We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Nearby Hotels
Paradisus Cancun(Cancun)
$332
$249
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$337
$330
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$817
$800
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun(Cancun)
$465
$356
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$269
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Le Blanc Spa Resort(Cancun)
$803
$676
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moon Palace Cancun(Cancun)
$604
$429
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$384
$269
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$506
$427
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$508
$474
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5,858)
Filter reviews
5,858 results
Traveler rating
4,015
1,292
335
131
85
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,015
1,292
335
131
85
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswasher and dryerduna sports barstudio villainfinity poolfun teamla isla mallstarwood ownersheavenly spafull kitchensteak nightmall across the streetheavenly bedpersonal conciergeoutdoor mallpool conciergeswim up bartime share
Filter
Updating list...
4,873 - 4,878 of 5,858 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2011

The hotel was stunning. As soon as you walk in the first thing you notice is the beautiful pool and fountains. The rooms were amazing, clean and very modern. There was a washer dryer in the room and a full kitchen. Which was very useful when my partner became sick (of his own fault from too many mojitos!) and would only eat pasta for a day. The water is also all treated so you could drink it straight from the tap and the same with the ice machine in the room. We had a lovely view from the balcony across the pool and of the sea, but most nights it was too windy to sit outside.

The second thing I noticed about the hotel and the surrounding area was that everything was americanised. Which as a person who wanted to see something a bit more natively mexican was a bit of a shock. All the prices were in $ as well as pesos and all the staff and most of the patrons spoke with american accents! You also pay American prices for food etc, which again is a theme for the area rather than just the hotel. This meant that eating out every day could get very expensive.

The food in the restaurant was on par with the other prices surrounding the restaurant and the food was actually very good. Plus we got 15% off as we were guests in the hotel which was a added bonus. Happy hour in the bar was very reasonable and surprisingly quiet. Not great if you are looking for atmosphere but perfect if like us you wanted a couple of cocktails before going out to dinner.

The location of the hotel was perfect. The pool and beach were both stunning and the shopping centre across the road was full of places to eat and buy duty free.

My main negative point about the hotel is that it stated clearly that patrons were not allowed to reserve sunbeds for the day. But this rule was not enforced and even getting up at 8 or 9am to sit by the pool meant that 90% of the well positioned sunbeds were already taken. Many of which were not used until later into the day or the afternoon. Many guests we noticed could not even remember where they had put their towels. Also it stated that children were not allowed to use the hot tubs which was again not enforced (even by parents!). I tried to read a book in one and got shot more than once by a kid with a water pisol or having a water fight.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank northern_girl85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

So we came here for my brother's wedding (which took place at the hotel next door), but since there were so many family members, he encouraged all families to stay at this hotel. What a great idea!!

The rooms we stayed in were 1-bedroom suites, but they were more than happy to give us a cot, even though we could of all fit on the sofa bed. We wanted to be comfortable. We got an ocean view room, which made getting up in the morning all that easier. And the room was equipped with: full size fridge, dishwasher, and washer/dryer combo. I didn't need to overpack and all my swimsuits were clean and dry before we went home! They don't, however, supply you with detergent and fabric softener, so make sure you bring some if you're picky about what your clothes smell and feel like.

The hotel is gorgeous from every view (day, night, on the ground floor, up at the top). They are even equipped with a little market where they sell fresh eggs, seafood, and meat. Which is PERFECT for the BBQ grills they have set up. There are about 6 grills (3 on one side of the resort and 3 on the other side). I noticed right away that the grills get pretty busy during mealtimes, but not overcrowded to the point people are fighting over them.

If BBQing is not your thing, they do have restaurants on site. I didn't partake much on the food, but had a pizza by the pool. It took a while to get to us (roughly 45 minutes), but considering how busy they were, I understand. The price was a little on the expensive side, but I figured it was high to encourage guests to cook their own food?

Overall, the hotel is great place to stay for families. The pools were great, loved the waterslide! Plenty of chairs to lounge in. My cousin wanted to use the hammocks, but he said there were weird "stains" on them, so maybe the staff should look into it.

(oh and I gave 4 stars on sleep quality because I slept on the sofa bed. )

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennboogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2011

It makes us so happy to receive these kind of comments, thank you so much for choosing Westin for your vacation. We would love for you to come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

We traded Colorado timeshare points to go to the sun this year. We were joined by our collegeaged daughter (her spring break) and 24 year old daughter who works in New York City. We had a two bedroom lock-off, giving us plenty of room and personal space. The gilrs' side had a two burner stove, small refridgerator, sofa and queen size bed. I was told the sofa bed was very uncomfortable. Our side had a large kirchen area with full size refirdgerator and cook-top, but no oven. Both sides had microwaves. The king-size bedroom was seperated from living area by sliding doors. The bath room was huge. Both bedrooms had balconies. The furnishings were nice, but not special. The grounds were lovely, with two huge pools and beach. We usually sat on the beach as the poolside chairs were "claimed" very early in the morning, despite signs telling people not to do so. Food at poolside restaurant was good, but not inexpensive. Service was rather slow, with kitchen serving pool, beach and restaurant. Food at the eveining dining room was nothing special; there ware much better restaurants in waling distance. The staff was very helpful, arranging transportation for our daughters, a trip to Chichen Itza and restaurant reservations. We were happy we were not at an all inclusive as the atmosphere was quiet and relaxing, even though there were a number of spring break groups from various colleges staying there. The location, mid hotel zone and across from a lovely ourdoor mall is perfect. We would come again. No spa facilities.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MWK51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovley review , we are very happy to know you had a wonderful experience with us.Please come back soon we would love to host you again here at Lagunamar. The Westin Lagunamar Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2011

we just returned from Cancun had the pleasure if staying at this gorgeous resort beautiful views not to packed sat poolside you can sit on the baech beaches are lovely spent most of our time outside pool beach..
very clean room lovely spacious rooms loved every part of this resort people were friendly
we loved our suite...... would sty here agian in a heartbeat great big comfy beds lovely pillows that simportant alot of effort made on amking us the travellers very comfy..
only one fault the poolside meals are very exoensive we dont eat out alot but for a treat for lunc I thought it was way to expensive I think a bafel and cream cheese $12.00 Im not a scooge but I would not pay that for that...so that is my only complaint...
Your family will have a briiliant time my kids are 9 and 15 and they loved it pools are only 4ft which is perfect those amazing infiniti pools ...we look forward to returing.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walter62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2011

Thank you for a glowing review it its great to know that you had such a fantastic time with us, we would love for you to come back soon to visit us in Mexico Best Regards,

The Westin Lagunamar Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2011

This was our second stay at the Westin Lagunamar. The resort is still very nice, and the rooms are comfortable. Our room was clean, the bed (Heavenly beds!) awesome. The view from our room was beautiful, and we really enjoyed having coffee on our balcony each morning. The staff were very accommodating and friendly.

You can't beat the location of this hotel. It's in the middle of the hotel zone, right across from the La Isla Shopping mall. This is an open air mall with many restaurants and shops. We did find a few great deals (from the vendors, not the shops), but had to really look for them. The shops are very expensive, even moreso than last year. A must to visit would be Chocolate City. Food and service were great.

To keep in mind: We went two weeks later this year than last year. There were a lot more families with small children and also spring breakers. The hotel says no spring breakers - "they must be here with their parents" - but that was not so. On the upside, the resort is opening an adults only addition to the resort in December 2011.

The food at the resort, while good, was very expensive. Lunch poolside for two with two drinks cost about $52 American dollars (before tip). The drinks were $10-$11 a piece! My suggestion is to buy a bottle of your favorite liquor along with mixers and make your own drinks - MUCH cheaper!

We sat through the timeshare presentation this year (we got a $200 resort voucher for doing so). They tell you it's about 90 minutes, though it's more like 2 hours. If interested in a timeshare, be sure to ask a lot of questions - a lot is left out (in our opinion). We did not purchase one.

Overall, this is a great resort with a great staff. The views, the pool and the beach are beautiful. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patriciagirl56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews