We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They made our airport transfers pretty easy”
Review of Olympus Tours

Olympus Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.00*
and up
ATV Tour from Cancun
More Info
$77.00*
and up
Horseback Riding near Cancun
More Info
$89.00*
and up
Lobster Dinner Cruise from Cancun
Ranked #29 of 330 Tours in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Olympus Tours is one of the largest ground operators in Mexico servicing the most popular tourist destinations such as Cancun, Riviera Maya, Cozumel, Puerto Vallarta, Los Cabos and Mexico City. We specialize in: Airport Transfers, Tours and excursions, Meet and greet at the airport, Hotel accommodations, theme nights and activities for Groups and Incentives.
Elk Grove
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“They made our airport transfers pretty easy”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We used Olympus to get to and from the airport all-in-all the transfers went pretty smoothly. We called them a few days before we left to add our daughter to our reservation and they added a car seat too. It made it easier so we didn't have to bring one with us. Getting out of the Cancun airport, it was very easy to spot Olympus tours and I think we waited about 15-20 minutes to get on a shuttle, which is really good compared to our previous Mexico experiences. They brought us a car seat that didn't really fit into the shuttle seat all that easily, so that was bothersome. The driver seemed to realize this because he drove extra careful and that's saying a lot for a driver in Mexico! The only issue we had getting to the resort was beyond Olympus's control. We had a couple going to a Now Jade property that was a few miles off of the freeway in Puerto Morales and it took even longer to get there since the main road was flooded! It took an extra 30 minutes to get to our hotel and with a toddler, after 12 hours of travel, it felt like eternity. But like I said, that's not Olympus's fault and that driver was great!
While we were at the resort, we talked to our Olympus rep a few times and he was great! We considered doing a dolphin excursion, but after our rep explained the whole process to us, we decided against it. I don't think that was his intention, but he said he didn't want to lie to us! Based on his description we would have very limited time with the dolphins in the water and again with a toddler, it didn't seem worth it.
On the way back to the airport, the shuttle arrived right on time, with a much better car seat! In fact, we got our own private shuttle on the way back. I was very impressed with that service, EXCEPT that the driver was really bad. He was checking his two phones, driving in the middle of the road, and overall just driving really reckless the whole drive to the airport! Had our last driver not been so good, I might not have expected so much, but with our daughter in the shuttle, I was not happy!
When we visit the cancun area again, I will definitely consider using Olympus again!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank atlas993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,089 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,661
    160
    72
    69
    127
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rosedale, NY
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Misleading Information”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This review is for the representative at the Gran Bahia Principe Tulum.

The good: all the tour guides were very nice and informative.

The bad: misleading information given about the tours. The first package we were sold to go to Tulum and then a cenote was not what was shown to us on the brochure. The cenote we were shown was one in a cave. We were taken to an outdoor cenote that due to the rainy weather looked like a dirty black swimming hole! Not one of the persons in the group wanted to swim.

The second complaint - well, maybe the word "free" should have given us a clue. A free trip to Playa del Carmen. First, they take you to a jewlery factory, in which you HAVE to spend 1 1/2 hours been harrassed by sales people. According to the tour guide, it was supposed to be a tour of how jewlery is made. Not at all! You get to see a few workers behind a glass partition and that's the whole factory tour. After this torture, they than take you to a coffee shop where they tell you how coffee is roasted (and the girl demonstrating boldly asking for tips!) then on to a restaurant to see how guacamole is made while the waiters are pushing menus at you or taking your pictures and trying to sell them to you and finally we ge to do what we were promised do some shopping on your own for 50 minutes becuase you then have to rush back to the meeting point to go back to the hotel.

We had to switch vans 3 times, we were not given a coupon that the jewlery store kept asking us for all this was never mentioned by the sales woman (Brenda) ay Olympus Tours. The 3* are for the tour guides who were really nice guys.

Just be warned when you are offered the "free" trip to Playa del Carmen!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janet1960Rosedale_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent customer service with staff that genuinely look out for you”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

It was our first time in Mexico and we were approached by a man at the airport claiming to have a great deal for local tours. He said that we would be able to get a tour for 2 to Chichen Itza for 80 USD if we attend a short 30 minute tour of another hotel. He claimed that it was part of the hotel and government's initiative to promote the new hotel by hoping that travellers like us would spread the word. We were perhaps naïve to believe him but we bought the tours, thinking the briefing at the other hotel would not take long. He told us not to show our purchase receipt to anyone and to come for the tour within 2 days. On hindsight, he was probably trying to minimize the chances of us finding out that it is a time share briefing.

We found out after 2 days that the briefing at the hotel was in fact a time share briefing and we were likely to be subjected to hard sell tactics. We had no intention of buying any time shares hence I was unwilling to spend a whole day at another hotel when we had already paid for our beautiful resort. We were willing to pay a little extra for a tour that had no strings attached but were worried about the money we had already paid previously.

Ivan Garza, from Olympus Tours, assured us that we would be able to get the money we paid for the tour back. He even went the extra mile to call the people who sold us the tickets and confirm that it was fully refundable at the airport. This really helped to allay our fears. Moreover, we were able to get a great deal from Ivan for the tours to chichen itza.

At the airport, the Olympus tours staff showed us where to go to get our refund and even assured us further that they were there to help if there was any trouble. The staff at the airport technically didn't have to help as they would not benefit from a further sale but they looked out for us nonetheless. We were able to get a refund with no questions asked and are grateful for Ivan and the Olympus staff at the airport for their assistance..

We had a great time at Chichen Itza and the Cenote. The company that Olympus tours ties up with to carry out the tours was very professional and we were well taken care of.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shelly_ST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT Company & Customer Service”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We have booked with Olympus Tours twice now and have all positive things to say! We've used them for airport transport which is always prompt, well organized, and all shuttle drivers are friendly and helpful.

We've also booked tours with them each time. After you're dropped off at your destination, they meet with you again to confirm your pick up information and also offer to set up any tours you're interested in.

The first time, they booked both our tours with Aventuras Mayas which was AMAZING and exactly what we were looking for! They set up all your pick up details, you pay through them, and their rates are reasonable.

We booked a tour through them again a second time and worked with Ivan to book our tour. He was extremely helpful, friendly, and energetic and told us about a tour that involved snorkeling on Cozumel with a few other activities mixed in. Unfortunately the tour was not good at all due to issues with the tour company (not Olympus) which was very disappointing. I asked Olympus for the tour company information and let them know the circumstances regarding the bad tour.

They actually contacted the company for us, provided them our feedback, and asked for a partial refund on our behalf. The company refused a refund but because Olympus is so dedicated to their customers they actually offered to credit us their full commission on the tour which amounted to 20% of what we paid. They also said they'd be looking into the company's service to make sure they're looking out for future customers.

They were very prompt to reply when we had this issue, very sincere, and very helpful. It's easy to make people happy when everything goes well, but they really showed their commitment to their customers when dealing with this tour gone bad. I have full confidence in them and will be happy to book with them again when we go back. I already referred my mother-in-law-to-be to use them in January!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harleysville, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wouldn't chance going anywhere else!”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

My wife and I use these reviews all the time so I am going to write this review as honestly as possible. My wife and I are 37 with no kids and this was our first vacation. There was good and bad with this trip. I'll start with the bad. When we arrived in Cancun it was raining and windy. We arrived at our hotel about 12:00. when we got there we were told that our name was not on the list. We used Cheapcaribbean/Olympus Tours. We were also told our room would not be ready until 3:00 but we were welcome to enter the resort and eat/drink and use the beach/pool and all facilities while we waited. We went back to check in at 3:00 and was told our room was almost ready. We waited until 4:15 and when we got to our oceanfront room, our balcony view was horrible. We couldn't even see the ocean because our view was blocked by the tops of palm trees. We were very disappointed. We even considered and pursued switching to a different hotel. The hotel was gloomy and our room and the hotel appeared neglected. There were renovations going on that were loud at times and our robes were worn and stained.
We complained to our Olympus Tours representative Yair at the desk. He was patient and listened to our complaints and did everything he could to help.
SO... the following day we were given a better room on the 6th. floor that was much cleaner with an awesome view of the entire ocean. A day or two later the rains stopped and the sun came out. We then found out that the hotel was not neglected by Dreams but had been recently purchased by Dreams and they were renovating to upgrade the facility.
The rest of our week was AWESOME! The food was great, the service was excellent. Everybody, including all the employees, the wait staff, chefs ,room service, maids are the friendliest people you'll ever meet. And the entertainment team did an awesome job with all the events. They're mission is honestly to be as polite, courteous, and helpful as possible. They are all awesome people and I think the people there are what made our vacation so beautiful. It was so nice having Yair from Olympus Tours to go to. We never felt stranded. It was very reassuring. They had events during the day and at night. The hotel at night is beautiful. The beach is a little small but after a few days we realized we were in our personal secluded slice of paradise.
Looking back I think our first impression was bad. We were tired and it was raining.
Bottom line, this place is awesome. We are already planning our next trip and I will be using Cheapcaribbean and a hotel in the AMRESORTS chain. They do everything possible to make your vacation the best.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JimRif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olympus Tours also viewed

 

Been to Olympus Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing