We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Olympus Tours

Olympus Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.00*
and up
ATV Tour from Cancun
Ranked #24 of 315 Tours in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Olympus Tours is one of the largest ground operators in Mexico servicing the most popular tourist destinations such as Cancun, Riviera Maya, Cozumel, Puerto Vallarta, Los Cabos and Mexico City. We specialize in: Airport Transfers, Tours and excursions, Meet and greet at the airport, Hotel accommodations, theme nights and activities for Groups and Incentives.
Hatboro, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
123 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Not the best”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

I booked two tours, as well as airport transportation through Olympus Tours before we left for vacation. On EVERY ride the van was packed to the point that someone had to ride in the passenger seat just to fit everyone. Most trips the air conditioning did not work well. There were so many stops the drive took double the time that a direct trip would have.

My rep at the hotel advised me to wear a bathing suit and flip flops on my horseback riding excursion. Contrary to my own instincts I followed his advice, because he is supposed to be the professional. Big mistake. The purpose of wearing a bathing suit was so that we could swim on the beach after horseback riding. However the timing of the trip was so tight that when we got back we barely had time to eat our chips before we had to get back on another crowded van for the last return trip of the day. When I mentioned the problems to the rep back at the hotel, he told me that they see so many people that sometimes they lose track of what they are talking about and who they are talking to.

The timing of our dolphin adventure was just as tight. Once we finished our interaction with the dolphins there was only 15 minutes to eat our included lunch and board the bus.

Overall the representatives seemed disorganized and unprofessional. I would not book trips through them again.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Len37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,014 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,616
    151
    68
    58
    121
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gladstone, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“ALEX FROM OLYMPUS WAS AMAZING!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

I just arrived home from cancun, and i just wanted to let olympus know that Alex was an amazing rep! I booked my tours through him from the Omni Hotel, i will be going back to cancun and i will definetly use Alex again. You gave me a vacation to remember!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank amandachellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, NY
1 review
“Would highly recommend Olympus”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

My husband and I used Olympus Tours during our stay at Secrets Maroma Beach for our honeymoon in early July. Antonio Alcocer was GREAT! He was very helpful when we were trying to figure out which excursions to do during our stay and made it very easy for us. He was very friendly, funny, and personable. We really enjoyed visiting him! Olympus is flexible. We were able to cancel and reschedule one of our trips about an hour before we were supposed to leave due to my husband's bad sunburn. I would highly recommend Olympus and Antonio!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank ErinE34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little honesty would go a long way!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

After a considerable wait at the airport for a ride in an uncomfortable, dirty van we arrive at our hotel.. Later in the day we speak with Olympus rep at the GR Soloras who sells us tickets to an evening out at Coco Bongos. We were assured that it covered a reserved table a waiter, with our only responsibility would be to tip him at the end of the evening. Nothing could be further from the truth. We arrived to find that we would receive no table but be forced to stand throughout the whole evening. That set the tone for the week and lost all faith in Olympus. By weeks end as we prepare to leave, we are advise by an agent to be ready at 3 am for our return trip to the airport. To be safe I return later where I am now greeted by a different Olympus rep who states a 4 am departure for a 6:30 am flight and was told our family would have to carry our bags from the hotel we were staying at GR Caribe to the neighboring hotel GR Sollaris to meet our ride, (unacceptable)!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank K9bitedr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If you like snorkeling go find Robert at DejaVu Tours.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

We had a great time with Robert! Pablo, Robert's assistant went in the water to find the sea turtle first. By the time we got in the water the sea turtle was already swimming near us. We snorkeled at three spots, 4 hours total. Best experience ever! Robert and Pablo were the best!

Helpful?
1 Thank Misswanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olympus Tours also viewed

 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Olympus Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing