We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience - two words - Guillermo and Flambe'”
Review of La Parrilla

La Parrilla
Ranked #65 of 1,010 Restaurants in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We ventured downtown and ate at La Parilla for a truly unexpected and great experience. The service was absolutely incredible, the prices were reasonable, and the food was delicious. I had the shirmp and my husband had the steak - we were afraid it was going to be cooked too tough, but it turned out perfect. We had a great time with the staff and would definitely return. I have attached some photos.

Thank tlcjunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhippieAgency, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at La Parrilla, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

We appreciate your comments!
We love to show the world the wonderful food and atmosphere of Mexico!

Hope to see you soon whenever you're back in Cancun!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,395)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

684 - 688 of 1,395 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

The La Parilla Mexican Grill might be the best kept secret in Cancun, Mexico. Clearly a favorite of the locals, that has been in business at the same location since 1975. This restaurant is located in downtown Cancun on Avenue Yaxchilan, closer to Avenue Uxmal than Avenue Coba. This is the place for authentic Mexican food, as the majority of their clientele are locals. We like their Chili Relleno meal best. It consists of two (2) good sized chili peppers, which are not hot and are only modestly spice, with a generous cheese filling. The meal comes with the standard beans and rice. All for 125.00 Pesos (about $10.00 US). Of course, they offer the full-range of Mexican dishes, all at relatively inexpensive prices compared to costs in the Hotel Zone. If you are a 'big' eater, then you probably want one of their buffets. On Fridays, they have a seafood and steak buffet for 180.00 Pesos (about $15.00 US). On Saturdays and Sundays, they have a Mexican Buffet for 160.00 Pesos (about $12.50 US).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jean Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhippieAgency, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at La Parrilla, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

We appreciate your comments!
We love to show the world the wonderful food and atmosphere of Mexico!

Hope to see you soon whenever you're back in Cancun!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Went there on recommendation of hotel but wanted something more authentic. Wanted to go where the locals go... it was good.

Thank Spaulding79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhippieAgency, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at La Parrilla, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

We appreciate your comments!
We love to show the world the wonderful food and atmosphere of Mexico!

Hope to see you soon whenever you're back in Cancun!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

After reading mostly good reviews about La Parilla and seeing that they had mole, which ive been talking about since we got here.... We decided on La Parilla for dinner.

We arrived and were quickly greated and seated, our waiters were friendly, quick and spoke just enough english. We were not overly harassed by the mariaci or the guys with sobreros wanting to take your picture. They came by once, we declined and they did not comeback again.

We had cevchie and caesar salad to start along with guac, chips, salsa and pico de gallo, all of which were top notch. The cevchie is nothing special, just shrimp but it was a good starter.
I ordered 2 mains because ive been dying to have a mole in Mexico and because i loooove chile rellenos. The mole was ok, i suspect it is from a jar. Good flavor but nothing to brag about, the chile rellenos on the the other hand were unreal. Best ive had. My boyfriend had some mayan fajitas as he is not very adventurous when it comes to food. I tried them, they were bland. He loved his bland chicken fajitas, so if your not feeling like trying something mexican and exciting, try the fajitas. They were just ok for me.

After dinner i had coffee and cognac and the put on a big presentation for this coffee, it takes about5-10 minutes for them to serve it to you but the show is worth the wait. They light the cognac on fire and do a pig pouring presentation, it was pretty cool and they were not shy with the cognac.
We also had 3 of their deliciously huge margaritas, they are as good as everyone says.

Overall a great experience and some good food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jodie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhippieAgency, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at La Parrilla, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

We appreciate your kind comments!
Hope to see you round, whenever you're back to Cancun!

Best Regards,
La Parrilla Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We visited La Parilla in downtown Cancun looking for authentic mexican food. The food was average. I was expecting more flavor and seasoning in the food. Overall, it was a good experience.

Thank madamree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhippieAgency, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at La Parrilla, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

We appreciate your comments!
We love to show the world the wonderful food and atmosphere of Mexico!

Hope to see you soon whenever you're back in Cancun!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Parrilla also viewed

Cancun, Quintana Roo
 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to La Parrilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing