We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort, great location.........”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
Ranked #9 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
GreenLeadersGold level
Sudbury, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great resort, great location.........”
Reviewed December 11, 2011

We stayed at the Westin Lagunamar the first week of December of this year (2011).

Check in was a breeze but they stay to the 4:00 check in to a tee. We were there approx. 2:30 and had to wait for the room, although it did not seem like the resort was full. We booked a studio room and was happy with the layout. When we booked it, we knew that there was construction going on at the hotel and we ended up overlooking the newly being constrcuted phase, and although we did have a good oceon view it was a bit annoying to wake up to the workers outside. It was queit in the room and never heard them work it was juts having breakfast on the balcony that was affected. Here is a pet peeve of mine, hotels are rarely 100% booked and for a hotel like this that does not have any walk ins, always have better romms available. Why not comp a good room. It costs nothing and ensures that the quests get more than what they expected and if you want to impress a new customer that is a great way to do it. Either a studio not overlooking the construction or a 1 bedroom would have gone a long way to a better stay. Especially one that is hoping to sell you a time share.

As for the time share, I was skeptical when they wanted us to meet the concierge, that this was the first step to the timeshare sale. It was far from that, this was a true concierge, she was great. She gave us lots of local info and recomended a coupe of great restauraunts. She did mention the timeshare presentation and since we are owners at another tiemshare company we decided to go to see what they have to offer. We met with Jimmy and Fred and they were both very professional in their presentation, probably more so than any other we have met. The Westin program is a great one and we were disapointed that we had already purchase one from somewhere else, because we may have purchased one. I would recomend to go.

The room was good, with a galley kitchen and a great oven/microwave. We bought some food and wine at the Walmart in Cancun and had some great meals on our baclony.

The pools are amazing, a bit cool but they both are really very nice. The only issue was that the hot tubs are not very hot, this was a bit of a disapointment.

We did not eat or drink at the hotel, we found it a bit pricey and there are too many good other choices in the area.

The location is great, it is across from the Isla Shopping center, walking distance to some great restauraunts, I can recomend 2 that we realy enjoyed an they were the Hacienda Sisal and La Habicheula Sunset.

All in all it was a great hotel and great vacation.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kpinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,577
    1,190
    298
    116
    75
See reviews for
2,225
2,023
86
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,777)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Just returned from a week at the Westin Lagunamar. Very lovely resort. Very clean and people were awesome. Sergio C. was the absolute greatest!!! He greeted us when we arrived and help us packed upon leaving. Luigi in concierge was great and helpful with planning trips and tours. The staff was able to answer any questions and in english. The beach and restaurants were clean. The only not so great thing was the weather, it was nice during the day and chilly in the evening and night, but it winter. The market store on the resort property didn't have much, at all! The fresh looked very old and the did not stock even the basics. Overall, great place-right across the street from shopping and a large variety of food.

Room Tip: every room has a ocean view but building 1 or 9 would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmbillingsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

My teenage daughter and I stayed at the Westin Lagunamar for a week. The employees were very nice and eager to help. I could call them anytime and they never complained.

The beach was very nice. It was never crowded. We always found chairs no matter what time it was.

The resort is located directly across the street from a shopping center with great restaurants and stores. There is also a mall close by and several restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank getawayLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

We just got back to Calgary from spending 7 nights at the Lagunamar. I was expecting more of a "hotel" ambience but I quickly realized this is a timeshare property which is managed and run by Westin. The units are quite good and well appointed. Some maintenance issues such as the toilet seat was very loose and the coffee make didn't work were quickly taken care of. The biggest problem I had was that the washroom and the bedroom is separated by smokey glass rather than a solid wall. So in the middle of the night if you turn on the lights in the washroom, the whole bedroom lights up as well!!! Another issue I had was that since you get only one housekeeping visit per one-week stay, you have to arrange to have your garbage removed from your suite and you must be in your unit when the guy comes to get it as they won't just let him go in if nobody is there. That is good for security but if they don't come right away then that's something to deal with.

I also found the lobby area to be too cramped as people were tripping over each other upon checking in and out. The pools were good and are not heated as someone earlier pointed out in their review. The beach/ocean was absolutely excellent (best part of Cancun). Service was very good however drinks at the pool bar are very expensive for what they are (except beer). The food in the Oceana restaurant was very average but convenient.

Since the units are really condo's (which is fine) and if you want to save money then you really need to go all the way into town to the Walmart or Costco. This is a good 20KM cab ride and can be a real hassle and expensive to go back and forth. The "hotel zone" really needs a major food shopping store. Cancun is not cheap and is certainly not authentically Mexican, so expect to pay what you would pay in Canada and the US (if not even more for certain things like any alcohol except beer). The Isla mall accross the street was pretty good and had all the basics you needed and several restaurants to try out. At least the Westin has this across the street as most strip hotels are massive properties that have no ammenities in quick walking distance.

I would recommend the West Lagunamar if you want a beach holiday and don't mind that Cancun is really an extension of the USA.

Room Tip: All units face the pool/beach however try to get a room higher than the 4th floor otherwise you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Had a great time with my husband, aunt, and uncle. From the moment we arrived everything was perfect. Couldn't ask for a better location! Everything is in walking distance. If you want to shop at Walmart, it is a short distance by bus. Great way to see Cancun for less that $2. The property offers a lot of activities from bonfire with s'mores to feeding the liguanas

Room Tip: All the rooms face the ocean, so there isn't a bad room in the house. There is construction goin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morganacub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

My husband and I just got home from this hotel. I have to say I was hesitant about going to Cancun after just getting back 2 months ago from the Marriott in Ruba. Wow! Was I surprised. This hotel is a timeshare and it's efficiency room had everything you could ever want! They even supplied a washing machine and dryer with detergent! All the rooms are ocean front...not ocean view. The infinity pool is breath taking...the cleanliness is beyond what I would expect! Even the pool bathrooms were immaculate..facets always shining with no water spots! Don't know how they do that! Location was perfect for us...mall across the street had all kinds of places to eT from casual to more expensive. There were nights we went to taco grill and had a wonderful meal for under $30 with beer!
Beach was really nice...can walk for miles! No crowds at all on the beach. Never had trouble getting a spot to relax by the beach...most people hung by the pool.
Everyone there was pleasant, friendly, and helpful...
There is some constuction going on but is NEVER bothered us and it wa s close to our room. It should be done by Christmas! Very important to note...bus stop is right in front of the hotel..cost is 8.5 pesos equal to aabout 60 cents...they are safe and run about every 5 minutes. Will take you almost anywhere on the strip. Much easier then renting a car.
Take a day trip to Isla mejores for a day! Was definitely a highlight and so much fun renting a golf cart and exploring the island...it's only a 18 minute ferry ride from Cancun!

Room Tip: All rooms are oceanfront with magnificent views...upper Flloor definitely an advantage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oatti0252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Thoroughly enjoyed our trip ... from beginning to end. We booked their shuttle to and from the airport ($60 roundtrip) ... well worth the price. We walked right through the hustle and bustle of the airport to their van awaiting our arrival. Check in was a breeze ... and our concierge, Claudia, provided a welcome package and was a wealth of information! The resort is beautiful and well maintained. Our room was awesome and the view was incredible! (Building 9, 6th floor, corner room) There are two restaurants on site .. the Oceana serves breakfast and dinner and the Viento restaurant serves lunch by the pool. Food is just a bit overpriced, but worth the excellent service and convenience. Everyone at the resort aims to please! There are also several restaurants at the La Isla mall which is located right across the street. Lots of recognizable names .... McDonalds, Planet Hollywood, Hooters, and Chilis ... along with several local spots. Would recommend La Madonna (upscale italian) and Chocolate City (varied menu and geared towards kids and fun). The pool is huge, with plenty of lounge chairs .... they fill up pretty quickly, but people come and go and it was never very difficult to find one open. (of course, just like every other resort, you find those folks who come down at 6 AM to reserve their spot!) They also had a lot of lounge chairs on the beach ... always plenty available. Liked the fact that you could charge almost everything right to your room, including tips ... never much need for cash or pesos unless you take the bus or a taxi. They will exchange currency for you at the front desk. They have a small market on site with the basics available ... though if you plan on cooking some meals in, I would recommend going to the local market. A taxi will take you there, wait an hour for you to shop, then return you to the resort. There were several comments regarding slow internet ... I didn't find that to be the case with the WIFI on our laptop, however, the computers in their business center were indeed extremely slow! Never encountered a rude employee or an unhappy guest. We had a great time and would definitely return to Cancun and the Westin!

Room Tip: All units face the Caribbean, but buildings one and nine are the closest to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ms1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2.1 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
1.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
1.6 mi away
JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#16 of 175 in Cancun
3,936 reviews
0.2 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
1.9 mi away
Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa

Property: The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
Address: Km 12.5 Blvd Kukulcan | Zona Hotelera, PO Box 834 Apdo., Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#9 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#12 Family Hotel in Cancun
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#23 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 592
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa is located on the white sandy beaches of Cancun, Mexico. Enjoy spacious one and two-bedroom villas that comfortably accommodates up to eight adults in as much as 1,140 square feet. Each villa features fully equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel Cancun
Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel
Cancun Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing