We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the heart of downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Veracruz Centro Historico
Ranked #4 of 76 Hotels in Veracruz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Given the price I paid for my room, I had a great stay. Location is excellent since you are right next to the zocalo. Although our room was not very big, it was clean and comfortable. Also, there was free parking and wi-fi which helped a lot. Was not disappointed at all with my stay at this property.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chepalma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaHVeracruzCH, General Manager at Veracruz Centro Historico, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Thank you for your comments, We greatly aprecciate your preference in your recent stay with us

It will be a pleasure to serve you again in your next visit. Remember The Carnival is just to begin from Feb 25th trough Mar 05, 14.

My best regards

Patricia Ferat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (342)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 342 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

Me he quedado en otros hoteles en la cuidad y aunque la hubicacion de este hotel es insuperable y por fuera parece una belleza la verdad es que las habitaciones dejan mucho que desear, son limpias y espaciosas pero hasta ahi, son viejas y sin mucho afan. Y la razon por la que soy tan particular en esta ocasion es porque por el mismo precio podiamos habernos quedado en el mismo hotel que nos habiamos quedado antes, solo que este fin de semana habia una convencion de motos y bueno Emporio no estaba disponible. Ademas que el personal tambien no era mas que lo eficiente que tenian que ser, nada de una sornisa, en fin si lo puedo evitar no me quedaria otra vez ahi.

I have stayed in other hotels in the area, this time we had to stay here for one nite b/c there was a motorcycle convention so all hotels were booked. The hotel is just fine, amazing location, and the exterior look beautiful but that's it! that were all stops. the rooms are really dated, it really needs a serious update. And finally the staff was also just as helpful as they needed to be, nothing else, NTOHING compared with Emporio (read my review) they are amazing from the moment u step in until u leave (and when u come back they remember u :)) The main reason why I am sort of strict on this review is bc the price was similar to Emporio's only they were not available. I will not recommend anyone to stay there, i will certainly not if I can help it!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mainfu_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

If you are looking for a simple hotel, with great unsophisticated service and the best location in the heart of El Puerto de Veracruz, this hotel is a great option.

you will be walking distance to the main square, and fell the amazing vibe that only Veracruz has. We want to come back soon.

.

Room Tip: My advice will be to request a room overlooking the plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

if you need peace and quite to sleep this is not the place for you
located right off the center where the music is played into the wee hours of the morning
the hallway are tile floors so the voices echo loudly - only had one night of 12 where the front desk was called though due to loud voices in the hall, within minutes it was resolved
the pool is 4ft all around due to no lifeguard on duty, nice and clean everywhere in the hotel and all the staff was very friendly. stayed in the jr suite which was advertised on orbitzs as have a fridge and microwave which did not exist, would i stay here again, probably not due to the loudness overall but we did enjoy our stay in Veracruz Mexico

Room Tip: for noise....not facing the center maybe facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank imat63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2010

Minuscule room at well over $100 dollars - just because it was in the "historical center".
It was clean but old and visibly deteriorating. The shower installations were positively ancient. The front desk was acting as if doing us a favor by booking us. Generally the staff was rather unpleasant and snooty. Would not go back since the "historical center" is nothing but decrepit abandoned buildings and so seems to be the attitude of the whole town..

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brindusa77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2010

It is most unfortunate that what must have been a beautiful historic hotel has been renovated in the style of a motel. What a waste. It is located by the zocalo where all the night life occurs. It's great for people watching, but not if you try to get a good night sleep. This place is SOOO loud! The hallways are tiled so that everyone who walks down the hallway can be heard loud and clear in the room.
Couldn't wait to leave and get a good night sleep somewhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shinsakura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2009

after seeing this hotel at number 29 i was leaning towards hotel hawaii, but we were all pleasantly surprised to find this gem just a block from the zocalo, quiet and near restaruants, city bus tours, etc. we bargained for a great price at the front desk, we were on a motorcycle trip (11 of us) all over mexico. everything was great, our room a little on the small side, but it had all the amenities of a great hotel. el porton restaurant across the street is great, better than the infamous sanborn's downstairs. take the city bus tour that goes to boca del rio, it is inexpensive and gives you a great overview of the city. if you have a vehicule there is free parking around the corner. all in all a great value in a great location. try to be in veracruz city on a weekend, everything is going on all over downtown!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank almo52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Veracruz hotels
0.3 mi away
Emporio Veracruz
Emporio Veracruz
#1 of 76 in Veracruz
866 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mar Y Tierra
Mar Y Tierra
#26 of 76 in Veracruz
134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Veracruz - Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Veracruz
0.0 mi away
Gran Hotel Diligencias
Gran Hotel Diligencias
#6 of 76 in Veracruz
303 reviews
1.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel - Veracruz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Veracruz Centro Historico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veracruz Centro Historico

Address: Avenida Independencia s/n | Esquina Miguel Lerdo, Col. Centro, Veracruz 91700, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Veracruz > Veracruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Veracruz
#5 Family Hotel in Veracruz
Price Range: $41 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Veracruz Centro Historico 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Veracruz Centro Historico, is found and enveloped in an ambiance of traditions and folcklore, surrounded by the sounds of Danzon, Marimba Bands, and strolling Mariachis. The warmth of the people of this Port City and the colorful artisans offering their wares, ads to the experience. Its picturesque Colonial architecture can be readily seen in the Historic Downtown area and from its terrace you can apreciate the beauty of Center Veracruz, capped of by the majestic Cathedral.This wonderful building has being designated a national treasure by the National Institute of Antropology an History. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Veracruz Centro Historico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centro Historico Hotel Veracruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing