We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and refreshing- not commercialize”
Review of Cenote Azul

Cenote Azul
Book In Advance
More Info
$62.50*
and up
Chichen Itza Tour with Cenote Swim from Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Freshwater lagoon perfect for swimming.
vermont
Level Contributor
92 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Beautiful and refreshing- not commercialize”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Our family loves to find Cenotes that aren't too built up. It's a great way to cool off in the afternoon- Cenote Azul is just south of Cenote Jardin on Route 307 around marker 268km- south of Playa Del Carmen but North of Akumal (about 10 mins). It's 70 pesos per adult and 40 per young child. This is a deep lagoon-ish cenote with a rocks for jumping and lounging about. Clean spot, lovely and no tour buses!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    581
    301
    61
    6
    7
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Post Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Alone in paradise.”
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

If you want to visit a quiet cenote, Cenote Azul is the place for you. We visited several, & it was quietest by far. The area was beautiful. The water was crystal clear & loaded with fish. The price was 70 pesos per person. We took the advice of other folks on Tripadvisor, and asked for a ticket to visit the 2nd cenote down the road about 100 meters (no extra charge). We were the only people there for a long time. Very cool! If you visit Cenote Azul, you really must ask about the other. They're quite different. Azul is more open the & other cave like. The staff directed us to both.

Helpful?
8 Thank jeninidaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“An inexpensive treat!”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed at the Barceló Maya Tropical Feb 2013 and had read about the cenotes across the street. Azul was 1000 meters from the Barceló Beach Lobby so one afternoon we decided we would check it out.

We walked out of the Barceló complex, crossed the Highway and walked by 3 other cenote entrances to get to Azul. Entrance fee was 70 pesos per person and we had our own snorkel gear so didn’t have to rent any. The main entrance was very close to the highway and it had bathrooms and snacks for sale as well as fish food. You walk through the jungle on a path past 2 smaller centoes then get to the large one.

There is a dock jutting out over it as well as a cliff to jump from on the opposite side a little path with benches around the lagoon. We had a lot of fun during our afternoon there – snorkelling, jumping off the cliff and exploring under the cave that over hangs part of the cenote.

We really enjoyed our time there – it was short jaunt off the resort, very inexpensive, pretty, and a lot of fun!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ceedee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey CI
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A wonderful oasis of beauty and tranquility”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We were staying at the Barcelo Maya Beach directly across the road from the Cenote Azul. (Looking at the reviews there seem to be 2 different Cenote Azuls mixed up here - this was the Highway 307 one) My wife did plenty of Tripadvisor research before our holiday, and had spotted this, so we went to check it out.
Sure enough, it was utterly lovely. Most of the small crowd were apparently locals. It is an unpretentious swimming hole and picnic spot, not a Tourist Attraction, with all the razzmatazz that entails. As a family, we all prefer nature to razzmatazz anyway, so that was just fine with us. From the kiosk, where they charge a modest $70mxp each to enter and fish food at $5 a bag, you walk down a path into the trees, passing a couple of small fish-filled cenotes. Then you come to the main pool. This is about 15 yards by 50 yards, ringed by woodland except one low cliff opposite the end of the main path. The water is clean, blue and mostly shallow, but deep in places, and abundantly stocked with fish. Not being a particularly keen swimmer, I sat on a bench and enjoyed the fish, birds and lizards, while my much more aquatic wife and daughters spent a couple of happy hours swimming, snorkelling, and interacting with the fish. (And a couple of jumps off the 12ft mini-cliff) A marvellous place to get away from it all, even the rest of your holiday!
So, the next day, we went back for more. This time, we were offered a free pass to also visit the other Cenote the owners had on their farm a few yards up the road by our hotel's gateway. (It had been booked up the previous day) Thus, after another long session at the main pool, we went along to the farm and were directed to the other one. This Cenote is more of a cave than an open hole, although one end is open, with the rope swing. Much fun was had with the rope, but take care if you have a go - my wife sprained her finger with a fumbled release. A different variation on the same nature, water and peace recipe, and we had it completely to ourselves.
If you went to the quieter part of the Riviera Maya because it is quiet, and especially if you are at the Barcelo complex and can walk there, and want a low-key chill-out zone with trees and fish, El Cenote Azul is where you should go. It is beautiful, has lots of fish and birds, and the owners are not greedy or cynical in how they run it.

Helpful?
6 Thank TheSingingCowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Low Key Paradise”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This cenote is a great way to avoid the crowds. Romantic, tropical, and visually stunning. Be sure to buy the fish food (for a nominal fee) for a unique interactive experience with the fish.

It may look shallow, be we had no problems jumping and diving off the deck and the rock ledge.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank seabrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cenote Azul also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Yucatan, Yucatan Peninsula
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Cenote Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing