We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Homemade Italian Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda Paolo

Locanda Paolo
Ranked #60 of 881 Restaurants in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $31
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Locanda Paolo, Italian Fusion Ristorante. We are a family run restaurant that just celebrated its 20th Anniversary. Proud to be a Downtown Restaurant.. we provide service to both locals and turists. The experience of visiting Locanda Paolo is never the same. Owners are on site and greet, serve, recommend and cook for you. We are a small and discreet restaurant. We like keeping it like that!! Let Paolo and Rafa help you personalize your own meal. "Food for the soul made with the Heart" a classy yet traditional Italian dinner.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Homemade Italian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We were taken here by mutual friends who have been to this resturant before and we were all surprised when Jr Paolo came to our table to explain the menu specials for the day, then when back into the kitchen to prepare our meals. We were not dissappointed and will return again next year.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Clo4yanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    27
    6
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cancun, Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unique and Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Spent a nice evening in this quaint little Italian place. The owner and chef grew up in Italy and the quality of the food shows it. It is decently affordable, $25-$40 person and the atmosphere was very nice. I would recommend this place for couples and not so much for families.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank agconrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Italian Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our son's Christening at Paolo's. The service and food were amazing. We were allowed to chose a menu and we were not disappointed. I highly recommend this restaurant who is in the mood for authentic italian cuisine.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank angi6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Le chef parfait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Being an hotelier, that loves good food, I am very pleased with Locanda Paolo. Paolo is the perfect host and you can go there 100 times, he will always have something very special to offer you, so you can never get bored of his menu or dishes. I have met Paolo years ago when myself I was also an Executive Chef for Hyatt International. I loved his cuisine then, and after leaving Mexico for many years, I found again la Locanda de Paolo and the food and service did not change a bit, all the contrary. it is getting better and better. Felicitation mon cher Paolo,

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bamboomanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
147 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My husband and I had dinner here based on all the great reviews. It did not disappoint! We were greeted and seated right away. We spoke with the manager in English who helped us come up with the perfect menu for our dinners. The glass of wine with my dinner was the best of our trip! We were seated next to a large party celebrating and they were fun. Our meals were delicious and made to order. I will say that the service was a little too good for my liking...we had a good chuckle when I told my husband to watch as I took the last bite and set my fork down. No sooner had it hit the table then it was whisked away! This kind of service is good for large parties I think, but for a couple enjoying a romantic dinner it didn't feel right for me.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank happytravelertoday48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Locanda Paolo also viewed

 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Locanda Paolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing