We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good mix of hacienda and america”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Veracruz - Centro Historico
Ranked #14 of 75 Hotels in Veracruz
Reviewed May 12, 2013

i thought this hotel was nice. the pool was refreshing. the air conditioning was a welcome comfort in the sweltering heat. some of the annoyances of holiday inn-mexico were apparent: have to ask for internet password and a safe lock, only one internet code per room... but it was a good stay. the building itself is historic too - the church next door has hernan cortez granddaughter buried there, apparently. and the holiday in itself was the first nunnery (?) in the country. pretty cool.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimTran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 101 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Frank O. H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

i agree with the good things that have been said about the architecture and friendly staff. the location is great and the proximity to buses is also very good. my room was really small with two beds. one king would have been better. the gym really did only have three machines and i do not use a rower or a spinner. the pool attractive, clean, and refreshing. true, there are no washcothes, but plenty of hot water. most experienced travelers carry their own washclothes when visiting three star hotels abroad. i have plenty of bottled water to fill my coffee pot. i had a plumbing problem the second night, and by the time i got back from dinner, it was fixed. staff very knowledgeable about the city. no ants, no bugs, and at least for my room, no noise. read the good and the bad, and remember what you are paying and your great location. like most other reviewers, the charming ambience won me over--a welcome sight after a long day of traveing and a long day in a busy city

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

My wife and I spent two nights here. This is NOT your typical Holiday Inn.....and that is a good thing. This HI is quite old and historic with old world charm such as hand painted tiles and high ceilings with wooden beams. The couryard was gorgeous and the small pool in the courtyard very refreshing and inviting. Its proximity to Veracruz's main plaza is another plus. The staff were pleasant and helpful. It is almost impossible for me to believe this is the same hotel that was trashed by the March 1 and 19, 2008 and the June 18, 2009 reviews (below). At any rate, my wife and i cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: I am not sure all rooms face the courtyard. If not, ask for such a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigDolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2010

It’s the most unusual Holiday Inn I’ve been to. It’s situated in old colonial building (17 or 18 century), near zocalo. Rooms are pretty big, with very high ceilings and stylized furniture. Breakfast was mostly Mexican (fried bananas, eggs, potatoes, etc). Free WI-FI (you’ve got to get password from reception) was very weak in the room, had to seat in the patio. Free parking. Staff was amazing…The only minor problem was mosquitoes in our room - we had to buy repellent. Overall, had a great stay, would definitely return.

Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
Thank doctor1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2010

We stayed here 3 nights in March 2010. We had room 105, a gigantic room with 2 double beds, dresser, big TV w/remote, and enough room for a table and 4 chairs or 2 more beds. The floors were tile and the windows overlooked the HI private (free) parking lot. We had a pretty ceramic sink in the bathroom with blue flowers and the sink had hot water.

There are only two floors and all rooms open onto the central courtyard with pool and green space. There is an unmanned business center with large conference table and two free computers and one printer for guest use. I think they also had free Wi-Fi.

The receptionists and other staff are very friendly and helpful and the location is very good . . . almost across the street from the post office and customs house and 2 short blocks from the zocalo.

There are only 2 negatives . . . the lights in the room and bathroom room were so dim, we could hardly see and could not read. This once was a Franciscan monastery and the ceilings are very high . . . and the lights are too high up. We asked to change to a room with better lighting. They did give us a choice of another room, but it was just as dark and a little smaller. BTW, they are in the process of renovating, so hopefully the lighting problem will be addressed.

The other negative is the beds/pillows . . . they are rock hard. We had our own down pillows but we could not overcome the hard beds.

All in all, this is a nice hotel but a little overpriced . . . with taxes (but no breakfast), we paid about $72/nt. Would we stay here again? Probably not . . . we're budget travelers and think we can find something almost as good for about $25 less.

Sandy (in Denton)

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank behrens1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2010

We were in and out of Veracruz 3 times in our two month trip to Mexico. Because of its good value for the $$$ we stayed here each time. This is nothing like what we think of as Holiday Inn in the US, and I mostly mean that in a good way. It's an historic building. The location is super convenient, though it can be loud depending on what may/may not be going on across street. It's just a block or so from zocalo. A few seedy places between it and the zocalo though. Pool and courtyard very pretty. Breakfast (included) is wonderful - lots of fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereals, sweet breads and toast, and two or three hot dish choices (a buffet). GOOD COFFEE (and boy are we picky about that), and efficient service. Great free internet! Excellent help available at contracted tour desk in lobby. Shower fine, beds good. OK TV. Rooms (all 3 that we had) are very musty though and light is very dim.
Staff was very nice and helpful when nudged into service - but most were rather reserved
and not initially forthcoming. We were mostly intent on practicing our Spanish, but when it failed us, we noticed a fair amount of English spoken here . ..

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Veracruz hotels
0.3 mi away
Emporio Veracruz
Emporio Veracruz
#1 of 75 in Veracruz
876 reviews
1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Veracruz
0.1 mi away
Veracruz Centro Historico
Veracruz Centro Historico
#5 of 75 in Veracruz
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Diligencias
Gran Hotel Diligencias
#7 of 75 in Veracruz
303 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fiesta Inn Veracruz Malecon
4.6 mi away
Fiesta Americana Veracruz
Fiesta Americana Veracruz
#2 of 75 in Veracruz
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Veracruz - Centro Historico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Veracruz - Centro Historico

Address: Calle Morelos 225 | Intre Juarez y Emparan, Veracruz 91700, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Veracruz > Veracruz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 75 Hotels in Veracruz
Price Range: $56 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Veracruz - Centro Historico 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOLIDAY INN VERACRUZ-CENTRO HISTORICO, offers excelent services and facilities. Its unique location in the historical Center of Veracruz Port, 10 Km from World Trade Center. Only 3 minutes walking to the principal atraction in Down Town. Also we offer the following services and facilities:* 41 rooms, *4 Suites, * Medical Service * Restaurant 'La Estancia de Boca de Veracruz'* Business Center* Babysitter Service* * Air Conditioning* Safe-deposit box in the room * 2 conventions rooms * Free outdoor parking * TV Satellite Antenna * Laundry and dry cleaning serv. *Gym *Outdoor pool, Room Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Veracruz - Centro Historico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Veracruz
Veracruz Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing