We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Ruins for a Short Visit”
Review of Dzibichaltun

More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This is the oldest Mayan city within seventy-five mile radius of Cancun: historians date it between 1200 to 100 BC.
Topeka
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Ruins for a Short Visit”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We went to Dzibichaltun as our primary activity from a cruise ship stop in February 2013. We got off the ship around 8 am and the tour, which we had prepaid for in advance through autoprogreso, did not begin until 11 am, so we spent the morning in Progreso. This was probably the most disappointing part of our stop, as Progreso is not too extensively developed for tourism and we did not have much to do besides walk around town, with many parts of town being run down and the vendors being quite pushy. On our next trip, we plan to go to Chichen Itza because the tour takes the whole day and we enjoyed Dziblchaltun.
The ruins are well maintained and there are a few nice gardens leading up to the ruins. We walked around the primary site after our guide gave us a 20 minute talk on the history of the area. The cenote was beautiful and we wished we had brought bathing suits and towels. We did spend some time walking down to the Temple of the Seven Dolls which was as impressive as the rest of the site, and we were glad we took the time to make the walk. We went to visit on a Monday, so the Museam was closed, but there were shops open. I had pesos from going to an ATM in town and I had no problem using them to buy soda and souveniers here, and my husband also used American dollars. The vendors here are polite and not pushy and have some cute little items at reasonable prices. All together, this trip including the 20 minute drive each way lasted about 3 hours. I paid $29 per person online in advance, and the trip was well worth it. We probably spent another $20 in souveniers and snacks, all reasonably priced.
It is good to note they do not allow large bags in the ruins themselves, so they told us we could use a locker at the restroom area or leave our large bags on our bus. Luckily, I had bought a very small purse in town, so I grabbed my credit cards, cash and IDs and threw them in there and left everything else on the bus.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank jkm123Topeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    6
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maumee, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“First visit to Mayan Ruins”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

The Dzibichaltin Ruins were a great first time excursion to a ruin site. We did the tour from the Progreso cruise ship port and purchased from Autoprogreso tours right off the cruise ship. The bus transportation was very clean, modern & air conditioned!! The tour guide gave lots of great information on the drive there (approx 20 minutes) and also during the walking tour of the ruins. No bags are allowed at the ruins. They do offer a free "coat check" for your belongings, which was nice. The ruins themselves were amazing to explore! The cenote was beautiful and so refreshing to swim or just dip your toes in! Lots of Iguanas were spotted also!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaBags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, LA
Level Contributor
84 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“The cenote is the star of this attraction...”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

The ruins are impressive, well maintained and nice to be able to actually climb up them...however, swimming in the gorgeous crystal clear freshwater cenote was the highlight of our trip. Highly recommend.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank sweetsinclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great for first experience.”
Reviewed January 26, 2012

My family visited here while in port on a cruise. The guides we had were excellent. Visiting the site without them would not have been as educational, although interpretive signs are posted at various buildings in English, Spanish, and Maya. We swam in the cenote and it was very refreshing. There is a gift shop and clean restrooms. Large bags must be put in "lockers" at the entrance.

Helpful?
Thank wdbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
152 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Decent Maya ruin to visit if you're on a cruise that stops at the port of Progreso”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

The nicest thing about this small ruin is the Temple of the Seven Dolls. There's also a small cenote at the site, as well as a decent museum.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank mayaruinsonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dzibichaltun also viewed

Hampolol, Yucatan Peninsula
Maxcanu, Yucatan Peninsula
 
Yucatan Peninsula, Mexico
Campeche, Yucatan Peninsula
 

Been to Dzibichaltun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing