We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gran Hotel Diligencias
Ranked #6 of 80 Hotels in Veracruz
Certificate of Excellence
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

Stayed here in two rooms with my kids age 10 and 12. Hotel was beautiful and staff gracious and very friendly (although we were the scruffiest people here). Our rooms on second floor overlooked pool and square with amazing double-paned windows. Could open to hear all the great marimba and other music every night of week or close to here nothing.

Couldn't speak more highly of this place.

Room Tip: Room overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 108Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    116
    23
    7
    8
See reviews for
91
96
20
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

Great location and the windows are well insulated for sound. Wifi actually works well from anywhere.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 92012traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

My husband and I stayed one night (November 20, 2011) at this hotel as part of a tour group. It was very conveniently located facing onto the square. This was a Sunday night - there were vendors selling local handicrafts in the square as well as entertainment in the evening on the stage in the square. Lots of local families milling about. Not too many tourists.
The hotel was very nice and the meals were very good. Staff were very courteous and efficient. Our room was very large, facing out onto the pool and the square and right next to the elevator but it wasn't too noisy. Had a nice Mexican colonial feel and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calgary-visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

I liked this hotel. It's in the center of Vera Cruz in front of the plaza where there is entertainment in the evenings. You can walk to all of the shops and to the water front 2 blocks away. The hotel had a nice old-fashioned Mexican flavor. The restaurant was good, the staff was friendly. I would recommend this hotel if you're going to Vera Cruz.

Room Tip: Can't really say.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reeennneee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

I recently stayed at the hotel for two nights. The rooms are spacious, the location on the zocalo is perfect. The staff was efficient and courteous. The restaurant is outstanding, the seafood delicious. The nicest hotel I've stayed in during my seven years in Mexico. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: The best views are of the zocalo
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

My husband and I stayed in the hotel for 16 nights. We found the hotel clean and comfortable and all staff were friendly and courteous at all times. The room was large and had adequate space and bathroom facilities. We used the swimming pool which was cleaned and checked each morning. The hotel was quiet as we were staying outside of the main tourist season. We ate breakfast in the Villa Rica restaurant. We paid 115 pesos each for a buffet breakfast. The hotel bar and Villa Rica restaurant were both well priced and food was to a good standard. Whilst staying we used the tour company Amphibian which is based in the reception area of the Hotel Colonial. Both trips were well organised and we had English speaking guides. We would recommend the hotel for location as it is close to the main promenade and the zocalo.

Room Tip: A room over the zocalo gives an excellent view. Room was quiet with the window/doors shut.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

It is a beautiful hotel clean spacious and centrally located, you can walk anywhere or take a taxi right in front. The restaurant is beautiful and the service on point. Have the Red Snapper it's to die for and the Fish/Octopus/Shrimp tacos assortment !! I will come back in Dec.

FYI to save on transportation ride the BLUE or YELLOW bus to Boca Del Rio blue has no AC 8 pesos yellow with AC 10 pesos. You must have a capuchino or latte and people watch sooooo awsome!!!

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to reserve along with your purchase of ticket. I had someone who I knew and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dorisc569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Veracruz hotels
0.3 mi away
Emporio Veracruz
Emporio Veracruz
#1 of 80 in Veracruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Veracruz
0.0 mi away
Veracruz Centro Historico
Veracruz Centro Historico
#5 of 80 in Veracruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Fiesta Americana Veracruz
Fiesta Americana Veracruz
#2 of 80 in Veracruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Meson del Mar
Hotel Meson del Mar
#11 of 80 in Veracruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Veracruz - Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Diligencias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Diligencias

Property: Gran Hotel Diligencias
Address: Avenida Independencia 1115 | Zona Centro, Veracruz 91700, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Veracruz > Veracruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Veracruz
#3 Business Hotel in Veracruz
#4 Romantic Hotel in Veracruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gran Hotel Diligencias 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Hotel Diligencias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Veracruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing