We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best steak in Veracruz! Lo mejor bistek en Veracruz!”
Review of El Cacharrito

El Cacharrito
Ranked #13 of 183 Restaurants in Veracruz
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mesquite, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Best steak in Veracruz! Lo mejor bistek en Veracruz!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Para leer en espanol mira abajo...

This place is my favorite for steak. The ribeye was awesome and cooked to perfection. The service was very good. The employees here are clearly trained to attend to the guests promptly. It is pricey, but the quality is on par with Ruth's Chris or another high end steakhouse.

Este restaurante es mi favorito en Veracruz. El bistec estaba muy sabroso y cocinado hasta perfeccion. El servicio es muy bueno. Siempre hay un mesero cerca para cualquier cosa que nececita. Si, es caro, pero vale la pena.

Buen provecho!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyber B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    55
    20
    6
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“good meet, good argentinean connection”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The argentinean meat is the best I have ever try and so the standard are high, particularly if you name your restaurant on behalf of this country. Well this was a good exponent of this quality, being so far from the southern cone, the meat was amazing. they have a good menu of wines form argentina too and the beside all of that they are in front of the sea. The waitress are good, they know what they are selling and are very kind.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxBello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Incredible beef, great atmosphere, excellent service!”
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

We arrived on a busy time. A group of 8 people. The place was crowded.. Despite that, they gave us an excellent table since the plase is very roomie. They offered the grilled octopus which resulted to be one of the best dishes I've ever tasted. In general, all other entreès were very good.

Then we ordered main dishes, and I was again very well surprised with one of the best rib eyes I've tasted in my life.

To finish, as a courtesy, they served us a variation of a local dessert which is the "platano macho"... What a dish!!

The wine menu was ok and they had a certified sommelier to guide you on wine selection.

Service was also really great, supervised by the owner.

The only missing thing is that they don't have a play ground for children, so we had to go earlier than we wished.

Good experience! I'll be back!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JITD57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veracruz,Mexico
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Angus Steak”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Best Angus Steak in Mexico.
Tasted VS restaurants in San Antonio,TX
Better than : Ruth´s Chris, Outback, Saltgrass and Texas Land & Cattle.
I need to go: Flemmings, Bohannon, Fogo de Chao, Kirby´s and Morton.
In the meantime, go for thsi restaurant.
The dark note: the owner was very ·$%/)(YV/$··%&/HUHJ:::::--- for many years ...... unfriendly !
I went last week and he was different.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank galat29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

I have been to this restaurant 3 or 4 times before.
Beautiful restaurant with a remarkable service and the best thing is of course the meat.
I have never in my life tasted better meat then at El Cacharrito.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lars M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Cacharrito also viewed

Veracruz, Veracruz
 
Veracruz, Veracruz
Veracruz, Veracruz
 

Been to El Cacharrito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing