We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Casual Outdoor Dining at its BEST”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Palapa Belga

La Palapa Belga
Ranked #136 of 947 Restaurants in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Belgian, French, Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: If you are lucky enough to find this gem hidden behind the pool at the Hotel Imperial Laguna, you will be greatly rewarded with fine cuisine at a reasonable price, gracious service, and a table on the lagoon with a beautiful view of the hotel zone.
Liberty Center
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Casual Outdoor Dining at its BEST”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We had a GREAT experience at this quaint-off the path outdoor restaurant. We took a taxi to get there as it would have been hard to find on our own. Great food, the 4 of us all ordered different things, started out with bread sticks with an AWESOME cream sauce, grouper with rice, steak, chicken stuffed with spinach and cheese and warm salad with lobster, all VERY GOOD and reasonable priced. Lots of choices on menu. The service was very good and friendly. Very relaxed and BEAUTIFUL atmosphere, sits right on the lagoon across from the hotel lights. New feature coming is boat transportation to and from the restaurant which I think would be really fun and add to the GREAT experience. A 5 minute walk back to the main road and bus stop right there to take us to the mall shopping. A GREAT night. Robin-Marty from Ohio

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    102
    30
    21
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Memorable Evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Started a wonderful evening with the Tamarind Martini recommended by the owner. Very tasty. Appetizers like the blue cheese stuffed mushrooms and scallops with Hollandaise were delicious. Grouper with a beautiful ratatouille was incredible. Finished with a Belgian Chocolate Mousse. This meal was one of our best in Cancun for the week.

We have been to La Palapa Belga several times and it is always memorable. The spirits, food, and atmosphere created by the owner and staff make it a favorite for us and we highly recommend it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora mn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place to Eat in Cacun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

The view of the City after dark and the laguna was beautiful.The staff could not have been better,the food was great,the live music was good and best of all we were able to take a boat back to the resort we were staying at and got a great tour of the laguna under a full moon.Check it out hope you like it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank KentAuroramn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Outdoor dining at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Finding out about this place by word of mouth when socializing around the pool at our timeshare (Royal Sands) was one of the best tips we ever received. We dine at least 2 nights during our 2 week visit. We have been going to La Palapa now for 5 years in a row and as always great food and service and now they have jazz music on Thursday nights. Menu is wonderful with a variety of choices and prices are reasonable. Sitting on the Lagoon and looking at the hotel zone at night with all the lights is lovely. This is truly a lovely place to have a wonderful dining experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jimisue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Incredibly wonderful surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

This place is just a delight! Tucked away across the bay from the 'Hotel Zone' near a small little motel (not affiliated) and residential area. We were greeted by the charming proprietor "Mac" who was waiting for our arrival. As we wound around the walkway we saw the small but lovely dinning area situated right on the water. We enjoyed the drinks of the day that included tamarind martinis, mojitos and drinks Mac set on fire for us. Most of the menu as well as the daily specials were fresh seafood. However, they had pasta, steak, and chicken choices. I had the pork tenderloin which was excellent. After our meal we were treated to Agavera shots! Nice touch.
I can't say enough about what a delightful place
La Palapa Belga is. It's small, quaint and unique. Mostly patronized by locals and has music every Thursday night. Everything about this place is just a wonderful surprise.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Palapa Belga also viewed

Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to La Palapa Belga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing