We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Flamingo's fly”

Celestun Wildlife Refuge
Book In Advance
More Info
$69.00*
and up
Day Trip to Celestun: Flamingos, Mangrove Boat Ride and Beach Break
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This preserve is important as a main area in the migratory and reproductive cycle of pink flamingoes, and other coastal birds.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Flamingo's fly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

We have been here several times and enjoy seeing the flamingoes up close. The number of birds you will see varies. We have consistently visited the third week in December and have seen hundreds and even thousands of birds at a time. So many in fact that the horizon is orange before you see the birds.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingtime6244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    56
    15
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Only one flamingo but plenty of adventure....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We went on the Mayan Heritage tour of the Celestun estuary with our guide Gabriel. There were fourteen of us and we paid 600 pesos each without lunch, (700 with, if I had my time again, I'd pay the extra 100 pesos). Essentially, you get driven to the Celestun estuary via some very interesting Mayan villages, with Gabriel giving us the good oil in both English and Spanish. We arrive at the estuary and then its a tour of the mangroves, with a number of stops to look at the wildlife. Sadly, the flamingos weren't in residence, but we did see a number of our remarkable feathered friends, including some bright pink spoonbills. The highlight however, was a walking tour through the mangroves in which we were taken to a fresh water spring, feeding into the estuary in which we could swim. Even more amazing was the fact that we were sharing the spring with a couple of alligators, who, thankfully, seemed more or less disinterested in feeding on us. High adventure indeed! Our guide assured us we were safe and it turned out to be true. Then it was back in the car for the short trip to Celestun itself. Along the way, we saw a flamingo! But only one and he was a very long way away. But nonetheless, mission accomplished. At Celestun we ate in a very enjoyable beach side restaurant, with everyone getting deeply into the spirit of the day, drinking cervezas and tequila and generally having a great time before a quick dip in the Caribbean. . Gabriel was brilliant the whole way and made sure we had an excellent day. Highly recommended.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank tamaramaqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greendell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
141 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Don't miss this experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

There is nothing else like this anywhere! This was my favorite piece of my Yucatan tour with Trafalgar. We went out in motor boats to where the Flamingos feed in the wild- and there was somewhere between 25-50,000 of them! I have never seen anything like it before and probably never will again. It was SO BEAUTIFUL! The boat ride was fun (and scarey). after we left the feeding grounds, we went to the cenote and it was cool & refreshing there on the boarkwalk in the woods. After that we went thru the mangroves in our boats and then back to port. All in all, it was a wonderful way to spend a morning doing something you could't possibly do anywhwere else! LOVED IT! Thank You UNESCO for preserving this site.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Moosebear425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Enjoyable boat tour, but expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Was expensive for my wife and I (about $100 total), as we didn't share a boat with anybody else, which I'd do if we went again. We did see lots of birds, but not the thousands of flamingos that are here at other times of the year. Saw about 100 flamingos, many pelicans, frigates, stilts, and cormorants. Took a little tour into the mangrove swamp, which was eerily beautiful.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank johnyoung22222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredible experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We visited the wildlife refuge in March, and there were lots of flamingos to see. You come over abridge into Celestun, the boats are immediately on the left. We quickly found a French couple to share a boat with us. The four of us took the two hour trip. The flamingos were truly amazing, a bsolutely the most beautiful graceful of birds, standing in the water and occasionally flying. There were hundred of them. This was an unforgettable experience. Besides the flamingo's, there were pelicans, something the guide called a kingfisher although very different from what I know by that name, and some other birds I will have to look up. Celestun was also an interesting Town, very windy but lots of restaurants and a few interesting looking places to stay.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank missmykitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Celestun Wildlife Refuge also viewed

 

Been to Celestun Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing