We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Life Saver” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Gite del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Gite del Sol
San Cristobal de las Casas, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Life Saver”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Great location, easy to walk to everything. Accommodation is basic, but they provide all the essentials. Kitchen nice and clean, breakfast is GREAT! Awesome value.
We had a little trouble with our camera whilst we stayed and were unable to save our pictures to the USB stick we travel with, which we didn't find out until we left. Thankfully Denis managed to save our 300+ photos off the communal computer and get them to us! Such a champion and we will forever be grateful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank megarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    121
    43
    19
    19
See reviews for
24
177
34
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington State
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed here our first two nights in San Cristobal while we looked for a monthly rental. It was basic but very comfortable and good for the price. The location is fairly close to shopping and the Zocalo and the modestly priced breakfast (25pesos) was very good! It was also fairly quiet which is rare in Mexico budget places!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QuilterSheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

We just left this great little hotel after spending 5 nights in March 2013.

We stayed in the main area (highly recommended) in a double room ensuite. IT was an incredible value for 250 pesos a night for two people.

Facilities are very clean if basic. Hot water aplenty.
Staff are very friendly and helpful
Breakfast is great!
Neighborhood is quiet at night (for the most part)

Honestly, in our 2 month trip in Mexico we have yet to come across a value like this place. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Stay in the main section. A bit more expensive (50 pesos a night) but wi-fi is better, and you hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MicahJorrisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Concur with previous recent reviews- great location, great owner (Denis) and staff, and excellent value.

The rooms are basic but clean. Our bathroom was a compartment in the room itself (fine for us for two nights) but I noticed other rooms had separate adjacent private bathrooms.

We caught the end of a cold spell here in the hills, but were cosy under our blankets in our room.

Breakfast on the patio was a bonus for us as we didn't realise it was included. So to get a menu of great choices and very sweet service by local girls was a pleasant surprise.

An aside- we tried to do Sumidero Canyon independently on public transport en route from Tuxtla yesterday (fail!), San Juan Chamula independently this morning (semi-fail!), and advance booked 'Bamba' to take us to Palenque via the waterfalls tmrw (regret already!). We've now realised we should have booked all three locally via agencies here in San Cristobal: Sumidero is cheaper, door-to-door and you're guaranteed a boat for one(!), San Juan Chamula you will get background info on the tour (we learnt nothing by ourselves- really missed out), and the same transfer to Palenque via waterfalls is VERY much cheaper booked directly with a local agency (plus prefer for money to go locally than an international tourist outfit, sorry Bamba). You can still arrange all these things in advance via email so there's no uncertainty. If you're staying at Le Gite de Sol, Denis can put you in touch with local agencies in advance.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beck0york
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
79 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed here for a few nights in January. The owner, Denis is very friendly and helpful. We had a big, clean room with a comfortable bed. The shower was hot and the water actually stayed hot all the time. There was lots of choice for breakfast, which is included in the price. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SettledinSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Centrally located, clean with a bathroom with lots of hot water. Denis, the owner, is very helpful in setting up tours and bus tickets. The hotel serves a nice breakfast, and will share information of anywhere you want to go. It is a five minute walk to the central square and not far from the bus stop.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank rainbow16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

we stayed 4 nights in a room with private bathroom. The place was clean, well lit and ventilated. We hired tours to montebello lakes, palenque, yaxchilán and bonampak. all of them were good.
Breakfast was good, and even when our tours begun early in the morning, they gave us breakfast the night before. That is real kind.
location is also excellent, just one block from real de guadalupe strip.
I could not think of a better place to stay in San Cristobal.

Room Tip: try to get a room in the second location, just half block away. It's more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sru294074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.6 mi away
Ganesha Posada
Ganesha Posada
#16 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Posada Las Casas
Hotel Posada Las Casas
#59 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
#17 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Don Quijote
Hotel Don Quijote
#20 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Santa Lucia
Casa Santa Lucia
#3 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Na Bolom
Casa Na Bolom
#22 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Gite del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Gite del Sol

Property: Le Gite del Sol
Address: Calle Francisco i. Madero 82 | San Cristobal de Las Casas, San Cristobal de las Casas 29230, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Cristobal de las Casas
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Gite del Sol 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hi! We are a friendly young Canadian-Mexican couple owners of the hotel LE GITE DEL SOL located at only 5 minutes walking from downtown. Our hotel benefit of a reading place, roof-terrace with panoramic view of the city, clean and comfortable rooms with private bathroom. Some of our facilities include are: choice of complete delicious breakfast, free Internet and guest kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Le Gite del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Gite Del Sol San Cristobal De Las Casas, Mexico - Chiapas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing