We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent Stay in an Old Hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel De La Borda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel De La Borda
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Taxco
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Decent Stay in an Old Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

First the positives
- Great views of the city
- Cheap
- Heritage property
- Extremely friendly and helpful staff
- great balconies with lovely views of the city to sit with friends and have a drink
- Great garden

Negatives
- Majorly Run down
- Old linen. hard pillows
- Moldy bathrooms with rusting taps/ showers
- Restaurant/ kitchen ...nothing to write about though they did charge my 10 pesos for a bowl of ice
- No air conditioning in the rooms. As it was hot had to ask for fans which I had to carry from the reception as no one else was around. And also no intercom in the room

Okay for an overnight stay like what we did but would not recommend it for longer stays. We just spent the night in the room and had some late night drinks in the balcony. But that´s it. It´s ok to rough it out with friends. Am going again next week with my parents to celebrate Mom´s birthday but would definitely not take them here.

Btw...no fitness center and no room service.

And also...after a very long time saw the old TVs with round backs (the one´s which had cylinders in them not like the flat screens of today)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mani D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    9
    13
    14
    39
See reviews for
23
27
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davilla, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

We have stayed at the de la Borda for several years now. Our first stay was by accident. We had a problem with the rental car (it lost power in one cylinder) and could not make it up the hills into the main part of town but was able to pull the hill to de la Borda. We have stayed here regularly since. If you are expecting a US luxury hotel, you will be disappointed. But it is what it is. The hotel is old (but my wife says everything in Taxco is old). It is across the main road from the town and is quiet and has beautiful views of the city. As I always do in Mexico, I negotiate the rate and was able to get a rate a little lower than half the rate on the web site. I did it by email the last two visits. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. Many have been here for the more than 20 years we have been coming. Some speak English and all are gracious with my poor Spanish. Parking is included and that is quite a premium in Taxco. We usually park our car and take a taxi (about $2 US) or the collectiva (local bus, about 35 cents) into town.

There is a small restaurant located by the pool. The pool has a large patio with tremendous views and a very laid back atmosphere. If you like action, partying and discos you will be sorely disappointed. But if you want a quiet, simple place to relax and understand it is an old hotel with some issues (the beds are soft, the pillows hard, the towels scratchy and there are traces of mold on the ceiling in the shower) the rooms are large and the staff accommodating. We like the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billybob76511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

Stayed here in Nov 2011 as part of a tour group. This place has great views of Taxco but is very run down - for eg shabby bathroom (peeling plaster, and paint), bedlinen ancient, live wires hanging from the ceiling, rusty windows - and in a remote part of the town. It could do with a major makeover.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelandwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Taxco hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

This hotel is located on a side hill that overlooks the city from behind the city. It nighttimes views are spectacular for the large patio. The rooms are large some have tv some dont. This is not a modern hotel and lack modern faciliites. I would stay there a night for the view and a look at how something grand hotel may of once been. The pool is opened but not heated or well maintained. Luggage is difficult to move up down stairs to various floor spread around the grounds that are spacious. The reception area is not modern. All in all if you go there expecting a 70's style of service then you wont be disappointed. It is in disrepair but probably becasue it is so big there is not enough money or business to change anything. it has grand ballroom that is rustic and little used. I would go there agian because I dont expect much. If you want to be disconnected from the cyber world just stay here.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abt188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2010

The rooms I was in were very large and nice. The staff was also very helpful and spoke english. After returning to the room we found out the light in the bathroom did not work and the staff quickly moved us to another room. There are no wash clothes or alarm clock, and the beds are hard, but that is all very typical of a hotel in Mexico. You can walk to the square from the hotel, but it is quite a walk. There is also a very steep incline to get to the reception desk so if you have trouble walking this hotel is not for you.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenlynn2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2010

We went to Taxco in February 2009 to scout possible locations for our wedding as well as hotels for our guests to stay at. We were so impressed with the location, feel, and warmth of the staff at Hotel de la Borda that we decided to do both right on site.
We brought 34 guests (ranging in age from 4 months to about 68) in November 2009. The hotel staff was very easygoing with our wedding plans - they basically let us do whatever we wanted. We could give them one day's notice or less that we would be having a group meal in the restaurant, and they would do it. A few people didn't like their rooms, they changed them immediately. We wanted to book a bus to take us to nearby sites, and they did it for the next day (and at a decent price). They gave us an unbeatable price for the wedding itself and let us pretty much have the run of the place. The food was unreal - they even included local delicacies such as a salsa made from jumiles (bugs!!). Many of our guests have told us that it was the best wedding they have ever been to, which is an honour for both us and for the hotel.
Make no mistake - we wanted to offer our guests a more 'authentic' experience than what you can get at a resort on the beach, and we prepped them for an adventure that wouldn't be 100% smooth at all times. WIth that in mind, the staff at Borda rose to the challenge and exceeded our expectations in every way.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2010

This is without doubt the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Maintenance in this hotel is non existant and I am guessing it is only a matter of time before the owners have to close the place. It is completely run down and the service is very average. The only thing this place has going for it is it's location.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank champagnesupern0va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taxco hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Real de San Diego
Hotel Real de San Diego
#11 of 24 in Taxco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Agua Escondida
Hotel Agua Escondida
#6 of 24 in Taxco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Emilia
Hotel Emilia
#12 of 24 in Taxco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Montetaxco
Hotel Montetaxco
#2 of 24 in Taxco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mi Casita
Hotel Mi Casita
#5 of 24 in Taxco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.3 mi away
Posada de San Javier
Posada de San Javier
#10 of 24 in Taxco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De La Borda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De La Borda

Property: Hotel De La Borda
Address: Cerro del Pedregal 2, Taxco 40230, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Taxco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Taxco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De La Borda 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel De La Borda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Borda Taxco
De La Borda Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing