We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Hawaii Veracruz”
Review of Hotel Hawaii

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Hawaii
Ranked #22 of 76 Hotels in Veracruz
Reviewed June 5, 2014

A very nice hotel. very clean with a courteous staff. located across the street from the Malecon numerous restaurants within 3 blocks. Prices are very reasonable. two rooms for 3 adults and one child cost 1150 pesos (about $90 USD). Room service is limited to beverages and snacks, but with so many restaurants close by it's not an issue. They have a secure parking lot behind the hotel. I have stayed here many times since 2005 and never heard any muzak that another reviewer reported and I have been in the elevator with 6 people.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the harbor / Malecon for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 32 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2014

We arrived into Veracruz by rental car in the middle of the night, freaked out at the price of one of the other hotels in this city and came across Hotel Hawaii. First impressions of the full marble foyer and the incredible location were this would be expensive. Well far from it, the room rates for the quality of room, view, cleanliness and location I doubt can be beaten. Parking for the rental car was free and within a secure parking area. Its in the heart of downtown Veracruz. We stayed on the 7th floor, harbour facing with balcony and simply loved our room. Very comfortable. If your on a budget and want to feel like your staying in an upmarket hotel then this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Lift is small. Staff are young and if your lucky you can get some great holiday advice from them bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mexiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

7th floor with balcony. El Centro to port, the harbour and malecon dead ahead and the Gulf of Mexico to starboard. What more could I want! The sparkling marble room was fantastic as was the very clean and functional bathroom. The staff all seemed to be hospitality students so that led to a bit of confusion but otherwise our stay was wonderful.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidRGuanajuato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2011

The Hawaii has ample parking (a commodity in this part of the world) and we checked in easily. The hotel is very largely made of marble - almost to excess but it is very pretty. They have an awful reel of muzak that plays constantly in the lobby, and the elevator will only hold 3 people. The rooms and the view are spectacular. We were on the 7th floor with a private balcony (unfortunately the a/c above dripped directly onto our patio). It is very odd that the pool is adjacent and opens to the hotel laundry. The hot water was great, and the room was beautifully appointed. They also had the quickest laundry service I've ever found.

Room Tip: Centrally located, easy access, parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StuartandDenese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2011

I stayed here with friends who shared another room for one night. the day time staff were excellent, the rooms a little odd and the foyer more like a Mausoleum than a Hotel Foyer - lots of hard white marble everywhere, sounds grand but it isn't.
That night i wished to take a guest back to my room and was barred by the staff and then the Manager who told me to go elsewhere. The reason, my guest was also male and as they said to him "was darker."
I do not support racism or homophobia, I hope you don't either.

Room Tip: Try the places near by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Robwombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2010

The location is awsome- You can not ask for anything else. You are in the middle of town and across the water. You have excellent seafood across your room and souvenirs galore around the corner. Everything you need is in walking distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wu-Drow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2010

This hotel is really a great one for its price and location. And the service received there is always some of the best in my experience in Mexico. I have stayed here 3 or 4 times and I am always impressed by the hospitality and friendliness of the staff. I have stayed at other hotels near the zocalo and the port and all have disappointed but this hotel is a gem. For the price, location and hospitality it can't be beat.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank srv_fan73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Veracruz hotels
0.4 mi away
Mar Y Tierra
Mar Y Tierra
#26 of 76 in Veracruz
134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Emporio Veracruz
Emporio Veracruz
#1 of 76 in Veracruz
866 reviews
0.2 mi away
Veracruz Centro Historico
Veracruz Centro Historico
#5 of 76 in Veracruz
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel & Suites Oriente
Hotel & Suites Oriente
#35 of 76 in Veracruz
69 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baluarte
Hotel Baluarte
#10 of 76 in Veracruz
97 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ruiz Milan
Ruiz Milan
#40 of 76 in Veracruz
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hawaii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hawaii

Address: Calle Paseo Insurgentes Veracruzanos O Paseo Del Malecon No. 458, Veracruz 91709, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Veracruz > Veracruz
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 76 Hotels in Veracruz
Price Range: $47 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Hawaii is one of the best deals in town, offering comfort and service at a reasonable rate. Rooms are impeccably maintained.Restaurant, room service, pool, laundry service, parking (free). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Hawaii reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawaii Hotel Veracruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing