We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great!”

Altamar Restaurante Espanol
Ranked #317 of 951 Restaurants in Cancun
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Dinner was great! I ordered grilled whole red snapper (you can choose grilled or fried). It was the biggest red snapper I had, 800grams for MXN$169. And it was good! I ate the whole thing! Just be careful, it is a little bony. And also the guacamole was fresh and it tasted good. The staff were friendly and accomodating as well. Prices are average. And free wifi.

Helpful?
Thank Kickzly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    16
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Friendly Hospitality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Great Mexican hospitality, good food and drinks all at very reasonable prices. We enjoyed our visit and conversation with waiter Rosario. We had watched many people walking by and appreciated the quieter atmosphere. Would definitely go back.

If you go in the evening on a weekend it is worthwhile to visit the local park less than half a block down the lane from the restaurant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 2fromBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polmont, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Loved it here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

The food was excellent ate here a few times. Sat and had a few drinks most nights.
Great place to people watch
Gregory and Naz are very entertaining waiters, felt each time we were sitting with true friends.
If your Downtown Cancun definitely worth a visit

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank duckyjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
581 reviews
374 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Ate There Twice - Awesome Fish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Tried this place on a whim when Gregory dragged us off the sidewalk on Ave Tulum into his restaurant. The two for 1 drinks were tempting...but then, almost all Cancun restaurants offer this. We were also intrigued by the Yucatan Tik n Chik fish dish - a whole fish, grilled with tomatoes, onions, and othe vegetables. We tried the grouper and red snapper prepared this way. Best ever! On the two nights we ate there, we also tried the grouper filet prepared with garlic, the shrimp/ fish brochettes, and the squid. They also have your basic Mexican offerings, but between Pik Nik, Pescaditos, and this spot, we got our fill of fish! You'll know Gregory by his laugh!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank dkm57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delavan, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
188 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“"Go for the ceviche"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Friendly restaurant with 2 for 1 drinks and very good fresh tasting ceviche. Good place to stop and rest your feet and watch people in downtown Cancun.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zimmys57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Altamar Restaurante Espanol also viewed

Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Altamar Restaurante Espanol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing