We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Hotel Balaju

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Balaju
Ranked #10 of 77 Hotels in Veracruz
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed August 20, 2010

This trip to Veracruz and this hotel was amazing it was like my first getaway with my girlfriend in 3 years, everything was great I really enjoy my stay here. I would say that the 3 days we stay here were beautiful and in peace.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anny8890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    43
    22
    5
    4
See reviews for
33
47
3
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2010

We stayed here for four nights and it's a lovely hotel. The king size bed was very comfortable, the rooms were immaculate and well-equipped (hairdryer, iron, safe, etc.), and I especially enjoyed the "toilet paper" art left by the maid every day. :) The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful, and we ate breakfast at the restaurant every day. Loved the Huevos a la Veracruzana! We had dinner there once too, and it was quite delicious. A nice view of the ocean from our balcony, and I found the hotel to be very quiet for sleeping, which is important to me.

We didn't try out the small pool off the main lobby but I thought it looked very nice!

If you have any interest in animals, definitely check out the little reptile zoo directly next door to the hotel. The animals are in clean, appropriate enclosures and are very well cared-for, and our guide was an enthused veterinary student named Fernando whose English was very helpful, as our Spanish is not good! :)

We thought the rates were a great deal.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank caberwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2010

We spent just one night at the hotel as we had private accomodations elsewhere but it was a great hotel. The people were all very pleasant, the rooms fairly large, clean and comfortable. It is well located, in a quiet area across from the beach near the Aquarium. It is easy to take the bus from there into El Centro or towards Boca Del Rio or a taxi if you prefer. We did eat breakfast at the hotel on several occasions and it was very good. They have a buffet on Sunday which seemed like a good deal but we didn´t try it as I had discovered the Huevos a la Veracruzana and couldn´t pass them up.

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Member808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earth
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2009

We went to Veracruz on a spontaneous idea for a long weekend, we had done no research what so ever and arrived at 5:30 am from Mex City with no room to go to. We saw the Balaju but figured it was too expensive so we wondered the streets for 2 hours with the luggage and visited about 7-8 hotels until we took a taxi back. It is a brand new hotel on the seafront road. Room was 900MXN($63), big enough with a king size bed, a desk for my laptop and free WiFi. Friendly staff eager to get a good reputation, restaurant had very decent prices and selection and 90pesos Mexican breakfast buffet. Located next to the aquarium it was a good location. We decided to stay an extra night because we liked the room so much and it beat taking a bus to explore the state. We then discovered Main square by night, Cuban music and street dancing. Great weekend, great hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bananaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Veracruz hotels
1.0 mi away
Emporio Veracruz
Emporio Veracruz
#1 of 77 in Veracruz
839 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Veracruz
0.7 mi away
Mar Y Tierra
Mar Y Tierra
#29 of 77 in Veracruz
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel - Veracruz
1.2 mi away
Veracruz Centro Historico
Veracruz Centro Historico
#5 of 77 in Veracruz
323 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Veracruz - Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Balaju? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Balaju

Property: Hotel Balaju
Address: Boulevard Manuel Avila Camacho # 1371 | Colonia Flores Magón, Veracruz 91900, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Veracruz > Veracruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 77 Hotels in Veracruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Balaju 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Balaju reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing