We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Agua Escondida
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Taxco
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The hotel is nice, quite basic, but clean with very friendly staff. The hotel has parking which is great in Taxco, as there is no street parking and didn't see that many car parks.
There is no air conditioning in the rooms, so had to leave the window open, and unfortunately the noise from the street can be a bit loud at night, so perhaps ask for a room away from the street.
The location is fantastic, right on the square.
Overall a good hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PamM00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

45 - 51 of 324 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

Terrific hotel...rooms clean (not large), great patio off room and pool area very nice...lots of patios...great check-in and most helpful...just a great surprise in an incredible city. Don't miss the city and the hotel, right on the zocolo is perfect.

Room Tip: just ask for an upgraded room...maybe a few bucks more but still a deal...room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kwdoug1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

stayed 1 night here on trip to Taxco.hotel is in a fantastic location right in the centre of town and benefits from its own indoor secure car park.check in was fast and efficient and all rooms were ready before advertised check in time.there are plenty of terraces with amazing views of the city and mountains and a large roof top pool.superior rooms were clean and spacious,ours had a fan but the two other rooms did not as hotel did not have enough for all rooms so were very hot.we had a deal that included breakfast which was very good as was the lunch we ate there.rooms are all key cards so nice and secure.a lot of steps in the property may make it unsuitable for people with walking difficulties but Taxco itself is very hilly to walk anywhere.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gnomekeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We spent three nights in Agua Escondida. We arrived on the last day of Semana Sante and had a front row seat for the festivities. The hotel is located right on the Zolcolo by the Iglesia Santa Prezia. There are many restaurants, shops and sights within a short walking distance. The hotel staff was attentive, friendly and efficient and our room was lovely, with a nice view of the city. I saw the review that said the rooms were in need of updating, I disagree. They had character, and I would much prefer that to a spiffy room in a resort.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Connie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Taxco is hilly and you are always walking up or down. The Zocolo is a small flat area half way up the slope of the town on which the Cathedral sits. The Agua Escondida is on the Zocolo. It is the only hotel on the Zocolo. On entering the hotel you immediately walk up one flight to the lobby. The hotel is at that level and up another 3-5 levels from there, all reached by stairs, There are no elevators as the hotel steps up the hill. The rooms are suprisingly quiet for such a busy and noisy town. The rooms are simple and clean, they are not fancy. They are also not very large. We stayed for a total of 8 nights and throughly enjoyed our stay. The best way to get around is taxi or mini bus (combi) if you are not walking. The location is the best in town as most of the mini buses go past the Zocolo. We would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John-Architect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Located beside the Zocalo, the hotel rooftop bar offers exceptional views and opportunities for people watching. The hotel itself is beautiful, and a maze of joined buildings that makes it fun to explore. The staff are not particularly friendly and often inefficient. The rooms are very basic and in dire need of updating. The walls are vented so you are disturbed if someone is talking in the hallway.There is free parking around the corner of the hotel but the streets of Taxco are extremely narrow and steep so I recommend you avoid bringing a car if you can. The hotel restaurant is good but the service is very mediocre. Overall the location of the hotel is wonderful and the building is charming but the staff are merely adequate.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weerobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I booked directly through their web site avoiding other booking engines, hoping that it would minimize problems. I paid extra for a junior suite with a "panoramic view" of the city of Taxco.and upon check-in was told that no such suite was available. So I got to face the wall for the price of a panorama. And perhaps as a bonus for having overpaid, there was a large dead cockroach waiting for me in the bathroom. When I reported it, they matter-of-factly disposed of it. Didn't seem to bother them a bit. Finally, calling the hotel noisy is an understatement. At midnight, there is a window-rattling rock concert blaring right in front of the hotel on the square. Bring a Bose noise reduction headphones and an extra bottle of Tylenol. Better still, stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Abeona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taxco hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Montetaxco
Hotel Montetaxco
#2 of 24 in Taxco
527 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Los Arcos
Hotel Los Arcos
#1 of 24 in Taxco
440 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boutique Pueblo Lindo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mi Casita
Hotel Mi Casita
#4 of 24 in Taxco
165 reviews
0.9 mi away
De Cantera y Plata Hotel Boutique
0.1 mi away
Hotel Emilia
Hotel Emilia
#12 of 24 in Taxco
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Agua Escondida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Agua Escondida

Address: Plaza Borda 4 | Centro, Taxco 40200, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Taxco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Taxco
Price Range: $50 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Agua Escondida 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colonial - In downtown Taxco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Agua Escondida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agua Escondida Taxco
Agua Escondida Hotel Taxco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing