We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“La Dolce Vita: The Restaurant of Your Dreams”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Dolce Vita

La Dolce Vita
Reserve with OpenTable
La Dolce Vita is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 951 Restaurants in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Av. Nader
Description: Since 1983 La Dolce Vita Centro has been consistently rated as one of the top restaurants in Cancun, serving fresh seafood and homemade pasta, owned and operated by Tim Savio and Juan J. Casal. Dolce Vita means "Sweet Life" in Italian and that is how an evening here will make you feel. Our loyal clientele highly recommend the award winning signature dish Boquinete Dolce Vita, a local snapper topped with shrimp and mushrooms, enclosed in puff pastry, and served with lobster sauce. The service is refined and friendly, and dinner specials change daily to match the season. Ourdiverse wine list from around the world complements the dinner. La Dolce Vita is an ideal setting for small groups, business functions, parties, rehearsal dinners and other special events. Dress code: Casual, no cut off shirtsleeves for gentlemen. Private parking and free valet parking service.
Forest, Virginia
1 review
“La Dolce Vita: The Restaurant of Your Dreams”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

This restaurant definitely deserves to be the number two restaurant in Cancun, if not number one. You walk in and are treated like royalty. The staff is right on target, but doesn't hover. La Dolce Vita's view is outstanding, looking over a beautiful lagoon with lots of boats and jet skis. You can sit outside and you will not be hot. One reason for that is because the staff gets you drinks within seconds of sitting down. Another reason is they have a sunshade coming off of the building. You get brushetta as an included appetizer, which is one of the ripest, devine, and decadent things you will have there. I got the lobster bisque, which was divine! I also got the Linguine Alle Vongole and you can tell how fresh the seafood was! I have been there on my honeymoon, on my twentieth anniversary, and many times in between and more to come! They even surprised us with a delicious brownie with a beautifully rosy raspberry sauce that said "Happy 20th Anniversary!" when we casually mentioned it to the waiter! I love this place so much and it is one of my favorite places to eat in the world.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carson S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladolcevitacancun, Propietario at La Dolce Vita, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hi Carson. Thank you so much for your very nice comment we are very glad you enjoyed your visit. Even though you're refering to our restaurant in the hotel zone; Savio's by la Dolce Vita. Hope you guys can visit us in down town some day! Greeting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,101
    206
    65
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
129 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice change in Cancun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Excellent service and good wine selection. The food is very good, but if you used Italian restaurants in NY or Chicago, not that good. We enjoyed the octopus carpacio and some pasta dishes. I'm not mexican food lover so this was welcomed change. Its
Located downtown Cancun and if You get sick and tired negotiating with cab drivers, you can take the R1 or R2 bus from the hotel zone for 8 pessos per person. It' stops right in front of the restaurant. Its a first stop after it leaves the blvd Kukulcan, right before the avenida Tulum. If you want to humor yourself take a cab from the hotel to the restaurant, and hail one from the street for the way back (Completely safe in Cancun). The price diference will be 20-100% taxis at the airport are the most expensive, followed by the ones by the hotels. The cheapest are the street taxis. Always ask how much it will cost before the ride. Don't be afraid to negotiate.

Helpful?
Thank Laddiez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladolcevitacancun, Propietario at La Dolce Vita, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your advises. Hope to see you guys soon at the restaurant.
Greetings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
105 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Like Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Almost so authentic that you forget you are in Mexico... I had the Ensalta Caprese with home made Mozzarella and the Lobster Bisque. Both were very delicious. I would have expected the prices to be higher but didn't pay more than we would have on an the trivial resort-restaurants.

Be aware that the address is wrong if you look it up on google.maps. We ended up near Wallmart but the restaurant is before Av. Tulum when you come from the Hotel Zone.

Highly recommended for special occation and good italian food!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mortenhoegh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladolcevitacancun, Propietario at La Dolce Vita, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you so much for the recommendations and preference. We've been working very hard so google maps can change the direction. Hope it will be very soon and also have you guys very soon at the restaurant.
Greetings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern
1 review
“Continued Excellence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We have been dining at La Dolce Vita for many years. It continuosly delivers excellent food and service,in a warm atmosphere that sends the message "We are glad to have you as our guests". Juan, the owner, visits every table to welcome diners and answer any questions. We will enjoy La Dolce Vita in years to come.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladolcevitacancun, Propietario at La Dolce Vita, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you very much, and we´ll be very glad to have you at the restaurant for more years. Thanks for your preference.
Greetings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Du Bois, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful service and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Great little restaurant that really makes you feel special. Expect to spend a few hours here, they kept bringing us appetizers on the house. Our only disappointment was that they weren't open on Sundays, but their other restaurant in the hotel zone was.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladolcevitacancun, Propietario at La Dolce Vita, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your comment.
We are so glad you enjoyed your food and our service. Also very happy you visited our hotel zone restaurant.
Hope to see you guys very soon down town.
Greetings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Dolce Vita also viewed

Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to La Dolce Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing