We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Destileria

La Destileria
Ranked #41 of 882 Restaurants in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: One of the best Mexican restaurants in Cancun. There is a spectacular view of the lagoon and a unequal ambience. The contemporary Mexican cuisine includes a variety of typical dishes and creations of the chef with authentic Mexican flavors. El mejor restaurante de cocina mexicana en Cancun. Espectacular vista a la laguna y ambiente sinigual. Nuestra cocina mexicana contemporanea ofrece una variedad de platillos tipicos asi como creaciones de nuestro chef con el autentico sabor mexicano.
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We ate here during our stay in Cancun and it was wonderful. Some of the best food we have ever had. It is a must do if you are staying in Cancun.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnaTMasters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    578
    384
    122
    49
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
109 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Beautiful Lagoon View”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We found the lagoon view pretty but the food was not as good as some of the other out of the way restaurants in the area where we have eaten. The chicken dishes we had were dry and did not have much taste. The service was good. The prices were reasonable for the area since you could walk and not take a taxi. The margaritas were probably the best...This tends to be a tourist type restuarant and we like to "eat more of the local culture and in smaller restaurants. If I had to compare--I would say this restaurant is like a chain type --like a Mexican Chilli's or Applebees.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 2travelisgreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton,NJ
Level Contributor
79 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great food. Great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

If you stay at the Westin, remember to ask for the free drink. It's fruity, low on alcohol, but tasty and refreshing.

The staff was very friendly and accommodating ( we had 15 people and needed 4 separate checks) and made us feel very welcome.
The food was great. I had a salmon dish with fresh red onions in a creamy sauce and it was one of the best salmon dishes that I've had so far.
I highly recommend this place.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jmathew22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, PR
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“¡La Destileria es Deliciosa!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed at an all-inclusive and decided to try out a Mexican restaurant as recommended by our hotel concierge. It turned out to be decadent! Everything we tried was fantastic - the margaritas, the queso fundido and the molcajetes (see pictures, they tell the story). Our waiter, Luis, was hilarious and very knowledgeable. While there is a nice outdoor terrace overlooking the mangroves/lagoon, it was a hot Summer evening, so we ended up moving back indoors. Tip - If you don't like roving mariachis playing next to you while you eat, make sure to be seated as far away from them as we did.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“cancun restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

One of the best Mexican restaurants I have ever been to.. the service was excellent and the food was fantastic.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 60864Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Destileria also viewed

 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to La Destileria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing