We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful as always”
Review of La Palapa Belga

La Palapa Belga
Reserve with OpenTable
La Palapa Belga is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #145 of 969 Restaurants in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Belgian, European, French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: If you are lucky enough to find this gem hidden behind the pool at the Hotel Imperial Laguna, you will be greatly rewarded with fine cuisine at a reasonable price, gracious service, and a table on the lagoon with a beautiful view of the hotel zone.
Hudson, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful as always”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

My husband and I came alone this year. In past years we have come with our family (young adults and 1 child) or with another couple. If you enjoy a scenic, low key ambiance combined with excellent food, this is a good place to have dinner.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lelah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    104
    30
    22
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cancun
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“best kept secret in cancun”
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

La Palapa Belga is my favorite restaurant in Cancun for a special night out. the setting on the lagoon is lovely. This time! as expected,the service was spot on and the food was fabulous. I shared raw oysters and escargots followed by manta ray with capers. It was perfect, served with rice and tender crisp steamed broccoli. We shared 1 chocolate mousse among 3 of us and were practically licking the bowl, even though we were full. I love this restaurant!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ebb r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Still worth visiting”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

We go to La Palapa Belga every year while we're in Cancun and have never had bad food or poor service. Our visit this year was no different. We ordered the stuffed mushrooms, hubby had the mussels & I had chicken. Very pretty setting on the lagoon. Highly recommend.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SheriBobB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central VA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredibly Disappointing”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We had heard great things, but the evening was extremely poor. Poor food, very unfriendly, totally overpriced. We noticed that none of the staff smiled at us, other customers, or each other. One appetizer too hot, another not warm. Ordered their famous beef tenderloin at Medium Rare and meat was dry, tasteless and overcooked. Waiter said beef usually served with rice and french fries????? (would any classy place put those two together)Although we did not expect financial adjustment for the poor beef, the manager/owner didn't even acknowledge our complaint. All he did was come over to collect payment. Musician was fine, but even the pretty atmosphere was spoiled by a sewer smell from the lagoon...and it was Valentine's Day.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gramlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
“Service was Special”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

This menu was over the top. Three of us ordered mussels, duck and lamb chops and shared. All were terrific. Service was the best. The waiters were always there without hovering. Zazz music after 7:00 was very enjoyable. Highly recommend if you like a French menu.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Palapa Belga also viewed

Cancun, Quintana Roo
 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to La Palapa Belga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing