We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was told it was fantastic, very mediocre. worried about our credit card”
Review of Outback Steakhouse

Outback Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Outback Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #53 of 981 Restaurants in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Was told it was fantastic, very mediocre. worried about our credit card”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

A fellow countryman told us to go here as his party of 4 had a massive ,tasty meal here.
We went 2 days later and although the drinks and starters were good the main meals left a lot to be desired.
I had the 120z prime rib and asked for it medium, it apparantly came medium but was white and the fat on and in it was like white jelly. I think that although it was very soft to cut and chew you should be advised on how to have it cooked as it was so thick that it really should be cooked well done for even a bit of colour and flavour.
The Australian cheese fries were quite tasteless and cold.
My girlfriends fillet steak although cooked right was full of fat and sinew and what else was on the plate was minimal and not really worth the money.
The desert was recommended by our server and was very tasty.
We then had a shock when paying as the server took our credit card (we thought to the till at the bar) out the back for about 5 minutes.
When he came back he had the hand held machine with him and said that he was looking for the machine.
Then that machine didn't work and so we accompanied him to another machine where he said that one was not working after we had put our number in again and low and behold the receipt came out of the first machine.
When we asked the manager and server why this had happened we were fobbed off with excuses of "I don't understand what the problem is".
We were really worried that the card had been cloned and checked the bank immediately, only the bill had gone out but as they could have got our card details we cancelled the card just in case.
We never leave the card out of our site normally but he went to the till then disappeared out of an adjacent door.
Be very wary.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Community M, Manager at Outback Steakhouse, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Gday Neil
First let us thank you for your review , all comments from our guests are very important and all of them help us become always better.

Be sure We have taken immediate action to correct the misses we had during your visit

We would like to get more feedback from you, so our General Manager can adjust the operations if needed. If you could please send us an email to gustavom@meracorporation.com so we can follow up ... i

Again we thank you much for your review and feedback... if you are still in Cancun , let us know and if possible give us another chance to make up for your previous experience..

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    490
    319
    132
    47
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ensenada, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not an OK place for a beef lover”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

My impression is not for only one visit. I have visited this place three times during different years, always hoping that next time the experience will be better, but not. Why? In all the occasions I have visited this restaurant, the meat tastes bad, as it had been in the freezer for years. Not only the taste is no good but also the preparation/cooking is deficient. They really do not dominate the art of grilling beef; it is either overcooked or undercooked even if you ask for a medium rare. Since I have always enjoyed the Outback stakehouse in other cities and countries, I decided I would not return again to give them a new chance.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ensenado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Community M, Manager at Outback Steakhouse, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Ensenado.
Thank you for visting us repeated times and most important to take a minute to give us your feedback ..
We are very sorry you did not found our awards wining food to your liking .. All of our steaks are prepared to order and our Chef and Culinary team work very hard to provide our guests with the best possible Steak experience for our guest.

if you are back in town soon send us an email to gustavom@meracorporation.com and we will be sure, if you give us another chance, that your next experience will be, as we are, an incredible award wining experience.

Again we thank you much for the time and review

Cheers Mate!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

I was very pleased with the out back steak house. I expected a standard night but the service was excellent and the food was very good. Very enjoyable!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Community M, Gerente at Outback Steakhouse, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Hello Mike1969!

We are glad to read your nice review and know about your great experience in our place.

¡We hope to see you back very soon!

Thank you!

Cheers mate!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, Glos
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great Ribs”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Great ribs, good fajitas and good margaritas, what more could you ask for? Good service and reasonably priced – would definitely consider it again

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Community M, Manager at Outback Steakhouse, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
¡Hola!

Thank you so much for your nice review.

We really look forward to seeing you soon.

Thank you once again.

Cheers mate!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“night out away from all inclusive buffet”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

excellent service, wonderful steak and coconut shrimp. Great place to watch sports on tv if thats your thing, a great night out.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Community M, Manager at Outback Steakhouse, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Hi Lisa!

Thank you so much for your great review.

We really look forward to seeing you soon.

Thank you once again.

Cheers mate!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outback Steakhouse also viewed

 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Outback Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing