We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 star dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gustino

Gustino
Reserve with OpenTable
Gustino is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 946 Restaurants in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: adentro del hotel JW Marriott Cancun
Description: From the heart of Italy, our Master Chefs have created a unique culinary experience. Gustino Italian Grill Features the most delicious flavors from the Italian Kitchens. Pastas, seafood and meat are the specialties of this restaurant. Combined with live saxophone music and luxury arrangements, a unique and extraordinary elegant ambiance is created. Gustino Restaurant is located in the lobby level of JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa. The cuisine is inspired by classic Italian dishes enhanced with Mediterranean ingredients. One of the best Italian Restaurants in Cancun, Gustino is recognized with the 4 Diamonds Award
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“5 star dining”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We made a reservation, although it was not crowded as we traveled before the real summer season starts. My husband and I were with our college daughter and her 2 friends. They had never had such a elaborate dining experience. Hector was our waiter and he did a great job making sure we had time to enjoy each course and not rush us through. I had the sea bass, it was cooked perfectly, my husband the lamb and risotto, which he said it was excellent. The girls had variations of pasta, which they all enjoyed. They loved the "palate cleanser" sorbet Hector brought out most of all. And the roses he brought out for the ladies at the end made a great dining experience a memory we won't soon forget.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCancun, Manager at Gustino, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear DanP:
Thank you very much for choosing Gustino! I´m glad that the gourmet experiences exceed your expectations!
I will let Hector know about the wonderful comments you have made on this review. Thanks again and I hope I can welcome you again.
Best Regards
Omar Lopez / Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    377
    112
    47
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very good Italian food in Cancun”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We ate at this restaurant several times during our stay in Cancun. The food was very good! The staff was excellent. If you are looking for a fancier Italian dinner in Cancun, I would recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank la2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCancun, Manager at Gustino, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear guest:
I was very happy to know that you enjoy the Gustino Restaurant! Thank you so much for your great comments, we hope to have you back soon.
Warmest Regards
Omar Lopez / Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floral Park, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“So so.”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

The food was mediocre at best and not worth the price, compared to the options elsewhere within the hotel zone. I remembered it to be better and was somewhat disappointed. I will not likely eat here again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Larry V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCancun, Hotel Manager at Gustino, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Larry V:

We regret to hear that during your last stay with us, your experiences were not pleasant and unfortunately we did not meet your expectations in our restaurants.
We would like to assure you that our Chefs are working on new menus and various options in order to make our guest's dining experience an unforgettable and exceptional part of your trip.
We welcome your valuable comments and we assure you that we will continue to work on these areas of opportunity to make your next trip with us a memorable one.

Sincerely,

Manuel Magana / Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level Contributor
86 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Every Night A Treat”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We unfortunately stayed at the sister hotel and our experience at the steakhouse was not pleasant. Made a reservation at Gustino every night after that. What a wonderful treat. The greeters made you feel right at home. Service was impeccable. A wonderful quiet dining experience. The table in the middle of the restaurant with candles burning was a perfect touch. Two evenings we had the 8oz lobster...chock full of tender meat....made us think we were back in New England. The filet mignon was cooked to perfection and you could cut with fork..so tender. The pasta dish was outstanding too. Last two evenings a saxophone gentleman played quiet dinner music. Where does the specialty chef, Mr. Alcazar, come out and check on you? Only at JW. The Manager, Mr. Lopez, also made our evenings very special at the restaurant. Dining at Gustino's was the highlight of our Cancun vacation.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank myakkalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCancun, Manager at Gustino, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear myakkalady:

I apprecciate you Taking the time to share your comments about your experience at Gustino. I love the atmosphere of this restaurant!! It is very paceful and romantic. I hope you had chance to try the risotto.... its one of my favorite dishes!!!! Thanks so much for your wondeful comments I will share them with Mr. "Chef" Alcazar.
It will be a pleasure to welcome you again
Best Regards
Omar Lopez / Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Yummy food”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

A bit overpriced, but great food and service. Stayed open late, and accommodated us chatting until 11 pm. Risotto was excellent.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank slynnro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCancun, Manager at Gustino, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Guest: I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the facilities and service experience met your expectations. The risotto is one of my favorites as well! We appreciate your time in sharing your experiences with us. We are excited to welcome you back again; we will be waiting for you!

Warmest Regards,

Manuel Magana/Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gustino also viewed

Cancun, Quintana Roo
 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Gustino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing