We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality has declined, but still better than most”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Captain's Cove

Captain's Cove
Ranked #52 of 946 Restaurants in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Restaurant owned by Royal Resorts Group , which specializes is the fresh fish and seafood in addition to a wide variety of choices for all tastes. We have a privileged view of the Nichupte Lagoon and every afternoon we can watch the awesome sunset of the Mexican Caribbean with the crocodiles who visit us each evening.
Level Contributor
361 reviews
354 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Quality has declined, but still better than most”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Have eaten here several times, but not for the last couple of years. Prime rib was a little skimpy, but done perfectly.seafood with pasta was excellent, lots of seafood and pasta was not overcooked. Sauce could have been a little spicier. However, I think the quality has gone down since being added to the all-inclusive program, particularly the potatoes and other sides like the rice and vegetables. Seems like the portion sizes have decreased as well. Still a better dining experience than most restaurants in cancun

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank kjm55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,167
    626
    240
    69
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morris Plains, New Jersey
Level Contributor
64 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Service, Great Food and an Outstanding View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

My family and another family were staying at two of the Royal Resorts locations in Cancun as we had several times before. We decided to re-visit the Captain's Cove Restaurant. This is across the main street from the Royal Mayan/Caribbean/Islander group in the hotel zone.

Next door to Captain's Cove is Pancho and Willy's, one of the seemingly endless number of bars in Cancun. This one is a little more tame than most and served as a good waiting area before our reservation time at Captain's Cove.

At Captain's Cove the food was very good and moderately priced and if you are staying at a Royal Resorts property you get a 10% discount. The sunset view is extraordinary with most tables right on the lagoon or bay side of the land strip. Though mainly a seafood place my skirt steak dish (Arrachera (sp?)) was very good. Others had seafood and all were complimentary, especially of the shrimp dishes.Service was very attentive.

Afterward you can take the complimentary shuttle bus back to any of the Royal Resorts properties in Cancun.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to grab a drink and watch sunset over lagoon.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Great place to grab a drink and watch sunset over lagoon. Can use your Royal Resorts key card there, shuttle goes once an hour on the hour...or just enjoy the walk up/down the Royal Resorts driveway.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Fabulous place!! Sat outdoors and watched the sun go down... and then the alligators came out in the lagoon. Very picturesque! Our food was wonderful and the wait staff was beyond our expectations. The price was equivalent to food quality. Would definitely go back!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Caitlin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Tourist trap”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

OK, it is good looking place. Outdoor lagoon view was nice. Nice staff.
But food was just too pricey for the quality. Everything tasted like it was cooked in advance and just scooped out to serve. My prime rib came with thick gravy that I am sure came from some can. I had better shrimp cocktail @ TGIF. Dessert was dry and stale.... face it, it's nothing but a tourist trap!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank badelicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain's Cove also viewed

 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 
Yucatan Peninsula, Mexico
 

Been to Captain's Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing