our resort. We greatly appreciate your comments . We hope you have found a new "home away from home" and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Stayed 6 days at the Westin Lagunamar in May 2012. Resort is amazing! All rooms faced the water and the property is smartly designed. The abundance of pools and amenities makes it possible to never leave the resort. Wonderful beachfront, beautiful property, clean all over (even the elevators including the walls were cleaned ever day!), very helpful staff. Much to my surprise, food at the resort restaurants was reasonably priced. A grocery store is onsite and while visitors can cross the street to buy items at the mall, the price difference was not huge. I absolutely LOVED this resort and will go back!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlotteTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Dear Guest ,
It makes us so happy to receive these kind of comments, thank you for choosing Westin Lagunamar as your Caribbean Getaway. We would love to host you again in a near future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2.1 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
1.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
1.7 mi away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#14 of 177 in Cancun
4,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
1.9 mi away
Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort
1.3 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 177 in Cancun
5,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan Km 12.5 Lt 18 Zona Hotelera | Zona Hotelera, PO Box 834 Apdo., Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#9 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#12 Family Hotel in Cancun
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#22 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $199 - $516 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun 4*
Number of rooms: 592
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun is located directly on a white sandy beach. Our resort in Cancun, Mexico offers spacious one and two-bedroom villas that comfortably accommodate up to eight adults in as much as 1,140 square feet. Each villa features fully equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi, in a perfect setting in the Hotel Zone on Mexico's Costa del Sol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel Cancun
Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel
Cancun Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing