We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place at a good location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Gite del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Gite del Sol
Tijuana, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place at a good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2011

I stayed here for 5 nights with my girlfriend, and had really nothing to complain about. We rented a room with a private bathroom which was excellent for us. You get breakfast every morning plus you can book tours with them (which they are really affordable), and also buy bus tickets from the major bus company. Overall it is a great place, reasonable prices, and the main staff speaks English, Spanish and french

Room Tip: Keep in mind that breakfast is served early
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    121
    43
    19
    19
See reviews for
24
177
34
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antigua, Guatemala
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

My boyfriend and I spent 3 nights at Le Gite del Sol. The owners were very welcoming, friendly and helpful... especially seeing as we arrived much later than we hoped and then didn't have any Mexican money for the room until the next day! The highlight of the place is breakfast which is definitely one of the better ones I've had included in room price and has 4 options to choose form a menu.

We stayed one night in an ensuite room in the main building which was nicely decorated and with a comfortable bed but the 'ensuite' was a plastic cubicle built into the room so not very private! The price difference between an ensuite and a double room with shared bathroom was considerable so we switched to a double room in the building over the road which was more sparsely furnished and a little louder due to the traffic but the shared bathroom was fine and we thought it much better value for money.

This place is budget and other than breakfast has very few frills but the owners are very friendly and helpful so as long as your not looking for luxury it's a great choice Oh and you have wifi in beth buildings.. a definite plus!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maddietaylor87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2011

I stayed at Le Gite del Sol for five nights in May of 2011. I had a private room that I reserved online. There are two sections to the hostel, the main one and one across the street. I was assigned to the one across the street-a private room with a private bathroom. The room was sufficiently clean during my stay, though the housekeeping only made the bed when she felt like it-perhaps once during my stay. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the owners in particular were nice. This is a hostel, so the room is spartan, but overall well-maintained. The room was also fresh and lacking odor, something that is good given lots of rooms smell musty in damp San Cristobal. There was some noise down below due to an arts and crafts program that started early, but nothing major. The included breakfast is what made this a great value, with eggs and toast and refillable coffee. Also, it was well-cooked, and was tastier than other breakfasts I had in restaurants My only complaint is that being there Sunday through Friday the wireless internet never did work. They said they were going to check on it, but didn't really seem to and they acknowledged they had problems with it before and nothing really changed. It's also a pretty long walk from the main plaza.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mexguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2011

Here is our summary:

It seems that most of the reviews here are positive, but I don't know why.
Read the full review and see all the photos on our site TheVacationAdvisors.

Although we enquired about another place called Posada Carmelita in San Cristóbal de las Casas before arriving, when we arrived at about 5AM with a night bus from Oaxaca, it somehow seemed like a good idea to check another place, Le Gite Del Sol, first. Perhaps it was that we weren't sure if our reservation was confirmed at Posada Carmelita or sleep deprivation or simply a lack of oxygen to our brains at the higher altitude -- whatever the reason was -- we walked to Le Gite Del Sol to see if they had availability first. After all, the summary about this accommodation in the 2011 Mexico Lonely Planet Travel Guide, didn't seem that.

When we arrived at the place, the friendly owner told us he had two rooms available, one with private bath and the other with shared bath, but both were currently occupied so he could not show us either one. The room with private bath was 320 pesos, 30 pesos cheaper than Posada Carmelita and it included breakfast whereas Posada Carmelita didn't. While we were deciding what to do at their breakfast "patio", we saw quite a few people coming and asking if they had rooms available, so in a moment of weakness and panic, we quickly reserved the room with private bath for 3 nights. Whether Le Gite Del Sol only actually had 2 rooms available is another story -- let's assume it was a true story and not a good sales tactic.

When we finally got our room at about noon, we were really disappointed. The tiny room was worn, the toilet would not flush, the hot water wasn't working and so on. Since we didn't want to waste the day looking for another place and because we already paid for the night, we decided to stay here only for that night. Needless to say, we wouldn't stay here again as there are far better places in town in the same price range. Luckily, we scoped out Posada Carmelita later that day and reserved a room for the rest of our stay in San Cristóbal de las Casas.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheVacationAdvisors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2011

San Cristobal de Las Casas is a great place to visit. If you go there, Le Gite del Sol is a perfect choice. The staff is very friendly and helpful, rooms and bathrooms are clean and for breakfast you can choose from a menu!
And the best is, you just pay little money for all that service! Go there and enjoy!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole_83V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2010

We stayed here on our 8 week honeymoon in mexico. we had to stay in cheap places so as we could afford to stay in luxury places elsewhere. This was one of the cheapest we stayed in and whilst a bit run down we had no problems with the place. Breakfast was included which is amazing for the price although it is only scrambled egg and toast.
Be sure to book in advance as we saw loads of people just turning up and getting turned away. The french guy who runs the place is very friendly and organsied a tour for us to the Sumero Canyon. I would recomend this.
Dont expect luxury at this place, its a bed and breakfast hostel but for the price its amazing!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marktaco1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2010

We stayed here for four nights, for the price of 4 pounds each a night. For that we got a decent, warm double room, quiet, and breakfast, and hot water, so excellent value. But the outstanding feature was the unbeatable service. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful, spoke English, French and Spanish perfectly. We ended up booking all our tours and onward travel through Mexico to Guatemala with them, for great rates and ease. Brilliant place, would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cannoncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.6 mi away
Ganesha Posada
Ganesha Posada
#16 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Posada Las Casas
Hotel Posada Las Casas
#59 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
#17 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Don Quijote
Hotel Don Quijote
#20 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Santa Lucia
Casa Santa Lucia
#3 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Na Bolom
Casa Na Bolom
#22 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Gite del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Gite del Sol

Property: Le Gite del Sol
Address: Calle Francisco i. Madero 82 | San Cristobal de Las Casas, San Cristobal de las Casas 29230, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Cristobal de las Casas
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Gite del Sol 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hi! We are a friendly young Canadian-Mexican couple owners of the hotel LE GITE DEL SOL located at only 5 minutes walking from downtown. Our hotel benefit of a reading place, roof-terrace with panoramic view of the city, clean and comfortable rooms with private bathroom. Some of our facilities include are: choice of complete delicious breakfast, free Internet and guest kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Le Gite del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Gite Del Sol San Cristobal De Las Casas, Mexico - Chiapas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing