We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Calakmul Archaeological Zone
from $681.00
More Info
Reviews (458)
Filter reviews
458 results
Traveler rating
385
57
7
5
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
385
57
7
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews howler monkeys the main road biosphere reserve off the beaten path hour drive mayan sites ancient city bring plenty of water early in the morning maya site large site off limits pot holes nearest town rental car long trip we spent hours
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 458 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2019 via mobile

These are beautiful ruins. Off the beaten path and it takes a while to get there. Make sure you fill up at Xujpil because there isn't fuel between there and the ruins. Make sure you hire a guide as the site is absolutely huge and you could get lost. Also there isn't a ton of information on the signs. You'll get a lot more out of your visit with a guide. We had Jacob who was excellent. He spent the whole afternoon with us, knows a lot of the history and information about the ruins. Saw spider and howler monkeys, toucans, turkeys and a coati. Lovely place.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Cynthia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2019

Check out Calakmul for Mayan architecture. Great buildings and structures. If you like to walk this is for you. Watch where you step and especially if you want to climb any of the structures. Don't forget the cold water to keep hydrated. Wear good hiking shoes and sunscreen or long sleeves.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank sandramerwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2019

60 km deep in the Jungle, very tall (around 50 meters tall) pyramids to climb, view is one of a kind when you are standing at the top of the pyramids. We have seen monkeys, many birds, tarantulas during our stay. Total entrance fee is not more that 200 pesos/person, which is really reasonable. Definitely the most impressive ruins I have ever seen in Mexico.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank GabriellaP1468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2019 via mobile

It’s not easy to get here, but when you do, you will not regret. Well worth to go with a guide. It’s in the middle of the jungle so there is a great chance you’ll get to see all kinds of animals and birds. If the day is clear, you can also see all the way to El Mirador in Guatemala from the top of the pyramids. There is only about a 100 people visiting a day, so you mostly have the whole area to yourself. Great experience!

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank SynneG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2019

We have visited just about all the major Mayan sites in the Yucatan and wanted to see Calakmul. As others have mentioned, the road to the site is not very good, I think it took us a good 90 minutes to travel to the site from the highway. There are some really bad pot holes on the road, some that would have half swallowed our rental car.

The site itself is impressive, although very much in the jungle, maybe even part of the jungle. I couldn't help but think that if some of the trees were cleared out and the facilities improved it would be one of the better Mayan sites. Unfortunately given the expense of a project like that, it will probably never happen.

As it is if someone asked me if it was worth the trip to visit, I'm not sure I would recommend it. It's interesting to see what a major Mayan city looks like after it was reclaimed by the jungle, but to me it doesn't compare with sites like Uxmal or Chichen Itza.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank MGG56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews