We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love it.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Los Arcos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Los Arcos
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Taxco
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
1 review
“Love it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2011

Stayed at Los Arcos for only one night, but that was more than enough time to fall in love with this beautiful hotel in the center of Taxco.
Wondeful view (even from my bathroom), and they even have special prices for pets.

If it is soft beds and a swimmingpool you want, this is not for you. Then again, you would not be in Taxco if this was the case :)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Conrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    127
    30
    11
    2
See reviews for
100
154
27
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2011

My colleague and I loved this experience. We enjoyed the collection of art and antiques collected by the current owner. Our bedding was very comfortable which we needed after our arduous day of buying. Mexican tiles graced the newly remodeled bathrooms. In the morning we were delighted to start our day with a cup of coffee and pastry served in the atruim. Rising from the atruim of the hotel was a full bloom, gorgeous, giant tree (not to be missed). The staff was helpful and friendly.
This 600 year old former monastary, turned charming hotel, is one of the beautiful jewels found in Taxco, Mexico.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blschulman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2011

I have been a client of this hotel for many years and can confidently say that this place is in a league of it's own. This is probably one of the oldest hotels in town with a history that can't be matched. It was built in 1572, two hundred years before the U.S. was a country, and was the childhood home of Juan Ruiz Alarcon the famous Taxco actor and writer. His family were among the first settlers arriving from Spain in 1535.

Bottom line is that I don't think a building could have more history. And it's owner has consequently bestowed it the care that it deserves. Every room has it's own quaint charm and each is different. All are furnished with colonial style furniture, and it is like a step back in time as soon as you cross the doors threshold. The walls are built like a fortress. Which is a real plus as it lends to the quiet tranquility of the hotel. It is the typical Spanish design where everything is centered around a courtyard. There is a beautiful Jacaranda tree which towers over the courtyard. If you are lucky to be there during its' spring or fall blooming you will witness a sky of purple flowers as well as a carpet of the beautiful flowers on the ground.
One of this hotels little known secrets is the terrace which has an unobstructed panoramic view of the mountains and Taxco's colonial architecture. You are so close to the Iglesia, Santa Prisca Hotel, that it seems that you could reach out and touch it. This is truly a sight that will stay with you for the rest of your life. There is even a room on the terrace level. It is all built from multi-colored stone and sits by itself like a tiny house on top of the terrace. If my memory serves me I think it is number 36 and is truly a special room.
I could go on and on about this hotel as I have stayed there many times over twenty years of visiting Taxco. I have stayed at other hotels but I can tell you that I regretted my choice as the Hotel Los Arcos is really superior to all the other Taxco offerings. The place is impeccably clean and the staff will go out of there way to make your stay a pleasure. The Los Arcos has excellent hot water. I know that sometimes that can be a problem at other places. The other thing is that you are centrally located and can walk to all the restaurants and silver markets. The Zocalo, town square is less than a minutes walk from the hotel. This hotel is not like going to a hotel, but rather it's like "coming home", it really feels that good!!!! Don't miss out on this jewel!

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank juanchipotles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2011

Recently our family went on vacation to Taxco. We planned to stay in Taxco 4 days, we ended up staying 10 days. Hotel Los Arcos is located in the centre of the historic Taxco. Our room was beautiful, large and very clean. The employees at the hotel were always nice and helpful, they assisted us with everything we needed. We particularly enjoyed talking to the hotel owner Citlal who was very hospitable and spoke english fluently and help us to plan day trips with our children.
Hotel Los Arcos has a beautiful court yard. My husband particularly enjoyed his cup of coffee and reading in the morning. Just across from the lobby is charming reading room which is tasttefully decorated with antiques.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danigreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuernavaca, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2011

Beautiful hotel with nice rooms in a typically Mexican environment. My kids loved going up and down the different areas. Geart "JACARANDA" trees and a magnificent view of Taxco. Just two blocks from Santa Prisrca Church and lots of good restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie_Lavesin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2011

Perfect location & very tasty. Glad to stay there :D

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aiTorism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2011

A very nice historic hotel that has been appropriately updated but still has that 1700s charm. The common areas are cozy and welcoming to the tourist when they arrive and during the stay. The staff is very willing to help with any need. The rooms are quiet and comfortable. A very good value for a very reasonable price!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ebentsmitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taxco hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Montetaxco
Hotel Montetaxco
#2 of 24 in Taxco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Agua Escondida
Hotel Agua Escondida
#6 of 24 in Taxco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mi Casita
Hotel Mi Casita
#5 of 24 in Taxco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Pueblo Lindo
0.9 mi away
De Cantera y Plata Hotel Boutique
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Taxco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Arcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Arcos

Property: Hotel Los Arcos
Address: Calle Juan Ruiz de Alarcon No. 4, Taxco 40200, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Taxco
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Taxco
#1 Family Hotel in Taxco
#2 Best Value Hotel in Taxco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Los Arcos 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Los Arcos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Arcos Taxco
Los Arcos Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing