We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and cozy”
Review of Hotel Los Arcos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Los Arcos
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Taxco
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice and cozy”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Planned stay was for 2 nights, ended up extending for 3, as tropical storm Manual/ Hurricane Ingrid hit the state of Guerrero for 3 days. We could not leave town as the roads were not passable, no problem with the hotel. Moreover, their CSRs did what they could (offering phone support, etc.), to assist us in making bookings for travel when the storm finally subsided. After the 3rd night we were able to reserve travel to leave town. Upon checkout, we were given a 50% discount for the extra night, which was greatly appreciated.
The hotel is centrally located to most all the silver merchants and various restaurants in Taxco. The lobby is charming, rustic and comfortable. There is a restaurant in the hotel adjacent to the atrium courtyard area. The rooms are accessed via stairs that outline the atrium. There is no elevator and I did not see or was offered baggage assistance. The rooms are good sized (for 2 people), bathroom is large with a shower for 2. The bed was comfortable and the big screen TV was adequate. There is no phone in the room. The walls are dense, we could not hear our neighbors (on either side), but could hear street and nightlife activities. This was a little strange because we were located as far as you could get from the front of the hotel, which is located on a very busy and tiny cobblestone street. Overall it’s a great hotel in a unique and special city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    133
    33
    11
    2
See reviews for
105
159
28
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California, USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2013

If you enjoy historical architecture (building origins are 1610), rooms tastefully designed, a convenient location and modern amenities like cable tv and consistent wifi, then Hotel Los Arcos is at the top of the list of Taxco hotels. After looking closely at two other hotels and initially staying at one, I only wished I had looked at Los Arcos sooner. The added value for a modest amount of more money was an obvious choice that truly improved my enjoyment of this beautiful town. In addition, Elsa at the front desk provided the type of warm hospitality and helpful insight that travelers appreciate and that made my stay truly memorable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E_Espinoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed here as a family of 5 traveling from Tzepotlan. Beautiful drive. Challenging to find but once here it is lovely...clean, simple decor with plenty of beautiful places to sit and read. A bit noisy but views of town and location is perfect. Courtyard, trees, terrace, plants...all relaxing and wonderful. Only unusual thing was we asked for either the Internet rate for two rooms or a discounted rate; they told us this was the last room with three beds available, yet the hotel is virtually empty! Nevertheless, the hotel is quite nice and we are very happy here.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for an inside room to avoid some of the street noise (especially the fire works :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jck67_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I have been staying here for over 12 years and it has gotten better as the years go by. Everyone is so friendly and helpful. Having a restaurant inside is a big plus. It is wonderful. The hotel is very close to center of town. I feel very safe when staying here. The owner is a very special lady and a hard worker to make sure you have a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Sure this hotel is really a charming place. With a lot a vegetation in the courtyard, trees, cactus, flowers. Don't miss to climb to the last stage, it have a really good view on Taxco and many flowers trees. The Zocalo is at 5 minutes walk, where the major part of life is and where all the shuttles you will need are. It's really easy to find a taxi on the road in front of the hotel. The bus station are close too (but to far to join with luggages), it cost us 20 pesos with our luggages to join this hotel. The sector is secure in the evening even at night I think.

The service we had was ordinary. The welcome wasn't really warmful like the others places in Mexico. They never ask us if we need any help, include for call a taxi for our leaving. And the breackfast was sadly not include.

Some part of the room need to be improved. Mainly the bathroom. We had taken our shower with a little rain. Warm water come really late. It does not have climatisation in the room but a fan. It was hot temperature since our stay and we need to sleep with the fan running all the night.

All the others things was well. The room was clean and we had a peacefull stay. This is surely one of the best place to visit Taxco, but I think than some improvements are needed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiniG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Spent Easter weekend in Taxco staying at Hotel Los Arcos. Great location to see Taxco and the Easter celebrations. Everyone very friendly, rooms very clean and nicely decorated. Good selection of food on the restaurant menu. We were leaving during the very busy Easter Day parade and the lady on reception was very helpful to ensure we had a taxi before the streets were closed to vehicles, most grateful. A lovey stay in a charming hotel, Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul2956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troncones, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The service was great. They really listened to us. The overall appearance in my opinion is five star. The decor in the sitting areas and restaurant is very pretty. The rooms are decorated nciely as well...and the beds were very comfortable. The bathrooms are not 'designer' but they are clean and pleasant. We checked out 5-6 other top rated places after our first night just to see if we weren't missing something and this is by far the best. Go to the rooftop and enjoy the fabulous views!!
Elsa and Adrianna were especially helpful. We'll be back!!

Room Tip: If you a light sleeper or go to bed early try to get a room further from the restaurant...and not on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debio445057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citlal, Director de Recepción at Hotel Los Arcos, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
thank you very much for your visit to our city and for choosing our hotel, we are glad you had wonderful experience here and from our terrace to admire the beauty of Taxco, we remain yours as ever to his substantial orders.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taxco hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Montetaxco
Hotel Montetaxco
#2 of 24 in Taxco
507 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mi Casita
Hotel Mi Casita
#5 of 24 in Taxco
159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Pueblo Lindo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Agua Escondida
Hotel Agua Escondida
#6 of 24 in Taxco
314 reviews
0.9 mi away
De Cantera y Plata Hotel Boutique
0.2 mi away
Santa Prisca
Santa Prisca
#7 of 24 in Taxco
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Arcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Arcos

Property: Hotel Los Arcos
Address: Calle Juan Ruiz de Alarcon No. 4, Taxco 40200, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Taxco
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Taxco
#1 Family Hotel in Taxco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Los Arcos 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Los Arcos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Arcos Taxco
Los Arcos Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing